Logo of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt

Biomedical Optics

Department 8.3

Tasks

We develop and investigate optically supported quantitative measurement and imaging methods for medical diagnostics and therapy control, mostly in collaboration with clinical partners. The focus of activities of the working group 8.31 is on optical spectroscopy and imaging for non-invasive quantitative determination of important biomarkers (e.g. hemoglobin concentration, oxygen saturation) in tissue in vivo as well as for the visualization of disease-related molecular changes by means of fluorescence-labeled probes. In addition, microscopic imaging techniques are developed and studied for the characterization and differentiation of single biological cells in flow. In working group 8.32, flow cytometric and microscopic measurement methods for cells as well as molecular biological measurement methods for the detection and quantification of pathogens (e.g. viruses such as HIV and SARS-CoV2, or bacteria) are investigated for metrology in laboratory diagnostics. The aim is, among other things, the development of reference measurement methods as well as the determination of reference measurement values for external quality assurance schemes which are legally required for medical laboratories.

News

Standardized technical validation of biophotonic devices is indispensable for the reliability and reproducibility of measurement results in their medical use. This requires suitable standardized phantoms, i.e., tissue-like test specimens, and recognized standards for evaluating the performance of these devices. Both prerequisites are not sufficiently met in the field of medical optical imaging. A...

[ more ]

Accurate measurement of the concentration of cells in blood is important for diagnosis or therapy monitoring of many diseases. The comparability of the measurement results within a laboratory and between different laboratories is critical for patient safety. To assure comparability of the measurement methods, so-called reference measurement procedures for the determination of cell concentrations...

[ more ]

Xenon noble gas atoms can form transient complexes with host molecules in solution. The resulting host-guest systems are held together by non-covalent bonds. They are an example of supramolecular systems. They may thus serve for the analysis of similar chemical or pharmaceutical carrier and delivery systems. Xenon complexation is currently also explored as potential contrast agent in magnetic...

[ more ]
More news

Working groupsWorking groups

Logo der Physikalisch-Technischen Bundesanstalt

Biomedizinische Optik

Fachbereich 8.3

Aufgaben

 

Im Fachbereich „Biomedizinische Optik“ der PTB werden optisch gestützte quantitative Mess- und Bildgebungsverfahren für die medizinische Diagnostik und Therapiekontrolle entwickelt, untersucht und zusammen mit klinischen Partnern erprobt. In der Arbeitsgruppe 8.31  liegt der Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten dabei auf optisch-spektroskopischen Mess- und Bildgebungsverfahren für die nichtinvasive quantitative Bestimmung wichtiger Biomarker (z.B. Hämoglobinkonzentration, Sauerstoffsättigung) im Gewebe in vivo sowie zur Darstellung krankheitsbedingter molekularer Veränderungen mit Hilfe fluoreszenzmarkierter Sonden. Darüber hinaus werden mikroskopische Bildgebungsverfahren zur Charakterisierung und Differenzierung einzelner biologischer Zellen im Durchfluss entwickelt und untersucht. In der Arbeitsgruppe 8.32  werden durchflusszytometrische und mikroskopische Messverfahren für Zellen sowie molekularbiologische Messverfahren zum Nachweis und zur Quantifizierung von Krankheitserregern (z.B. Viren wie HIV und SARS-CoV2, Bakterien) für die Metrologie in der Labordiagnostik untersucht. Ziel ist u.a. die Entwicklung von Referenzmessverfahren sowie die Bestimmung von Referenzmesswerten für die gesetzlich vorgeschriebene Qualitätssicherung laboratoriumsmedizinischer Untersuchungen.

Nachrichten

Die standardisierte technische Validierung von biophotonischen Geräten ist unverzichtbar für die Zuverlässigkeit und Reproduzierbarkeit der Messergebnisse bei ihrem medizinischen Einsatz. Dazu werden geeignete standardisierte Phantome, d.h. gewebeähnliche Prüfkörper, und anerkannte Normen für die Bewertung der Leistungsfähigkeit dieser Geräte benötigt. Beide Voraussetzungen sind auf dem Gebiet...

[ mehr ]

Die genaue Messung der Konzentration von Zellen im Blut ist wichtig zur Diagnose oder Kontrolle einer Therapie bei vielen Krankheiten. Die Vergleichbarkeit der Messergebnisse innerhalb eines Labors und zwischen verschiedenen Laboratorien ist dabei unverzichtbar für die Patientensicherheit. Zur Sicherstellung der Vergleichbarkeit der Messmethoden, werden in der PTB seit vielen Jahren sogenannte...

[ mehr ]

Xenon-Edelgasatome können in Lösungen vorübergehend Komplexe mit Wirtsmolekülen bilden. Die so entstehenden Wirt-Gast-Systeme werden durch nicht-kovalente Bindungen zusammengehalten. Sie sind ein Beispiel für supramolekulare Systeme. Sie bieten sich daher zur Analyse ähnlicher chemischer oder pharmazeutischer Träger- und Abgabesysteme an. Die Komplexe werden zudem als potenzielle Kontrastmittel...

[ mehr ]
Weitere Nachrichten

ArbeitsgruppenArbeitsgruppen