Logo PTB

Avogadro Constant

Working Group 1.83

Profile

Working Group 1.83 “Avogadro Constant” coordinates the research at PTB and the collaboration with institutes worldwide for a more accurate determination of the Avogadro constant, in order to lay the foundations for a redefinition of the mass unit kilogram on the basis of a natural constant.

To top

Research/Development

The Avogadro constant is the number of atoms or molecules in one mole of a substance. Since the mole is defined as the number of entities (atoms) in 12 g of the isotope 12C, the kilogram can be defined by a specified number of atoms, e.g., the mass m(12C) of a 12C atom or of the atomic mass unit  1 u = m(12C)/12. This is managed by “counting” the atoms in 1 kg spheres of silicon by exploiting the periodicity and perfection of the silicon single crystal. The Avogadro constant is calculated using the formula

            NA = 8 M V / (m a3) .

Here, 8V/a3 is the number of atoms in a sphere of volume V, since a3 is the volume of the unit cell of the crystal, which includes 8 atoms. For the calculation of the Avogadro constant, the number of atoms in the sphere has to be divided by the amount of substance, i.e. the number of moles n = m/M , where m denotes the mass of the sphere and M the molar mass of the silicon.

For purchasing the isotopically enriched silicon (28Si), which is necessary for the accurate determination of the molar mass, seven metrological institutes founded the International Avogadro Coordination (IAC) in 2004. Today, the IAC consists of the International Bureau of Weights and Measures (Bureau International des Poids et Mesures, BIPM), the Istituto Nazionale di Ricerca Metrologica (INRIM, Italy), the National Measurement Institute of Australia (NMIA), the National Metrology Institute of Japan (NMIJ) and PTB. In 2015, the IAC published in the journal Metrologia its best result so far for the Avogadro constant:

            NA = 6.022 140 76 ∙ 1023 mol-1

with a relative standard uncertainty of only 2 ∙ 10-8 (cf. Fig. 1). A short uncertainty budget is shown in Table 1.

Fig. 1. The most accurate Avogadro constant determinations available at present of the international Avogadro project (IAC 2010 and IAC 2014) and of the watt balances of NIST (NIST-3) and of the Canadian metrology institute NRC (NRC 2014). In addition the new adjusted CODATA value is presented.

Table 1. Uncertainty budget of the Avogadro constant determination using isotopically enriched silicon.
Quantity Relative uncertainty/10-9 Contribution/%
Total 20 100
Molar mass 5 6
Lattice parameter 5 6
Surface 10 23
Sphere volume 15 59
Sphere mass 4 4
Point defects 3 2

The isotope enrichment was carried out by the Central Design Bureau of Machine Building in St. Petersburg by centrifugation of the silicontetrafluoride (SiF4) gas. Then the SiF4 gas was converted into silane (SiH4), purified and the silicon was deposited as a polycrystal by the Institute of Chemistry of High-Purity Substances of the Russian Academy of Sciences in Nizhny Novgorod. At the Leibniz-Institut für Kristallzüchtung (IKZ, Leibniz Institute for Crystal Growth) in Berlin, the dislocation-free single crystal was grown (Fig. 2), the necessary samples of which – in particular two 1 kg spheres – were manufactured. First, the Australian Centre for Precision Optics polished the spheres to an unroundness below 0.1 µm. Before the new measurements the spheres were etched and re-polished at PTB.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fig. 2. The single crystal grown from isotopically enriched silicon (photo: IKZ).

With the exception of the lattice parameter a, all quantities necessary for the determination of NA are (also) determined at PTB:

The isotopic composition and the molar mass are measured in Working Group (WG) 3.11 “Inorganic Analysis” using isotope-dilution mass spectrometry (IDMS) (the relative atomic masses of the naturally existing silicon isotopes 28Si, 29Si and 30Si are known accurately enough from different measurements).

The volume of the silicon spheres is determined at 20 °C and in vacuum in WG 5.41 “Interferometry on Spheres” using a spherical Fizeau interferometer. This WG also performs – in collaboration with WG 4.33 “X-ray Optics” – simulation calculations for the interferometer. The temperature measurements of the volume and lattice parameter determinations are compared with each other and with the temperature realisation of WG 7.42 “Applied Thermometry” using an electronic 20 °C temperature reference point that was developed in WG 1.82 “Solid State Density”.

The mass of the spheres in air and in vacuum is determined in WG 1.81 “Realization of Mass”.

The necessary knowledge about thickness and structure of the surface layers on the spheres is investigated in the following WGs using the noted methods:

  •  WG 4.33 “X-ray Optics” using X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy (XRF),
  •  WG 5.13 “Layer Thickness and Crystalline Standards” using spectral ellipsometry (SE),
  •  WG 5.14 “3D RoughnessMetrology” using interference microscopy,
  •  WG 7.11 “X-ray Radiometry” using X-ray reflectometry (XRR) and X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy (XRF) at BESSY II.

WG 1.82 “Solid State Density” performs density comparisons of the spheres and of other samples. Additionally, the density of the thermal oxide on silicon spheres was determined by density comparison measurements.

WG 4.33 “X-ray Optics” sets up X-ray interferometers for relative and absolute measurements of the lattice parameters. The optical part of the absolute interferometer is built by WG 5.21 “Length and Angel Graduations”.

The WG 3.14 “Optical Analysis” determines the concentration of the main impurities boron, carbon, oxygen and nitrogen using low-temperature infrared spectroscopy. Due to the impurities, the mass of the real silicon sphere differs slightly from the mass of a sphere of the same volume that consists only of silicon atoms.

WG 4.33 “X-ray Optics” prepares samples from the 28Si crystal and WG 5.56 “Manufacturing Technology” polishes spheres with the lowest possible shape deviations.

More detailed information can be found on the Internet sites of the Working Groups.

 

WG 1.83 “Avogadro Constant” also organises measurements at external institutes for some partial problems, e.g.

  • at the University of Dresden, Germany, the measurement of the hydrogen concentration in the crystal using Deep Level Transient Spectroscopy (DLTS),
  • at the University of Halle-Wittenberg, Germany, the measurement of the vacancy concentration in the crystal using positron annihilation experiments, and
  • at the National Institute of Metrology (NIM, China), the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST, USA) and the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) molar mass measurement of the isotopically enriched silicon using IDMS.

 

The PTB chairs the Working Group on the Realization of the Kilogram of the Consultative Committee for Mass and Related Quantities (CCM WGR-kg).

The BIPM conducts mass determinations of the silicon spheres in air and in vacuum and ensures the traceability to the International Prototype of the Kilogram.

The INRIM performs lattice parameter measurements at 20 °C and in vacuum using a combined X-ray and optical interferometer.

The NMIA measures the sphere diameter at 20 °C and in vacuum using a Saunders interferometer.

The NMIJ measures the mass of the spheres in air and in vacuum, their diameter at 20 °C and in vacuum using an interferometer and the thickness of the oxide layer using spectral ellipsometry. Additionally, the NMIJ investigates the homogeneity of the lattice plane distances in the 28Si crystal.

The NIM performs measurements in the fields of molar mass, volume, surface layers and mass.

 

The next occasion for a new definition of the kilogram will be at the General Conference on Weights and Measures (Conférence Générale des Poids et Mesures, CGPM) in 2018. It is intended to improve the accuracy of the Avogadro constant by then. Additionally, some quantities should be confirmed by independent measurements.

To top

Logo PTB

Avogadro-Konstante

Arbeitsgruppe 1.83

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe 1.83 „Avogadro-Konstante“ koordiniert die Forschungsarbeiten in der PTB und die Zusammenarbeit mit Instituten in aller Welt zur genaueren Bestimmung der Avogadro-Konstante. Damit soll eine Grundlage für die Neudefinition der Masseneinheit Kilogramm auf der Basis einer Naturkonstante geschaffen werden.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Die Avogadro-Konstante ist die Zahl von Atomen oder Molekülen in einem Mol einer Substanz. Da das Mol als die Anzahl von Einzelteilchen (Atomen) in 12 g des Isotops 12C definiert ist, ergibt sich die Möglichkeit das Kilogramm z. B. als ein bestimmtes Vielfaches der Masse m(12C) eines 12C Atoms oder der atomaren Masseneinheit 1 u = m(12C)/12 zu definieren. Dies gelingt durch das „Zählen“ der Atome in 1 kg Kugeln aus Silicium, indem die Periodizität und Perfektion des Silicium-Einkristalls ausgenutzt werden. Die Avogadro-Konstante wird mit Hilfe der Formel

            NA = 8 M V / (m a3)

berechnet. Hierin gibt 8V/a3 die Anzahl der Atome in einer Kugel mit dem Volumen V an, weil a3 die Größe einer Elementarzelle des Kristalls ist, in der jeweils 8 Atome sind. Zur Berechnung der Avogadro-Konstante muss die Zahl der Atome in der Kugel noch durch die Stoffmenge, d. h. die Anzahl der Mole n = m/M geteilt werden, wobei m die Masse der Kugel und M die molare Masse des Siliciums sind.

Für die Beschaffung von Isotopen-angereichertem Silicium (28Si), das für die genaue Bestimmung der molaren Masse gebraucht wird, gründeten sieben metrologische Institute im Jahr 2004 die Internationale Avogadro Koordination (International Avogadro Coordination IAC). Zurzeit besteht das IAC noch aus dem Bureau International des Poids et Mesures (BIPM), dem Istituto Nazionale di Ricerca Metrologica (INRIM, Italien), dem National Measurement Institute of Australia (NMIA, Australien), dem National Metrology Institute of Japan (NMIJ, Japan) und der PTB. In 2015  veröffentlichte das IAC in der Fachzeitschrift Metrologia sein bisher bestes Ergebnis der Avogadro-Konstante

            NA = 6,022 140 76 ∙ 1023 mol-1

mit einer relativen Standardunsicherheit von nur 2 ∙ 10-8 (s. Bild 1). Eine Übersicht der wesentlichen Unsicherheitsbeiträge dieser Bestimmung ist in Tabelle 1 dargestellt.

 

Bild 1. Die zurzeit genauesten Bestimmungen der Avogadro-Konstante des internationalen Avogadro-Projekts (IAC 2010 und IAC 2014) und der Wattwaagen des NIST (NIST-3) und des kanadischen metrologischen Instituts NRC (NRC 2014). Außerdem ist der neueste Wert des CODATA-Ausgleichs angegeben.

Tabelle 1: Unsicherheitsbudget der Avogadro-Konstanten-Bestimmung mit Isotopen-angereichertem Silicium.
Größe Relative Unsicherheit/10-9 Beitrag/%
Gesamtunsicherheit 20 100
Molare Masse 5 6
Gitterparameter 5 6
Oberfläche 10 23
Kugelvolumen 15 59
Kugelmasse 4 4
Punktdefekte 3 2

 

Das Silicium wurde im Central Design Bureau of Machine Building in St. Petersburg in der Form des Gases Siliciumtetrafluorid (SiF4) Isotopen-angereichert. Danach wurde im Institute of Chemistry of High-Purity Substances der Russian Academy of Sciences in Nishni Novgorod das SiF4-Gas in Silan (SiH4) umgewandelt, gereinigt und das Silicium als Polykristall abgeschieden. Im Leibniz-Institut für Kristallzüchtung (IKZ) in Berlin wurde dann der versetzungsfreie Einkristall gezogen (Bild 2), aus dem die notwendigen Proben und insbesondere zwei 1 kg Kugeln hergestellt wurden. Die Kugeln wurden zuerst im Australian Centre for Precision Optics auf eine Unrundheit unter 0,1 µm poliert. Vor den neuen Messungen wurden die Kugeln in der PTB geätzt und poliert, um die Oberflächenkontamination durch Metall-Silizide zu entfernen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bild 2: Der Einkristall aus Isotopen-angereichertem Silicium (Foto: IKZ)

Alle Größen zur Bestimmung von NA mit Ausnahme des Gitterparameters a werden (auch) in der PTB gemessen:

Das Isotopenverhältnis und die molare Masse werden in der PTB-Arbeitsgruppe (AG) 3.11 „Anorganische Analytik“ mittels Isotopenverdünnungs-Massenspektrometrie (IDMS) gemessen. (Die relativen Atommassen der natürlich vorkommenden Silicium-Isotope 28Si, 29Si und 30Si sind aus anderen Messungen genau genug bekannt.)

Das Volumen der Silicium-Kugeln wird in der AG 5.41 „Interferometrie an Kugeln“ mit Hilfe eines sphärischen Fizeau-Interferometers bei 20 °C und im Vakuum bestimmt. Diese AG führt auch – in Zusammenarbeit mit der AG 4.33 „Röntgenoptik“ – Simulationsrechnungen zu dem Interferometer durch. Die Temperaturmessungen der Volumen- und Gitterparameterbestimmungen werden miteinander und mit der Temperaturdarstellung der AG 7.42 „Angewandte Thermometrie“ mit Hilfe eines elektronischen 20 °C Temperatur-Referenzpunktes verglichen, der in der AG 1.82 „Festkörperdichte“ entwickelt wurde.

Die Masse der Kugeln in Luft und im Vakuum wird von der AG 1.81 „Darstellung Masse“ ermittelt.

Auf der Oberfläche der Kugeln befinden sich eine Oxidschicht und eventuell noch andere Oberflächenschichten, die bei der Berechnung der Avogadro-Konstante nach der oben angegebenen Formel berücksichtigt werden müssen. Die notwendige Kenntnis von Masse, Dicke und Struktur der Oberflächenschichten auf den Kugeln wird in den folgenden AGs mit den angegebenen Methoden ermittelt:

  • AG 4.33 „Röntgenoptik“ mit Röntgenfluoreszenz-Spektroskopie (XRF),
  • AG 5.13 „Schichtdicke und kristalline Normale“ mit spektraler Ellipsometrie (SE),
  • AG 5.14 „3D-Rauheitsmesstechnik“ mit Interferenzmikroskopie,
  • AG 7.11 „Röntgenradiometrie“ mit Röntgenreflektrometrie (XRR) und Röntgenfluoreszenz-Spektroskopie (XRF) am BESSY II.

Die AG 1.82 „Festkörperdichte“ führt Dichtevergleiche der Kugeln und von anderen Proben durch. Auch die Dichte des thermischen Oxids auf Silicium-Kugeln wurde in dieser AG mit Hilfe von Dichtevergleichsmessungen bestimmt.

Die AG 4.33 „Röntgenoptik“ baut Röntgeninterferometer für relative und absolute Messungen des Gitterparameters auf. Der optische Teil des Röntgenverschiebeinterferometers wird von der AG 5.21 „Längen- und Winkelteilungen“ hergestellt.

Die AG 3.14 „Optische Analytik“ bestimmt den Gehalt der Hauptverunreinigungen Bor, Kohlenstoff, Sauerstoff und Stickstoff mittels Tieftemperatur-Infrarotspektroskopie. Die Verunreinigungen bewirken, dass die Masse der realen Silicium-Kugel sich etwas von der Masse einer gleichgroßen Kugel unterscheidet, die nur aus Silicium-Atomen besteht.

Die AG 4.33 „Röntgenoptik“ präpariert die Proben des Si-28-Kristalls und die AG 5.56 „Fertigungstechnologie“ poliert Kugeln mit möglichst niedriger Formabweichung.

Ausführliche Informationen sind auf den Internet-Seiten der jeweiligen Arbeitsgruppen zu finden.

 

Die AG 1.83 „Avogadro-Konstante“ organisiert außerdem Messungen an auswärtigen Instituten für einige Teilprobleme, z. B.

  • an der Universität Dresden die Messung der Wasserstoffkonzentration im Kristall mittels Deep Level Transient Spectroscopy (DLTS),
  • an der Universität Halle-Wittenberg die Messung der Leerstellen-Konzentration im Kristall mittels Positronenvernichtungs-Experimenten und
  • an National Institute of Metrology (NIM, China), National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST, USA) und National Research Council of Canada (NRC) die Messung der molaren Masse des Isotopen-angereicherten Siliciums mit IDMS.

Die PTB leitet auch die Arbeitsgruppe zur Darstellung des Kilogramm des Beratenden Komitees für Masse und abgeleitete Größen (Working Group on the Realization of the Kilogram of the Consultative Committee for Mass and Related Quantities, CCM WGR-kg).

Das BIPM führt Massebestimmungen der Silicium-Kugeln in Luft und im Vakuum durch und gewährleistet die Rückführung auf den Internationalen Prototypen des Kilogramms.

Das INRIM macht Gitterparametermessungen bei 20 °C und im Vakuum mit Hilfe eines Röntgen-Verschiebeinterferometers.

Das NMIA misst den Durchmesser von Kugeln bei 20 °C und im Vakuum mit Hilfe eines Saunders-Interferometers.

Das NMIJ misst von den Kugeln die Masse in Luft und Vakuum, den Durchmesser bei 20 °C und im Vakuum mit einem Interferometer und die Oxidschichtdicke mit spektraler Ellipsometrie. Außerdem untersucht das NMIJ die Homogenität von Gitterabständen im 28Si-Kristall.

Das NIM führt Messungen auf dem Gebiet der molaren Masse, des Volumens, der Oberflächenschichten und der Masse durch.

Die nächste Möglichkeit für eine Neudefinition des Kilogramm ist auf der Generalkonferenz für Maß und Gewicht (General Conference on Weights and Measures, Conférence Générale des Poids et Mesures, CGPM) in 2018. Bis dahin soll die Genauigkeit der Avogadro-Konstante weiter verbessert werden. Außerdem sollen einige Messgrößen durch unabhängige Messungen bestätigt werden.

Nach oben