Logo PTB

Single-charge Circuits

Working Group 2.42

Single-photon detection and spectrometry using S-I-N-I-S electron trap

Recently our group demonstrated [1] that a structure similar to the hybrid S-I-N-I-S turnstile but with one terminal open and coupled capacitively to one or several single-electron electrometers (so-called, electron trap, see Figure1) can be implemented as a single-photon detector [2]. The advantage of the trapping device is its extremely high sensitivity down to rare single photons propagating either along the leads or in the space around the detector sample. Due to a simple tunability of the Coulomb blockade threshold in the S-I-N-I-S double junction, the energy discrimination threshold can be adjusted making possible spectral analysis of the incoming photons. The detector can find its application for characterizing the residual radiation spectrum inside mK-environments for metrology and quantum information processing.

 

 

Figure 1:
SEM Image of a S-I-N-I-S trap with two coupled electrometers. In the presented experiment [2], the electrometer SET B played the role of a photon emitting device and the electrometer SET A registered the photon-induced charge state switching of the trap.

 

Figure 2:
Simultaneous signals from two electrometers SET A and SET B shown in Fig.1. A jump between the bottom and the top signal levels within the red curve corresponds to retrapping of exactly one electron. This recharging is induced through absorption of single photons emitted by SET B.

 

 

[1] S. V. Lotkhov, O.-P-Saira, J. P. Pekola, and A. B. Zorin, Single-charge escape processes through a hybrid turnstile in a dissipative environment, New J. Phys. 13, 013040 (2011).

 

[2] S. V. Lotkhov and A. B. Zorin, A hybrid superconductor-normal metal electron trap as a photon detector, Appl. Phys. Lett. 100, 242601 (2012).

Logo PTB

Einzelladungs-Schaltungen

Arbeitsgruppe 2.42

Einzelphotonen-Detektion und Spektrometrie mit S-I-N-I-S Elektronenfalle

Vor kurzem haben wir demonstriert [1], dass eine ähnliche Schaltung wie ein hybrides S-I-N-I-S Turnstile auch als Einzelphotonen-Detektor und -Spektrometer eingesetzt werden kann, sollte nur ein Endterminal galvanisch offen bleiben und an ein oder gleich an mehrere Einzelelektronenelektrometer angekoppelt sein (sogenannte Einzelelektronenfalle, s. Abbildung 1). Der wesentliche Vorteil solch einer Detektor-Schaltung besteht in einer extrem hohen Empfindlichkeit bis zum Auflösen von einzelnen Photonen, die den Detektor entweder über die Signalleitung oder aus der Umgebung des Probenraumes erreichen können. Aufgrund einer unkomplizierten Anpassungsmöglichkeit für die Höhe der Coulomb-Barriere im S-I-N-I-S Doppelkontakt und damit auch des Energie-Schwellenwertes von absorbierten Photonen ist diese Schaltungsart auch für eine spektrometrische Analyse geeignet. Als Anwendungsgebiet wäre die Feincharakterisierung des Hintergrund-Mikrowellenspektrums in mK-Messumgebungen für Metrologie und Quanten-Informationsverarbeitung denkbar.

 

 

Abbildung 1:
Elektronmikroskopisches Bild einer S-I-N-I-S Elektronenfalle (R-SINIS-trap), gekoppelt an zwei S-I-N-I-S Elektrometer (SET A und SET B). Im dargestellten Experiment [2] spielt Elektrometer SET B die Rolle der Photonenquelle und Elektrometer SET A registriert die von diesen Photonen induzierten Übergänge zwischen benachbarten Ladungszuständen der Elektronenfalle.

 

Abbildung 2:
Gleichzeitiges Aufnehmen zweier Signale, jeweils von Elektrometer SET A und SET B. Ein Wechsel zwischen unteren und oberen Signalpegel in der roten Kurve entspricht einer Ein-Elektronen-Inkrementierung der eingespeicherten Ladung in der Falle. Die Umladung erfolgt unter Beeinflussung durch von SET B ausgelösten Einzelphotonen.

 

 

[1] S. V. Lotkhov, O.-P-Saira, J. P. Pekola und A. B. Zorin, Single-charge escape processes through a hybrid turnstile in a dissipative environment, New J. Phys. 13, 013040 (2011).

 

[2] S. V. Lotkhov und A. B. Zorin, A hybrid superconductor-normal metal electron trap as a photon detector, Appl. Phys. Lett. 100, 242601 (2012).