Logo PTB

Accessibility Statement

Preamble

The Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) would like to give everyone the chance to inform themselves about PTB in general and about PTB’s research and service tasks in particular. This is why PTB has made its website largely accessible as far as possible and why it is making the most of all the possibilities offered by the editing program it uses (TYPO3).

The tasks given to PTB – as a National Metrology Institute, as a service provider for German industry and as a research institute that is interlinked worldwide – are highly scientific and technical. The language of PTB is therefore the language of science. PTB’s customers and partners come from those fields of science, high tech and industry. Correspondingly, the contents of PTB’s website are mostly aimed at a highly specialized audience. These contents (scientific texts and diagrams, evaluations of experiments shown as tables, etc.) cannot generally meet the requirements of accessibility in full. PTB therefore asks everyone who comes up against such barriers for their understanding.

Features of PTB’s website in view of accessibility

PTB’s website has the following "accessible features":

  • The pages on our website have been programmed so that the writing can be changed and spoken aloud using the software tools (screen readers) needed for this. In other words, our website is machine-readable.
  • The contrast view can be used to make it easier to read our website; click on the contrast button which can be found in the header of each page to select the "high-contrast view".
  • Very basic information about PTB as an institution and about PTB’s legal mission is available in "Opens internal link in current windowLeichte Sprache" (Easy Read), in German only.
  • Some videos that are about PTB in general are also available in Opens internal link in current windowGerman Sign Language.
  • All of the editors who add content to PTB’s websites are required to implement the special rules on accessibility as far as they can.

    Accessibility Statement

    PTB’s website is fundamentally accessible. PTB is therefore completely in line with the national legal regulations on the implementation of Directive (EU) 2016/2102 of the European Parliament and of the Council on enabling the accessibility of websites. This Accessibility Statement (as of: June 2020) applies to the version of PTB’s website that is currently available (Opens internal link in current windowwww.ptb.de).

    This Accessibility Statement is based on a self-assessment carried out by PTB on whether its website is compatible with the requirements of the Ger­man Act on Equal Op­por­tu­ni­ties for Per­sons with Dis­abil­i­ties ("Behindertengleichstellungsgesetzes – BGG") in conjunction with the German Ordinance on Accessible Information Technology ("Barrierefreie-Informationstechnik-Verordnung – BITV 2.0").

    PTB’s website however also has elements which are not accessible or which are only partly accessible. We are improving this – or are planning to improve this – in all places where it is technically possible and where the contents allow it. For example, the following features on our website are not – or are not yet – accessible:

    • PTB’s website quotes many original scientific papers and PTB makes them available to the public as pdf documents in the so-called Opens external link in new windowOpen Access Repository (OAR) of PTB’s library. These documents do not as a rule meet the accessibility requirements, and for technical reasons, it will not be possible to make them accessible.
    • Not all of the visual elements we use have alternative texts explaining what they show. We are continually working on editorial improvements and adjustments of these elements.
    • Not all of our videos have subtitles yet and not all of them have been translated into German Sign Language. We are continually working on adding subtitles to our videos.
    • Publications of the Press and Information Office (e.g. press releases or the "PTB-News", our newsletter) are often available on PTB’s website in two formats: in html and also as pdf documents. While the html pages should largely be accessible, this does not yet apply to the pdf documents.
    • The autocomplete attribute is missing in some of the input fields of our forms.
    • Some foreign language texts have not been defined with a language attribute.
    • The hierarchy of the headings is not kept to in some places.
    • Some of the links might be hard to understand.

    The reasons for this

    • A large number of the pdf documents on our website were created before 23 September 2018. It has not yet been possible for us to convert them into a format that is accessible. These pdf documents will be adapted gradually.
    • We have not yet been able to give our videos an audio description. This is also being planned at the moment.
    • Certain documents from office-based applications which were created before 23 September 2018 have not yet been made accessible.
    • Documents from third parties (e.g. other organizations, ministries) are not accessible.

    Let us know if you are having problems accessing our website!

    If you have any problems while you are accessing our website, and this means that you cannot access important data, then you can let us know. Please click on this link to contact us: Opens internal link in current windowFeedback form.

    You can also contact us by post, or you can phone us:
    Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB)
    Press and Information Office
    Bundesallee 100
    38116 Braunschweig
    Phone: +49 (0)531 592-3006
    Email:
    Opens window for sending emailbarrierefreiheit(at)ptb.de

    Arbitration procedure

    The Federal Government Commissioner for Matters Relating to Disabled Persons has an Arbitration Service in accordance with Section 16 of the Ger­man Act on Equal Op­por­tu­ni­ties for Per­sons with Dis­abil­i­ties ("Behindertengleichstellungsgesetz – BGG"). The Arbitration Service is tasked with settling conflicts between persons with disabilities and public authorities of the federal administration. You can ask the Arbitration Service to intervene if you are not satisfied with the answers you have received from the contacts given above. There are no winners or losers in this process; rather those involved try to resolve their conflict together out of court with the aid of the Arbitration Service.

    The arbitration procedure is free of charge, and there is no need to call upon legal counsel. You can find all the information about such arbitration procedures on the Opens external link in new windowwebsite of the Arbitration Service. This website will also give you information about how an arbitration procedure works and how you apply for an arbitration procedure. You can also apply for an arbitration procedure in Opens external link in new window"Leichte Sprache" (Easy Read), in German only or in Opens external link in new window"Deutsche Gebärdensprache" (German Sign Language). You can reach the Arbitration Service at the following address:  

    Arbitration Service according to the German Act on Equal Opportunities for Persons with Disabilities
    Within the Office of the Federal Government Commissioner for Matters Relating to Disabled Persons
    Mauerstraße 53
    10117 Berlin
    Germany
    Phone: +49 (0)30 18 527-2805
    Fax: +49 (0)30 18 527-2901
    Email: Opens window for sending emailinfo(at)schlichtungsstelle-bgg.de
    Internet: Opens external link in new windowwww.schlichtungsstelle-bgg.de

Logo PTB

Erklärung zur Barrierefreiheit

Präambel

Die Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) möchte allen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern die Möglichkeit geben, sich über die PTB im Allgemeinen und über ihre Forschungs- und Dienstleistungsaufgaben im Besonderen zu informieren. Daher gestaltet die PTB ihren Webauftritt unter den gegebenen Randbedingungen weitgehend barrierefrei und nutzt alle Möglichkeiten dazu aus, die das verwendete Redaktionsprogramm (hier: TYPO3) bietet.

Die Aufgaben der PTB als Nationales Metrologieinstitut, als Dienstleister für die deutsche Wirtschaft und als international vernetzte Forschungsinstitution sind hochgradig wissenschaftlich und technisch. Die Sprache der PTB ist entsprechend eine Wissenschaftssprache. Die Kunden und Partner der PTB stammen aus eben diesen Umfeldern der Wissenschaft, der Hochtechnologie und der Wirtschaft. Die Inhalte des Webauftritts der PTB richten sich dementsprechend hauptsächlich an ein sehr spezielles Fachpublikum. Diese Inhalte (wissenschaftliche Texte und Grafiken, tabellarisch dargestellte Experimentauswertungen, etc.) können prinzipiell die Anforderungen einer Barrierefreiheit nicht vollständig erfüllen. Daher bittet die PTB alle, die auf solche Barrieren stoßen, um Verständnis.

Eigenschaften des Webauftritts im Hinblick auf Barrierefreiheit

Der PTB-Webauftritt weist beispielsweise folgende "barrierefreie Eigenschaften" auf:

  • Die Webseiten sind so programmiert, dass entsprechende Softwaretools (Screen-Reader) die schriftlichen Inhalte in gesprochene Sprache übersetzen können, d. h. die Webseiten sind maschinenlesbar.
  • Zur besseren Lesbarkeit kann eine "Kontrastansicht" eingestellt werden; dies ist über einen Klick auf den Kontrast-Button in den Kopfzeilen von jeder Webseite aus möglich.
  • Sehr grundsätzliche Informationen zur PTB als Institution und zu ihrem gesetzlichen Auftrag werden in Opens internal link in current windowLeichter Sprache angeboten.
  • Einige Videos, die allgemein etwas über die PTB erzählen, sind auch in Opens internal link in current windowGebärdensprache übersetzt.
  • Alle Redakteure, die Inhalte auf den PTB-Webseiten einstellen, sind angehalten, die speziellen Regelungen zur Barrierefreiheit, soweit es geht, umzusetzen.

Erklärung zur Barrierefreiheit

Der Webauftritt der PTB ist im Wesentlichen barrierefrei. Grundsätzlich befindet sich die PTB damit im Einklang mit den nationalen Rechtsvorschriften zur Umsetzung der Richtlinie (EU) 2016/2102 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates, einen barrierefreien Webzugang zu ermöglichen. Diese Erklärung zur Barrierefreiheit (Stand: Juni 2020) gilt für die aktuell erreichbare Version der PTB-Webseite (Opens internal link in current windowwww.ptb.de).

Grundlage für diese Erklärung zur Barrierefreiheit ist eine von der PTB durchgeführte Selbstbewertung der Vereinbarkeit der Website mit den Anforderungen des "Behindertengleichstellungsgesetzes (BGG)" in Verbindung mit der "Barrierefreie-Informationstechnik-Verordnung (BITV 2.0)".

Die PTB-Webseiten beinhalten jedoch auch Elemente, die nicht bzw. nur teilweise barrierefrei zugänglich sind. Eine Verbesserung ist an allen Stellen geplant bzw. in Arbeit, wo dies inhaltlich und technisch möglich ist. Beispielsweise sind folgende Eigenschaften im PTB-Webauftritt nicht bzw. noch nicht barrierefrei:

  • Im PTB-Web werden vielfach wissenschaftliche Originalarbeiten zitiert und im sogenannten Opens external link in new windowOpen Access Repository (OAR) der PTB-Bibliothek als pdf-Dokumente öffentlich zugänglich gemacht. Diese Dokumente erfüllen in der Regel nicht die Anforderungen an eine Barrierefreiheit und werden diese auch grundsätzlich nicht erfüllen können.
  • Nicht alle verwendeten Bildelemente sind mit Alternativtexten hinterlegt. An einer redaktionellen Verbesserung/Bereinigung wird fortlaufend gearbeitet.
  • Nicht alle Video-Inhalte sind untertitelt und zusätzlich in Gebärdensprache übersetzt. An einer Untertitelung wird fortlaufend gearbeitet.
  • Publikationen speziell der Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit (z. B. Presseinformationen oder das Nachrichtenblatt PTB-News) werden oft auf zweifache Weise im PTB-Web angeboten: im html-Format und zusätzlich als pdf-Dokument. Während die html-Seiten weitgehend barrierefrei sein sollten, gilt dies noch nicht für die pdf-Dokumente.
  • In Formularen fehlt an einigen Eingabefeldern das autocomplete-Attribut.
  • An einigen fremdsprachigen Textstellen fehlt die Auszeichnung mit dem lang-Attribut.
  • Die Hierarchie der Überschriften wird teilweise nicht eingehalten.
  • Links können unverständlich sein.

Begründung

  • Aufgrund der großen Anzahl bereitgestellter PDF-Dokumente, die vor dem 23.09.2018 erstellt wurden, konnten diese bislang nicht in ein barrierefreies Format überführt werden. Sie werden sukzessive angepasst.
  • Die Bereitstellung der Videos mit einer Audiodeskription konnte bislang nicht realisiert werden. Auch hier ist eine Anpassung in Planung.
  • Verschiedene Dokumente aus Büroanwendungen, die vor dem 23.09.2018 erstellt wurden, konnten noch nicht auf ein barrierefreies Format umgestellt werden.
  • Dokumente, die von Dritten (z. B. andere Organisationen, Ministerien u. a.) bereitgestellt werden, liegen nicht barrierefrei vor.

Barrieren melden! Feedback zur Barrierefreiheit

Wenn Sie auf Barrieren in unserem Webaufritt stoßen und Ihnen dadurch wichtige Inhalte nicht zugänglich sind, dann können Sie uns dies melden. Bitte benutzen Sie dafür das vorgesehene Opens internal link in current windowFeedback-Formular.

Sie können uns auch per Post oder telefonisch kontaktieren:
Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB)
Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Bundesallee 100
38116 Braunschweig
Telefon: 0531 592-3006
E-Mail: Opens window for sending emailbarrierefreiheit(at)ptb.de

Schlichtungsverfahren

Beim Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für die Belange von Menschen mit Behinderungen gibt es eine Schlichtungsstelle gemäß § 16 BGG (Behindertengleichstellungsgesetz). Die Schlichtungsstelle hat die Aufgabe, Konflikte zwischen Menschen mit Behinderungen und öffentlichen Stellen des Bundes zu lösen.

Sie können die Schlichtungsstelle einschalten, wenn Sie mit den Antworten aus der oben genannten Kontaktmöglichkeit nicht zufrieden sind. Dabei geht es nicht darum, Gewinner oder Verlierer zu finden. Vielmehr ist es das Ziel, mit Hilfe der Schlichtungsstelle gemeinsam und außergerichtlich eine Lösung für ein Problem zu finden.

Das Schlichtungsverfahren ist kostenlos. Sie brauchen auch keinen Rechtsbeistand.

Auf der Opens external link in new windowInternetseite der Schlichtungsstelle finden Sie alle Informationen zum Schlichtungsverfahren. Dort können Sie nachlesen, wie ein Schlichtungsverfahren abläuft und wie Sie den Antrag auf Schlichtung stellen. Sie können den Antrag auch in Opens external link in new windowLeichter Sprache oder in Opens external link in new windowDeutscher Gebärdensprache stellen.

Sie erreichen die Schlichtungsstelle unter folgender Adresse:

Schlichtungsstelle nach dem Behindertengleichstellungsgesetz
bei dem Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für die Belange von Menschen mit Behinderungen
Mauerstraße 53
10117 Berlin

Telefon: 030 18 527-2805
Fax: 030 18 527-2901
E-Mail: Opens window for sending emailinfo(at)schlichtungsstelle-bgg.de
Internet: Opens external link in new windowwww.schlichtungsstelle-bgg.de