Logo PTB

Mathematical Modelling and Simulation

Working Group 8.41

 

 

Uncertainty Quantification

A core task in metrology is the determination of measurement uncertainties. According to an international agreement measurement uncertainties are determined by the “Guide to the expression of uncertainties in measurements” (GUM) and its supplements. Thereby the effects of uncertain input variables of nonlinear problems are considered as random variables and output fluctuations are obtained by Monte Carlo (MC) samplings. Many applications in metrology, physics and engineering use partial differential equations (pde) which are solved by finite element methods (FEM).   Such methods are computationally expensive and the determination of uncertainties according to the GUM is often unfeasible.  Our main goal is to develop methods for the determination of uncertainties for computationally expensive systems in compliance with the GUM.

Introduction

To investigate the effect of uncertain parameters of a pde on its solutions a map is typically defined from these parameters to the pde’s solutions. Such a map is called a forward model. Uncertain parameters (input quantities) are expressed in probability distributions. The aim is to determine the probability distribution of the solutions of the pde or derived quantities (output quantities), see Fig1.

Figure 1: Illustration of a forward model.

Methods

Sampling methods

Sampling methods are characterized by randomly drawing from input distributions and calculating the associated output quantities. To obtain a distribution of output quantities from this procedure a large number of repetitions is necessary. The choice of a specific sampling method can reduce the sampling size and in turn the number of forward calculations significantly. For example, in many applications the Lattin-Hypercube sampling is more effective than the Monte Carlo method and therefore it needs less computing time for the same precision/accuracy.

Polynomial chaos

Comparison of the polynomial chaos method for 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 function evaluations with a quasi-Monte-Carlo method with 100 evaluations as well as with the exact solution for the determination of the variance of an inflow profile.

Within the polynomial chaos approach the output quantity of interest  is approximated as a weighted sum of orthogonal polynomials of random variables. The weights are defined as integrals over the (multi-dimensional) space of input quantities, with the integrands being a product of the underlying deterministic model function and one of the polynomials. The integrals are evaluated using numerical quadrature, requiring model evaluations.
This approach has very rapid convergence properties (in many cases, low order polynomials give a good approximation of the model output), meaning that the methods can outperform most sampling methods, at least as long as only a few random parameters are considered. Thus, the method is also applicable to computationally expensive systems as they occur in computational fluid dynamics, for example.

 

 

Surrogate models

Surrogate models approximate the forward model itself, rather than to reduce the number of forward evaluations. In the case of pde’s, solutions are interpolated within a certain parameter range by nonlinear functions.  In particular, for certain input quantities (training points) output quantities are calculated rigorously by using the forward model. From these results a surrogate model for a certain parameter range is constructed. The surrogate model connects the inputs to the output quantities by simple functions. With this method a speed up of the computational time by several magnitudes is possible. Fig. 3 shows a sketch for the determination of diffraction pattern of a nano-grating (scatterometry). The upper path depicts the rigorous FEM calculation of electromagnetic waves (computational time 2min). The lower path depicts the replacement with the surrogate model (less than one second). The pre-calculation time to construct the surrogate model was about 20h. 

Figure 3: Illustration of the use of surrogate models. The surrogate model replace the computationally expensive FEM calculations.

Inverse Problems

For indirect measurements for the determination of uncertainties it is necessary to solve a statistical inverse problem. A flexible method to solve a statistical inverse problem allowing for the inclusion of prior knowledge is the Bayesian approach.  The inclusion of prior knowledge is of advantage in metrology. Here it is possible to combine different measurements to reduce measurement uncertainties (hybrid-metrology).  Bayes theorem provides the basis for this approach. Thereby prior knowledge about a certain measurand given by the distribution $\pi_0 $ is combined with the information from the measurement (likelihood function, $\mathcal{L}$) to update the knowledge about the desired quantity (posterior distribution $\pi$), i.e.,

\[\pi (\theta;{\bf y} ) = \frac{\mathcal{L}(\theta;{\bf y})\pi_0(\theta)}{\int \mathcal{L}(\theta;{\bf y})\pi_0(\theta) d\theta }.\]

The calculation of the output distribution (posterior) requires a large number of evaluations of the forward model. For computationally expensive problems this is very time consuming which makes the direct calculation of uncertainties unfeasible. However by using the prior knowledge, output distributions can be efficiently approximated and uncertainties are calculated.

To top

Applications

Flow

Deviation of the simulated measurement device in dependency on the distance to the double bend (cyan: expectation value, red: standard deviation, blue: maximal deviation).

Since the polynomial chaos method requires only a small number of evaluations of the underlying deterministic problem, it is well-suited for computationally expensive problems like CFD (computational fluid dynamics).

In cooperation with AG 7.52 the influence of disturbed inflow profiles on the measurement result of a single-beam ultrasonic flow meter has been investigated using the polynomial chaos method in conjunction with CFD. The disturbed profiles were produced by a double bend out-of plane. This case is especially important for metrology, since in practice one bend usually follows another one, which can lead to huge measurement errors.

Fig. 1 shows the expected error of the volume flow measured by the simulated measurement device (in cyan) as well as its standard deviation (in red). Additionally the maximal deviation of the prediction with respect to the exact volume flow is shown (in blue). One can see that in the considered configuration the flow rate is underestimated on average. With increasing distance between the double bend and the measurement device the mean error decreases from around 4% to almost 0%.

Scatterometry

Figure 5: Cross-section of an EUV-mask with absorber line and multilayer stack.

The second application deals with the statistical inverse problem in scatterometry. Scatterometry is an indirect optical measurement method and is used to measure periodic nanostructures at surfaces. In particular, critical dimensions and sidewall angles of lines on a photomask can be measured nondestructively.  Its precise production and measurement is of particular interest in semiconductor industry.

 Fig. 5 shows a cross-section of a realistic EUV mask used for simulations. In our case the forward model is given by the map from the line geometry onto the diffraction pattern. Rigorous calculations are performed by a standard FEM solver (DIPOG-WIAS). For the geometry parameters: line width, line height and the side wall angle a certain prior distribution was chosen ($\pi_0$) and a surrogate model based on the polynomial chaos method was constructed.  The associated posterior distribution could be determined in several hours by using a Markov-Chain-Monte-Carlo method (compared with a computational time of half a year if the rigorous method was used). Fig. 6 depicts the distributions for the geometry parameters. Green, dashed lines indicate reference values.

To top

Publications

2016

A. Weissenbrunner, A. Fiebach, S. Schmelter, M. Bär, P. Thamsen and T. Lederer
Flow Measurement and Instrumentation,
2016.
S. Heidenreich, H. Gross, M. Bär and L. Wright
Measurement,
2016.
S. Schmelter, A. Fiebach and A. Weissenbrunner
tm-Technisches Messen, 83(2),
71-76,
2016.

2015

A. Weissenbrunner, A. Fiebach, S. Schmelter, M. Straka, M. Bär and T. Lederer
Proceedings of Imeko 2015 XXI World Congress Measurement in Research and Industry,
2015.
S. Heidenreich, H. Gross and M. Bär
International Journal for Uncertainty Quantification,
511,
2015.
S. Schmelter, A. Fiebach, R. Model and M. Bär
Int. J. Comp. Fluid. Dyn., 29(6-8),
411-422,
2015.

2014

S. Heidenreich, H. Gross, M.-A. Henn, C. Elster and M. Bär
J. Phys. Conf. Ser., 490(1),
012007,
2014.
Export as:
BibTeX, XML

Logo PTB

Mathematische Modellierung und Simulation

Arbeitsgruppe 8.41

Partielle Differentialgleichungen mit Unsicherheiten

Eine Kernaufgabe der Metrologie ist die Bestimmung von Messunsicherheiten.  Nach internationaler Übereinkunft werden Messunsicherheiten entsprechend des „Guide to the expression of uncertainties in measurements" (GUM) und dessen Erweiterungen bestimmt. Hierbei werden für nichtlineare Probleme auftretende Störungen als Zufallsvariablen aufgefasst und ihr Einfluss auf die Monte Carlo Methode untersucht. In vielen modernen Anwendungen treten Partielle Differentialgleichungen (PDE) auf, die mit Hilfe finite Elemente Methode gelöst werden. Solche Methoden sind rechenintensiv und die Bestimmung der Messunsicherheiten nach GUM ist oft nicht möglich. Unser Ziel ist es effiziente Methoden zu entwickeln, die die Bestimmung der Messunsicherheiten GUM-konform für rechenintensive Anwendungen ermöglicht.

Einleitung

Um den Effekt von unsicheren Parametern einer PDE auf deren Lösungen zu untersuchen, definiert man sich  i.a. eine Abbildung dieser Parameter auf die Lösung der PDE.  Eine derartige Abbildung heißt Vorwärtsmodell (Forward model). Die unsicheren Parameter (auch Eingangsgrößen) werden durch Wahrscheinlichkeitsverteilungen dargestellt. Ziel ist es, die Wahrscheinlichkeitsverteilung der Lösungen der PDE, oder davon abgeleitete Größen (auch Ausgangsgrößen) zu bestimmen (Abb1).

Abbildung 1: Illustration zur Propagation von Unsicherheiten durch ein Vorwärtsmodell.

Methoden

Sampling

Bei diesen Methoden wird aus der Verteilung der Eingangsgrößen zufällig einen Wert gezogen. Für diesen Wert bestimmt man mit Hilfe des Vorwärtsmodells die Ausgangsgröße. Durch mehrmalige Wiederholungen entsteht aus den berechneten Ausgangsgrößen eine Verteilung. Im Allgemeinen müssen hierfür sehr viele Vorwärtsrechnungen durchgeführt werden.  Die Wahl der Sampling Methode kann zu einer Reduktion der notwendigen Vorwärtsrechnungen führen. In vielen Anwendungen ist beispielsweise die Latin-Hypercube Sampling Methode effektiver und benötigt daher für die gleiche Genauigkeit weniger Berechnungen, als die Monte-Carlo Methode.

Polynomiales Chaos

Abbildung 2: Vergleich des Polynomchaos-Verfahrens für 2, 5, 10, 20 und 50 Funktionsauswertungen mit einem Quasi-Monte-Carlo-Verfahren mit 100 Auswertungen sowie mit der exakten Lösung zur Bestimmung der Varianz eines Einströmprofils.

Bei der  Polynomchaos-Methode wird die Ausgangsgröße durch eine gewichtete Summe von Orthogonalpolynomen approximiert. Die Gewichte sind dabei als Integrale über den (mehrdimensionalen) Parameterraum definiert. Die Integration erfolgt über ein Produkt, bei dem ein Teil durch das zugrunde liegende deterministische Problem bestimmt ist, während der andere Teil sich durch Auswertung der Orthogonalpolynome ergibt.
Die Polynomchaos-Methode ermöglicht es, die erwarteten Abweichungen sowie deren Varianz äußerst effizient zu berechnen. Im Vergleich zu einem Monte-Carlo-Verfahren benötigt sie, zumindest für eine kleine Anzahl an unsicheren Parametern, eine geringere Anzahl an Auswertungen des zugrunde liegenden deterministischen Problems, siehe auch Abb. 2 Daher kann die Polynomchaos-Methode auch für rechenintensive Anwendungen wie beispielsweise die Strömungssimulation verwendet werden.

Surrogate Modelle

Bei den Surrogate-Modellen wird das rechenintensive Vorwärtsproblem durch einfache Funktionen approximiert. Dafür werden für bestimmte Eingangsgrößen (Trainingspunkte) die Ausgangsgrößen mit dem rigorosen Vorwärtsmodell berechnet und daraus ein Modell aufgebaut, welches für weitere Eingangsgrößen die Ausgangsgrößen durch einfache Funktionsauswertungen bestimmen kann. Für Strömungssimulationen oder FEM-Berechnungen  elektromagnetischer Felder kann die Berechnung um einige Größenordnungen beschleunigt werden. Mit Hilfe von Surrogate-Modellen lassen sich auch rechenintensive Problem mit Monte-Carlo Verfahren behandeln. Abb. 3 zeigt schematisch die Bestimmung von Beugungsmustern an Nanolinien (Scatterometrie). Der obere Pfad stellt die rigorose FEM Berechnung dar, die ca. 2min dauert. Der untere Pfad stellt die Berechnung mit einem Surrogate Modell dar (unter 1s). Die hierbei benötigte Zeit zum konstruieren des Surrogate-Modells betrug 20h.

Abbildung 3: Illustration für den Einsatz eines Surrogate-Modells. Das Surrogate-Modell ersetzt zeitaufwändige FEM Berechnungen.

Inverse Probleme

Bei indirekten Messungen ist es notwendig für die Bestimmung von Messunsicherheiten ein statistisches inverses Problem zu lösen. Ein flexibles Verfahren zur Lösung statistischer inverser Probleme unter der Hinzunahme von Vorinformationen ist das Bayessche Verfahren. Für metrologische Anwendungen ist die Berücksichtigung von Vorinformationen vorteilhaft, da es die hybride Auswertung verschiedener Messungen ermöglicht, um die Messunsicherheit zu reduzieren (Hybridmetrology).  Der Satz von Bayes bildet die Grundlage für diese Verfahren. Dabei wird das Vorwissen über eine bestimmte Messgröße ($\pi_0$) mit der Information aus der Messung (Likelihood-Funktion $\mathcal{L}$) zu einem verbesserten Wissen dieser Größe zusammenfügt, d.h.

\[\pi (\theta;{\bf y} ) = \frac{\mathcal{L}(\theta;{\bf y})\pi_0(\theta)}{\int \mathcal{L}(\theta;{\bf y})\pi_0(\theta) d\theta }.\]

Das Ergebnis ist eine Verteilung für die indirekten Messgröße (Posterior-Verteilung $\pi$ ). Für die Bestimmung dieser Verteilung  ist es notwendig, das rechenintensive Vorwärtsmodell viele Male zu berechnen. Dauert eine Vorwärtsrechnung einige Minuten, kann die Bestimmung der Posterior-Verteilung Monate dauern. Durch die Verwendung des Vorwissens (der Verteilung $\pi_0$) können effektive Approximationen der Posterior-Verteilung mit Hilfe z.B. der Polynomialchaos-Methode entwickelt werden. Das Ergebnis einer Berechnung die vorher Monate gedauert hat, kann damit in einigen Stunden bestimmt werden.

 

 

Nach oben

Anwendungen

Strömungsmechanik

Abbildung 4: Abweichung des simulierten Messgeräts in Abhängigkeit vom Abstand zum Krümmer (türkis: Erwartungswert, rot: Standardabweichung, blau: maximale Abweichung.

Da die Polynomchaos-Methode nur eine geringe Anzahl an Auswertungen des zugrunde liegenden deterministischen Problems benötigt, kann sie sehr gut für rechenintensive Anwendungen wie beispielsweise die Strömungssimulation verwendet werden.

In Kooperation mit der AG 7.52 wurde mit Hilfe der Polynomchaos-Methode und numerischer Strömungssimulation unter anderem der Einfluss gestörter Einströmprofile auf das Messergebnis eines Einstrahl-Ultraschall-Durchflussmessgerätes untersucht. Die gestörten Profile wurden dabei durch zwei aufeinander folgende Krümmer erzeugt. Dieser Fall ist für die Metrologie von besonderem Interesse, da in der Praxis häufig eine Reihe von Raumkrümmern aufeinander folgen, was zu erheblichen Messfehlern führen kann.

Abb. 1 zeigt den erwarteten Fehler des am simulierten Messgerät angezeigten Volumenstroms (in türkis) sowie dessen Standardabweichung (in rot). Außerdem ist die maximale Abweichung der Vorhersage zum exakten Volumenstrom in blau eingezeichnet. Man sieht, dass bei den vorliegenden Konfigurationen das Messgerät den Durchfluss im Mittel unterschätzt. Mit größerem Abstand zwischen Doppelkrümmer und Messgerät sinkt der Mittelwert des Fehlers von rund 4% auf nahe 0%.

Scatterometrie

Abbildung 5: Schnitt einer EUV-Maske mit Absorberlinie und Multilayer-Stack.

Die zweite Anwendung umfasst das statistische inverse Problem in der Scatterometrie. Die Scatterometrie ist eine indirekte optische Messung, bei  nano-strukturierte Oberflächen vermessen werden. Insbesondere lassen sich Linienbreiten, Linienhöhen und Winkel von Photomasken zerstörungsfrei vermessen. Deren präzise Herstellung ist insbesondere für die Halbleiterfertigung von großem Interesse.

In Abb 5. ist ein Querschnitt der EUV-Maske dargestellt, die hier untersucht wurde. Das Vorwärtsmodell ist gegeben durch  die Abbildung der Liniengeometrie auf die gemessenen Beugungsmuster. Rigoros berechnet wurden die Beugungsmuster mit Hilfe eines FEM-Lösers (DIPOG, WIAS). Für die Geometrieparameter: Linienbreite, Linienhöhe und Seitenwinkel wurde eine Anfangsverteilung gewählt ($\pi_0$) und ein Surrogate-Modell basierend auf der Polynomchaos-Methode konstruiert. Die Posterior-Verteilung konnte mit dieser Methode in einigen Stunden unter Verwendung der Markov-Chain-Monte-Carlo Methode bestimmt werden (verglichen zu einem halben Jahr, die die rigorose Methode benötigte). Abb. 6 zeigt die Verteilungen für die Geometrieparameter. Die grün gestichelten Linien geben die Referenzwerte an.

Abbildung 6: Verteilungsfunktionen der der Geometrieparameter (von links) Linienbreite, Linienhöhe und Seitenwinkel. Die gestrichelte grüne Linie entspricht dem Referenzwert.

Nach oben

Publikationen

2017

S. Heidenreich, H. Gross, M. Bär and L. Wright
Measurement, 97(79--87),
2017.

2016

A. Weissenbrunner, A. Fiebach, S. Schmelter, M. Bär, P. Thamsen and T. Lederer
Flow Measurement and Instrumentation,
2016.
S. Schmelter, A. Fiebach and A. Weissenbrunner
tm-Technisches Messen, 83(2),
71-76,
2016.

2015

A. Weissenbrunner, A. Fiebach, S. Schmelter, M. Straka, M. Bär and T. Lederer
Proceedings of Imeko 2015 XXI World Congress Measurement in Research and Industry,
2015.
S. Heidenreich, H. Gross and M. Bär
International Journal for Uncertainty Quantification,
511,
2015.
S. Schmelter, A. Fiebach, R. Model and M. Bär
Int. J. Comp. Fluid. Dyn., 29(6-8),
411-422,
2015.

2014

S. Heidenreich, H. Gross, M.-A. Henn, C. Elster and M. Bär
J. Phys. Conf. Ser., 490(1),
012007,
2014.
Export als:
BibTeX, XML