Logo PTB

Non-Linear High-Frequency Metrology for Digitalization

Working Group 2.24

Profile

The digitalization of economy and society is one of the current challenges in high-frequency (HF) metrology. The introduction of the new 5G mobile radio standard and millimeter-wave communication require the development of classical RF measured variables and the processing of a new range of tasks.

Better utilization of the frequency spectrum in the new 5G mobile radio standard with narrow channel spacing requires precise characterization of all parts of the signal transmission system. This includes transmitter and receiver electronics, antennas, amplifiers and cable connections. Mixed products resulting from a lack of suppression of harmonic signals or from non-linearities at connectors fold into the baseband and lead to faulty transmission of signals, signal interference or even to transmission failure.

Due to the spectral efficiency (channel use), the energy efficiency (transmitted bandwidth per power), the required low latency times, the planned high user density, the transmission channels with highly variable attenuation (e.g. autonomous driving in the city), the channel bundling as well as antennas with alignable diagrams (beamforming), the new mobile radio standard raises many new metrological questions.

To top

Research/Development

This includes spectrum analysis, especially for pulsed and modulated signals with a high crest factor, frequency-converting measurements, characterization of the phase noise of oscillators as well as passive intermodulation (PIM, non-linear effect on components at high power in mobile radio base stations as well as assemblies in satellites).

To top

Services

The aim of the working group is to establish traceability for non-linear RF measurement technology and to support the accreditation of the DAkkS for derived RF measurement quantities in the form of calibrations and assessments.

To top

Logo PTB

Nichtlineare Hochfrequenzmesstechnik für die Digitalisierung

Arbeitsgruppe 2.24

Profil

Die Digitalisierung von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft ist eine der aktuellen Herausforderungen in der Hochfrequenz-(HF)-Metrologie. Die Einführung des neuen Mobilfunkstandards 5G sowie der Millimeterwellen-Kommunikation erfordern im Fachbereich neben dem Ausbau der klassischen HF-Messgrößen die Bearbeitung eines neuen Aufgabenspektrums.

Die bessere Ausnutzung des Frequenzspektrums im neuen Mobilfunkstandard 5G mit einer engen Kanalrasterung erfordert eine genaue Charakterisierung aller Teile des Systems Signalübertragung. Dazu gehören Sender- und Empfängerelektronik, Antennen, Verstärker und Kabelverbindungen. Durch mangelnde Unterdrückung harmonischer Signale oder durch Nichtlinearitäten an Steckverbindern entstehende Mischprodukte falten sich in das Basisband und führen zu fehlerhaften Übertragungen von Signalen, Signalstörungen oder auch zum Ausfall der Übertragung.

Wegen der spektralen Effizienz (Kanalnutzung), der Energieeffizienz (übertragene Bandbreite pro Leistung), der geforderten geringen Latenzzeiten, der geplanten hohen Nutzerdichte, der Übertragungskanäle mit hochvariabler Dämpfung (z.B. autonomes Fahren in der City), der Kanalbündelung sowie Antennen mit ausrichtbarem Diagramm (beamforming) bedingt der neue Mobilfunkstandard viele neue metrologische Fragestellungen.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Dazu gehören die Spektrumanalyse, insbesondere bei gepulsten und modulierten Signalen mit hohem Crestfaktor, frequenzumsetzende Messungen, die Charakterisierung des Phasenrauschens von Oszillatoren sowie die passive Intermodulation (PIM, nichtlinearer Effekt an Bauelementen bei hohen Leistungen in Mobilfunkbasisstationen sowie von Baugruppen in Satelliten).

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Ziel der AG ist es, Rückführung für die nichtlineare HF-Messtechnik aufzubauen und Unterstützung der Akkreditierung der DAkkS für abgeleitete HF-Messgrößen in Form von Kalibrierungen und Begutachtungen zu leisten.

Nach oben