Logo PTB

Physical Chemistry

Department 3.3

NewsNews

Hydrogen innovation laboratory

A research association made up of Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH), TU Braunschweig, TU Clausthal, Jade Hochschule Wilhelmshaven and PTB has been receiving support from the Federal State of Lower Saxony since July 2020 initially for 15 months to set up an innovation laboratory for hydrogen technology. After a conceptual phase, the most successful innovation laboratories will be selected for a three-year implementation phase.

 

Cluster of Excellence SE²A

The Cluster of Excellence SE²A is an interdisciplinary research center with the purpose of investigating technologies for a sustainable and eco-friendly air transport system. Scientists from aerospace, electrical, energy and chemical engineering are working on the reduction of emissions and noise, as well as recycling and life-cycle concepts for airframes and improvements in air traffic management. Technische Universität Braunschweig, the German Aerospace Center (DLR), Leibniz University Hannover (LUH), the Braunschweig University of Art (HBK) and the National Metrology Institute of Germany (PTB) have joined forces in this extraordinary scientific untertaking.

 

Alexander von Humboldt Postdoctoral Fellowship for Dr. Sumit Agarwal

Tasks

The central task of the department is the metrology-based realization (national standards, traceability to the SI units) of precision measurements for caloric quantities (heat capacity, heat of transition, reaction enthalpy), liquid properties (viscosity, density, surface tension), dynamic concentrations (atoms, molecules, radicals), reaction rates and pressure from 102 to 109 Pa.

The metrology-based research and services are aimed towards the determination of improved reference data for materials (e. g. density of water, properties of pure fluids) and applications for process optimization such as energy conversion (e. g. kinetic parameters of fluid energy carriers). Additionally, the tasks of the department are to develop new and improved standards (e. g. pressure), measurement techniques, calibration methods and materials.

Furthermore, the department provides competent services in precision measurements and conformity assessments for measuring instruments for calorific values, density and pressure according to the Measurements and Verification Act.

working groupsworking groups

Logo PTB

Physikalische Chemie

Fachbereich 3.3

AktuellesAktuelles

Innovationslabor Wasserstoff

Ein Forschungsverbund aus Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH), TU Braunschweig, TU Clausthal, Jade Hochschule Wilhelmshaven und PTB wird vom Land Niedersachsen seit Juli 2020 für zunächst fünfzehn Monate beim Aufbau eines Innovationslabors für Wasserstofftechnologie unterstützt. Damit sollen in enger Zusammenarbeit von Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Praxispartnern anwendungsnahe und umsetzbare Ideen für überzeugende Forschungs- und Transferkonzepte entwickelt werden. Nach der Konzeptionsphase werden die erfolgreichsten Innovationslabore für die dreijährige Umsetzungsphase ausgewählt.

 

Exzellenzcluster SE²A

Der Exzellenzcluster SE²A ist ein interdisziplinäres Forschungsvorhaben mit dem Ziel, Technologien für die nachhaltige und umweltverträgliche Entwicklung des Luftverkehrs zu erforschen. In dem Cluster arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Luftfahrt, Elektrotechnik, Energie, Chemie und Design an der Senkung von Emissionen, der Verringerung der Lärmbelastung, der Recyclingfähigkeit von Lufttransportsystemen sowie der Weiterentwicklung des Luftverkehrs-Managements. An SE²A sind neben der TU Braunschweig das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), die Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH), die Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig (HBK)  und die Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) auf der Grundlage von Kooperationsverträgen beteiligt.

Aufgaben

Zentrale Aufgabe des Fachbereichs ist die Realisierung der metrologischen Basis (nationale Normale, Rückführung auf das SI) für die Messung von kalorischen Größen (Wärmekapazität, Umwandlungswärme, Reaktionswärme), von Flüssigkeitseigenschaften (Viskosität, Dichte), reaktionskinetischen Größen fluider Energieträger und für die Messung von Drücken in einem Bereich von 102 bis 109 Pa.

Die metrologisch orientierte Forschung und Beratung ist zum einen auf die Bestimmung verbesserter Referenzwerte für metrologisch wichtige Stoffe (Dichte von Wasser, Brennwert reiner Gase) und zum anderen auf anwendungsorientierte Fragestellungen, wie z. B. die Bestimmung von physikalisch-chemischen Stoffeigenschaften regenerativer Energieträger, konzentriert. Weitere Aufgaben sind die Entwicklung neuer Drucknormale, die Entwicklung von Mess- und Kalibrierverfahren sowie die Entwicklung und Bereitstellung von Kalibriermaterialien.

Neben der Realisierung und Weitergabe der zugehörigen abgeleiteten SI-Einheiten werden Präzisionsmessungen als metrologische Dienstleistungen sowie Baumusterprüfungen (Messgeräte für Brennwert, Dichte, Druck) nach dem Mess- und Eichgesetz durchgeführt.

ArbeitsgruppenArbeitsgruppen