Logo PTB

Dynamic Pressure Measurement

Working Group 1.33

Profile

The working group is tasked with a broad spectrum of testing and type approval according to German weapons and powder-actuated tools laws. More than 500 cases are treated every year. Most of them involve the testing of so-called airsoft and paintball guns; others concern alarm or signaling weapons or blocking systems for inherited guns. The overall goal is to help assure that the use of these devices is safe for the user.

The working group fulfills the tasks according to the regulatory decisions of the Permanent International Commission for the Proof of Small Arms (C.I.P.). It is also a Notified Body within the European Union for conformity assessments of portable powder-actuated tools according to the directive 2006/42/EG (Machine Directive).

Current research includes projects under the umbrella of C.I.P., where Germany has been a founding member more than 100 years ago. Other projects aim at the development of calibration apparatus for piezo-electric pressure sensors for the measurement of pressure spikes up to 600 MPa.

To top

Research/Development

Research and Development only form a small part in the portfolio of the working group 1.33, due to the comprehensive mandate in the field of type approval and testing. They encompass above all the development of an apparatus for the calibration of pressure sensors for strong pressure spikes. These are realized by dropping a steel ball onto a pressure cylinder; the resulting pressure spikes are determined quantitatively by a laser interferometric measurement of the changes in refractive index of a hydraulic medium.

Typical subjects are:

  • Research and development for the improvement of measurement and testing methods in ballistics, in particular internal ballistics
  • High speed photography in external ballistics
  • Development of calibration apparatuses for piezo-electric pressure sensors.

To top

Services

Because of the hazards inherent to the operation of powder-actuated tools and civilian firearms – and also to prevent their misuse – these devices must undergo a type approval before they can be placed on the market. Examples are specific types of civilian firearms, alarm weapons and powder-actuated tools like nail and rope guns or certain bomb defusing devices. PTB has been tasked with this important public service by German law (“Beschussgesetz“). The main point here is to test whether the devices fulfil the technical requirements placed on them by law, so that they do not constitute a hazard for the user when operated according to instructions.

An important metrological task is the provision of metrological traceability of ballistic measurements needed for the proof of compliance with the German law “Beschussgesetz”. For this traceability PTB develops national standards and specialized calibration and testing facilities for the dynamical quantities that are of relevance for safety during firing of ammunition and cartridges. In particular, the pressure within the barrel is tested up to 600 MPa at small rise times (20 µs) and short duration (3 ms), as well as the projectile velocity (up to 1300 m/s).

Typical metrological services are:

  • Type approval of alarm weapons and powder-actuated tools according to German law “Beschussgesetz (BeschG)” (§§ 7 and 8) and according to international regulations, for instance those of C.I.P. and EU
  • Acknowledgment of notifications according to § 9 BeschG and § 24 Weapons Act (WaffG)
  • Determination of projectile velocities, for testing of the energy limits stipulated in weapons legislation
  • Calibration of installations for the measurement of projectile velocity
  • Type approval of blocking systems for inherited weapons according to § 20 WaffG
  • Dissemination of the unit of pressure for the measurement of dynamical pressure, for instance via the calibration of piezo-electric pressure sensors
  • Pressure measurements for cartridge and bullet ammunition
  • Active participation in the C.I.P. and its working groups
  • Support of the German proof houses and cooperation with them in the field of measurement and testing
  • Participation in the German council on proofing (“Beschussrat”) according to § 41 BeschussV, and other support of the Federal Ministry of the Interior regarding regulatory questions

Testing and type approval of electro impulse devices and self-defense sprays is performed PTB’s Opens external link in new windowWorking Group 2.32 "High-voltage Metrology".

To top

Information

To top

Logo PTB

Dynamische Druckmessung

Arbeitsgruppe 1.33

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe ist nach Waffenrecht mit einem umfangreichen Spektrum von Prüf- und Zulassungsaufgaben beauftragt. Mehr als 500 Verfahren werden jährlich durchgeführt, meist für sogenannte Airsoft- und Paintball-Waffen, aber auch für Schreckschuss- und Signalwaffen sowie für Erbwaffen-Blockiersysteme.


Die AG 1.33 erfüllt Aufgaben nach den Beschlüssen der Ständigen Internationalen Kommission für die Prüfung von Handfeuerwaffen (C. I. P.) und ist zudem innerhalb der EU die einzige Benannte Stelle für Konformitätsbewertungen nach der Richtlinie 2006/42/EG (Maschinenrichtlinie) für tragbare Schussgeräte mit Treibladung.

Forschungsarbeiten umfassen Projekte im Rahmen der C. I. P., der Deutschland als Gründungsmitglied seit mehr als hundert Jahren angehört, sowie die Entwicklung von Kalibrierapparaturen für piezoelektrische Druckaufnehmer zur Messung von Druckstößen bis zu 600 MPa.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Forschung und Entwicklung können wegen der umfangreichen Beauftragung mit Zulassungs- und Prüftätigkeiten nur einen kleinen Raum im Arbeitsspektrum der AG 1.33 einnehmen. Sie umfassen insbesondere die Entwicklung einer Apparatur für die Kalibrierung von Drucksensoren für starke Druckstöße. Diese werden durch Fallenlassen einer Stahlkugel auf einen Druckstempel realisiert; die resultierenden Druckstöße werden durch laserinterferometrische Messung der Brechungsindexänderungen in einem Hydraulikmedium quantitativ bestimmt.

Typische Themen sind:
•    Forschung und Entwicklung zur Leistungs- und Effektivitätssteigerung von ballistischen
      Mess- und Prüfverfahren
•    Kurzzeitfotografie in der Außenballistik
•    Entwicklung von Kalibrierapparaturen für piezoelektrische Druckaufnehmer.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

    Wegen der grundsätzlichen Gefährlichkeit und insbesondere auch, um deren Missbrauch zu verhindern, müssen bestimmte Arten von Schusswaffen sowie munitionsbetriebene technische Geräte (vorwiegend Schussapparate, wie z. B. Bolzensetz-, Leinenwurf-, Entschärfungs-, Kabelschussgeräte) vor der Freigabe zu Herstellung und Handel Zulassungsprüfungen unterworfen werden. Diese wichtige staatliche Aufgabe ist der PTB durch das Beschussgesetz übertragen. Hauptsächlich wird hier geprüft, ob die Geräte die vom Gesetzgeber vorgeschriebenen technischen Anforderungen erfüllen und somit bei ordnungsgemäßer Benutzung für den Anwender sicher sind.

     

    Eine wichtige metrologische Aufgabe ist die Sicherstellung der Rückführbarkeit ballistischer Messungen, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Beschussgesetz (BeschG) stehen, auf die nationalen Normale. Dazu sind von der PTB spezielle Kalibrier- und Prüfeinrichtungen für die sicherheitsrelevanten dynamischen Messgrößen, die vor allem beim Schuss vorkommen, entwickelt worden. Für die Anwendersicherheit werden als maßgebliche Größen der Gasdruck bis zu 600 MPa bei sehr kleiner Anstiegszeit (von bis zu ca. 20 µs) und kurzer Impulsdauer (von bis zu ca. 3 ms) sowie die Geschossgeschwindigkeit (bis zu 1300 m/s) geprüft.

     

    Typische metrologische Dienstleistungen sind:

    ·         Bauartprüfungen von Schreckschusswaffen und Schussapparaten nach dem deutschen Beschussgesetz (§§ 7 und 8 BeschG) und nach internationalen Vorschriften, z. B. denen der C. I. P. oder der EU

    ·         Entgegennahmen von Anzeigen nach § 9 BeschG und § 24 WaffG

    ·         Bestimmung von Geschossgeschwindigkeiten zur Kontrolle waffenrechtlicher Energiegrenzen

    ·         Kalibrierung von Geschossgeschwindigkeitsmessanlagen

    ·         Bauartprüfungen von Blockiersystemen für Erbwaffen nach dem Waffengesetz (§ 20 WaffG)

    ·         Weitergabe der Druckeinheit für dynamische Gasdruckmessungen, z. B. durch dynamische Kalibrierungen von piezoelektrischen Druckaufnehmern

    ·         Gasdruckmessungen an Kartuschen- und Patronenmunition

    ·         Mitwirkung in der Ständigen Internationalen Kommission für die Prüfung von Handfeuerwaffen (C. I. P.) und in den zugehörigen Arbeitsgruppen

    ·         Beratung der Beschussämter und Zusammenarbeit mit diesen bei der Durchführung von Messungen und Prüfungen

    ·         Mitarbeit im deutschen Beschussrat, Zuarbeit zum BMI bezüglich waffenrechtlicher Vorschriften.

     

    Die Prüfung und Zulassung von Elektroimpulsgeräten und von Reizstoffsprühgeräten wird von der Opens external link in new windowArbeitsgruppe 2.32 „Hochspannungsmesstechnik“ durchgeführt.

      Nach oben

      Informationen

      Nach oben