Logo PTB

Metrological Software

Working Group 8.51

Profile

The functionality of electronic measuring instruments used in the context of legal metrology is already mainly realized in software. For these types of measuring instruments, the wide-spread use of innovative information and communication technology (ICT) will be paved by the increasing utilization of embedded systems, different operating system philosophies, and the connection to communication networks. The evaluation of these ICT components and of software based on national and international regulations is one of the cross-sectional tasks, for which the working group 8.51 is responsible as part of the conformity assessment of measuring instruments within PTB.

The working group supports all departments of PTB, which are specialized in the examination of the physical properties of such instruments, intensively. The working group advises the industry, other groups within PTB, and market surveillance authorities. The working group also develops practical instructions to evaluate innovative technologies and submits them to national, European, and international harmonization and standardization bodies. Members of the working group are active in national and international bodies that deal with software in legal metrology.

To top

Research/Development

The working group is concerned with the development of software requirements based on the European Measuring Instruments Directive MID and the National Weights and Measures Act (see working group Q.31). This includes both requirements for the software of the measuring instruments themselves (product requirements) and for the processes involved in their production, the making available on the market and surveillance during operation (process requirements). In connection therewith, the working group develops software test procedures and software test instructions adapted to the conditions in the legal metrology. If necessary, the employees of various other departments of PTB are instructed and trained in the application of the test procedures.

To top

Services

   • 

Software Examination

In the context of the type approval and certification processes in legal metrology, software tests are conducted by the working group in different test depths – from checklist based document review up to source code analysis. In areas other than legal metrology, the members of the working group also have years of experience in analytical software quality assurance (software testing) and in the field of preventive quality assurance (evaluation and improvement of software development processes). Other groups at PTB can also perform software tests themselves. When doing so, they are supported and advised by working group 8.51.

   • 

Advisory services for the industry and for market surveillance authorities

The working group provides experts for audits in accordance with the MID-modules D, G, H and H1, evaluators of software technology as part of the accreditation process of the DAkkS, and representatives for the DIN committee for software and systems engineering.

   • 

Participation in Harmonization and Standardization Bodies

  • Vollversammlungsausschuss „Software“
  • WELMEC WG7
  • OIML TC5/SC2
  • DIN NA 043-01-07, Informationstechnik, Software- und System-Engineering
  • DIN NA 063-07-01, Medizinische Informatik, Horizontaler Arbeitsausschuss
  • DIN NA 063-07-02, Medizinische Informatik, Interoperabilität

To top

Information

To top

Logo PTB

Metrologische Software

Arbeitsgruppe 8.51

Profil

Die Funktionalität elektronischer Messgeräte, die im Rahmen des gesetzlichen Messwesens zum Einsatz kommen, wird schon heute überwiegend über Software realisiert. Die zunehmende Verwendung eingebetteter Systeme, verschiedener Betriebssystemphilosophien und die Anbindung an Kommunikationsnetze wird den weg ebenen um auch für diese Messgerätearten die breiten Möglichkeiten der innovationsträchtigen Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie (IKT) zu nutzen. Die Bewertung dieser IKT-Komponenten und der Software anhand nationaler und internationaler Regelwerke ist eine der Querschnittsaufgaben, für die Arbeitsgruppe 8.51 im Rahmen der Konformitätsbewertung von Messgeräten innerhalb der PTB verantwortlich zeichnet.

Die Arbeitsgruppe unterstützt mit ihrer Arbeit intensiv alle Fachbereiche der PTB, die auf die Prüfung der physikalischen Eigenschaften solcher Messgeräte spezialisiert sind. Sie berät die Industrie, andere PTB-Abteilungen und die Marktaufsichtsbehörden. Sie erarbeitet Handlungshilfen zur Bewertung innovativer Technologien und bringt diese Erkenntnisse in nationale, europäische und internationale Harmonisierungs- und Normungsgremien ein. Mitarbeiter der Arbeitsgruppe sind in nationalen und internationalen Gremien, die sich mit Software im gesetzlichen Messwesen beschäftigen, vertreten.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Die Arbeitsgruppe befasst sich mit der Erarbeitung von Softwareanforderungen auf der Basis der europäischen Messgeräterichtlinie MID und des nationalen Mess- und Eichgesetzes (siehe Arbeitsgruppe Q.31). Darunter sind sowohl Anforderungen an die Software der Messgeräte selbst (Produktanforderungen) als auch an die Prozesse bei deren Herstellung, beim In-Verkehr-Bringen und bei der Überwachung im Betrieb (Prozessanforderungen) zu verstehen. Im Zusammenhang damit werden von der Arbeitsgruppe an die Gegebenheiten im gesetzlichen Messwesen angepasste Prüfmethoden und Prüfanweisungen für Software erarbeitet. Bei Bedarf werden die Mitarbeiter diverser anderer Fachbereiche der PTB in der Anwendung der Prüfmethoden angeleitet und geschult.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

   • 

Softwareprüfung

Softwareprüfungen werden von der Arbeitsgruppe in unterschiedlichen Prüftiefen – von checklistengestützter Dokumentenprüfung bis zur Quellcodeanalyse – im Rahmen von Zulassungs- und Zertifizierungsvorgängen im gesetzlichen Messwesen durchgeführt. Die Mitarbeiter der Arbeitsgruppe haben darüber hinaus auch in anderen Bereichen als dem gesetzlichen Messwesen langjährige Erfahrung bei der analytischen Software­qualitäts­sicherung (Softwareprüfung) und auf dem Gebiet der vorbeugenden Qualitätssicherung (Bewertung und Verbesserung von Software­entwicklungs­prozessen). Andere Arbeitsgruppen in der PTB können auch selbst Softwareprüfungen durchführen. Dabei werden sie von der AG 8.51 unterstützt und beraten.

   • 

Beratung der Industrie und der Marktaufsichtsbehörden

Die Arbeitsgruppe stellt Fachexperten für Audits gemäß den MID-Modulen D, G, H und H1, Begutachter für Softwaretechnik im Rahmen von Akkreditierungsverfahren der DAkkS sowie Vertreter für den DIN-Ausschuss Software- und System-Engineering.

   • 

Gremienvertretung

  • Vollversammlungsausschuss „Software“
  • WELMEC WG7
  • OIML TC5/SC2
  • DIN NA 043-01-07, Informationstechnik, Software- und System-Engineering
  • DIN NA 063-07-01, Medizinische Informatik, Horizontaler Arbeitsausschuss
  • DIN NA 063-07-02, Medizinische Informatik, Interoperabilität

Nach oben

Informationen

Nach oben