Logo PTB

Mathematical Modelling and Simulations

Working Group 8.41

Scattering Problem in Flow Cytometry

Recently, we started to mathematical modelling of optical flow cytometry. Optical flow cytometry is characterized by light scattering on blood cells like erythrocytes. Here, information about cell properties is obtained from scattering distributions. Cell volume and geometry parameters of cell shape can be reconstructed from scattered data by solving numerically an inverse problem. For the reliable determination of  cell geometries including small uncertainties angular resolved scattering measurements are necessary. Existing reference procedures for the determination of cell volumes are intended to be extended. 

Introduction

Figure 1: Schematic diagram of the working principle of optical flow cytometry.

Optical cytometry, i. e., the measuring of biological cells by means of light scattering, is a procedure routinely used in laboratories for cell counting and cell characterization. So called flow cytometers (Fig. 1) are often used: The cell suspension to be measured flows through a narrow cuvette and is – by means of a laminarly flowing sheath fluid – hydrodynamically focused to a cross section of several micrometers extent. Flowing through the cuvette, the cell is illuminated by a beam of laser light, which is scattered by the cell and collected onto a detector by an optical system. Wavelengths are typically in the visible range (e. g., 633 nm or 488 nm). Due to the hydrodynamic focusing, the cells pass the light focus one by one.  The exact form of the scattered light field depends on the properties of the cell, such as size, shape and refractive index. The aim of this indirect measurement procedure is to infer properties of the cell from the scattered light pattern.

 

Flow cytometric measurement procedures are also used in the examination of blood samples, for instance in blood counts. The modeling of light scattering by human blood cells, such as red blood cells (erythrocytes; the most frequent type of blood cells in humans) together with the numerical solution of the inverse scattering problem serves as an important building block for optical flow cytometry, in order to draw conclusions from the measured scattering pattern on the blood cells to be characterized. In standard devices one usually employs detectors that integrate the light intensity around some few directions, meaning that, for instance, forward scatter and side scatter are measured. In order to determine cell properties such as volume and/or geometry parameters reliably and with low uncertainty, however, more information and hence an angularly resolved measurement of the scattered light is required. By doing so, we plan on extending existing reference measurement  procedures for the determination of cellular volumes.

Modelling

Maxwell's equations are the basis for the mathematical modeling of the scattering of light by blood particles. In the case of time-harmonic electromagnetic fields (monochromatic light) and homogeneous media (refractive index $n$) they simplify to the vector Helmholtz equation \[ \Delta {\bf E} + k_0^2\,n^2{\bf E} = 0 \]

for the electrical field ${\bf E}$ and accordingly for the magnetic field ${\bf H}$. The solution is sought for in the form\[ {\bf E} = {\bf E}^i + {\bf E}^s,\]

where ${\bf E}^i$ is the incident wave and  ${\bf E}^s$ is the scattered wave. In the simplest case, the cell is assumed to be a region of homogeneous refractive index. An analytical solution exists only for special cases such as the scattering of a plane wave by a homogeneous sphere (Mie scattering) or for the limiting case of small scatterers (Rayleigh scattering). For more general cases where the scattering particles or blood cells have a shape deviating from a sphere, there exist different numerical procedures such as the discrete dipole approximation (DDA). Here the scatterer's volume is discretized and the sub-volumes are approximated by point dipoles. The result is a linear system of equations for coupled discrete dipoles, which is solved numerically. As a result one computes the scattering matrix or Mueller matrix of the scattered light field for the region of interest of the solid angle, depending on the incident wave field and the refractive index of the cell. There are powerful implementations of DDA. To apply them, one needs to model the assumed shapes of the blood cells appropriately. The biconcave disk-like shape (Fig. 2) is a promising candidate for this, in order to closely resemble the real conditions. However, deformations due to hydrodynamic forces, thermical fluctuations, or pathological cell shapes (e. g., sickle cells) can make this geometric modeling much more involved. Open questions also exist concerning the wavelength dependence of the refractive index of red blood cells. There are several different literature values around, partly in contradiction to each other. Hence, it is necessary to evaluate measurements of the spectral dependence of the extinction of erythrocyte suspensions, to obtain values for the wavelength-dependent refractive index of red blood cells reliably and and as precise as possible.

To top

Simulations - Virtual experiments

Figure 2: Simplified biconcave disk-like shape model for erythrocytes. Axes scaled.

A powerful forward model for simulating the measurement setup of optical flow cytometry is an important tool for improving or enhancing measurement procedures. The sensitivity of scattering signals to various model parameters can be studied extensively using computer simulations. Statistical influence variables can be quantified regarding their influence on the expected scattering patterns, too, such as fluctuations of the individual cell geometries around a mean values, roughness of the cell surfaces, inhomogeneities of the intracellular refractive index (hemoglobin concentration). Fig. 3 and 4 show intensity distributions, computed with discrete dipole approximation for the shape model of Fig. 2.

Figure 3: DDA simulation data: Intensity far-field patterns around the forward axis for biconcave disk-like erythrocyte model. Incident light along $z$-axis, coming out of the image plane. From left to right Rotation around the $x$-axis: 0° (face-on illumination of disk), 46°, 90° (edge-on illumination of disk). Cell diameter 6.7 μm, wavelength 488 nm, relative refractive index 1.06+0.0011i.

Inverse problem - Inference of shape and volume

In order to infer information about the cells' shapes and volumes from the measured scattering data one needs to solve the inverse scattering problem: How must an object be composed in order to scatter light according to a given far-field distribution (Fig. 3, 4)? This inverse problem is solved as an optimization problem, i.e., by variation one tries to find that set of parameters of the mathematical cell model (geometry parameters, material properties) whose corresponding scattering pattern reproduces the measurement data best. One has to consider, that the inverse problem is generally ill-posed and without regularization, for instance via constraints for the allowed shape models or their parameter ranges and refractive index distributions, the problem will not be solvable. Using simulation data with added noise, it is possible to study the applicability of different optimization strategies such as least-squares, maximum-likelihood or Bayesian approaches.

Figure 4: Lateral light intensity distribution of a biconcave red blood cell
for two different orientations relative to the incident beam; computed with
DDA; wavelength 488 nm, relative refractive index 1.06.

To top

Publications

Logo PTB

Modellierung und Simulation

Arbeitsgruppe 8.41

Streuprobleme in der Durchflusszytometrie

Ein neuer Anwendungsbereich unserer Arbeitsgruppe ist die Modellierung für die optische Durchflusszytometrie. Bei der optischen Durchflusszytometrie wird Licht an menschlichen Blutzellen, wie z.B. den roten Blutkörperchen (Erythrozyten), gestreut, um aus den gemessenen Streulichtverteilungen Rückschlüsse auf die zu charakterisierenden Blutzellen ziehen zu können. Zellvolumen und Geometrieparameter der Zellprofile lassen sich aus den Streudaten durch die numerische Lösung eines inversen Problems bestimmen. Für die verlässliche Berechung der Zellgeometrie mit geringen Unsicherheiten sind raumwinkelaufgelöste Streulichtmessungen erforderlich. Existierende Referenzmessfahren zur Bestimmung von Zellvolumina sollen dadurch erweitert werden.

Einleitung

Abbildung 1: Schemazeichnung zur Funktionsweise eines optischen Durchflusszytometers.

Die optische Zytometrie, also die Untersuchung von biologischen Zellen mithilfe von Lichtstreuung ist ein im Laboralltag routinemäßig genutztes Verfahren zur Zellzählung und -charakterisierung. Es kommen sogenannte Durchflusszytometer zum Einsatz: Die zu untersuchende Zellsuspension fließt durch eine enge Küvette und wird dort mithilfe einer laminar strömenden Hüllflüssigkeit auf einen Querschnitt von einigen Mikrometern Ausdehnung hydrodynamisch fokussiert. Im Vorbeifließen wird die Probe mit einem Lichtstrahl (Laser) beleuchtet und das von den Zellen gestreute Licht durch eine geeignete Optik auf einen Detektor geleitet. Die Lichtwellenlänge liegt typischerweise im sichtbaren Bereich (z. B. 633 nm oder 488 nm). Aufgrund der hydrodynamischen Fokussierung passieren die Zellen den Lichtfokus einzeln (Abb. 1). Die genaue Gestalt des gestreuten Lichtfeldes hängt dabei von den Eigenschaften der Zelle ab, wie etwa Größe, Form und Brechungsindex. Ziel des indirekten Messverfahrens ist ein Rückschluss von der Streulichtverteilung auf die Eigenschaften der Zelle.

Durchflusszytometrische Messverfahren kommen auch bei der Untersuchung von Blutproben zum Einsatz, etwa bei der Erstellung von Blutbildern. Die Modellierung der Lichtstreuung an menschlichen Blutzellen wie z.B. den roten Blutkörperchen (Erythrozyten; häufigster Typ von Blutzellen) bildet zusammen mit der numerischen Lösung des inversen Streuproblems einen wichtigen Baustein für die optische Durchflusszytometrie, um aus gemessenen Streulichtverteilungen Rückschlüsse auf die zu charakterisierenden Blutzellen ziehen zu können. In herkömmlichen Verfahren werden meist Detektoren verwendet, die die Lichtintensität um einige wenige Richtungen aufintegrieren. Gemessen wird also z.B. Vorwärts- und Seitwärtsstreuung. Um Zelleigenschaften wie Volumen Volumina und/oder Geometrieparameter verlässlich und mit geringer Unsicherheit zu bestimmen, ist aber mehr Information und somit raumwinkelaufgelöste Streulichtmessungen erforderlich. Existierende Referenzmessfahren zur Bestimmung von Zellvolumina sollen dadurch erweitert werden.

Nach oben

Modellierung

Grundlage für die mathematische Modellierung der Lichtstreuung an Blutpartikeln sind die Maxwellgleichungen. Im Falle zeitharmonischer elektromagnetischer Felder (monochromatisches Licht) und homogener Medien (Brechungsindex $n$) vereinfachen sich diese zur Vektor-Helmholtz-Gleichung \[\Delta {\bf E} + k_0^2\,n^2{\bf E} = 0\] für das elektrische Feld ${\bf E}$ bzw. analog für das magnetische Feld ${\bf H}$. Die Lösung wird in der Form \[ {\bf E} = {\bf E}^i + {\bf E}^s \]gesucht, wobei ${\bf E}^i$ die einfallende Welle und ${\bf E}^s$ die gestreute Welle ist. Die Zelle wird dabei im einfachsten Fall als Gebiet homogenen Brechungsindex' angenommen. Eine analytische Lösung existiert nur für Spezialfälle wie etwa die Streuung einer ebenen Welle an einer homogenen Kugel (Mie-Streuung) oder im Grenzfall kleiner Streuer (Rayleigh-Streuung). Für allgemeinere Fälle, bei denen die streuenden Partikel bzw. Blutzellen eine von der Kugel abweichende Form besitzen, existieren verschiedene numerische Verfahren wie z.B. die diskrete Dipol-Approximation (DDA). Hierbei wird das Volumen des Streuers diskretisiert und die Subvolumina durch Dipolmomente beschrieben. Das Resultat ist ein lineares Gleichungssystem für gekoppelte diskrete Dipole, das dann numerisch gelöst wird. Als Ergebnis wird die Amplituden- bzw. die Müllermatrix des Streulichtfeldes für den interessierenden Raumwinkelbereich berechnet, und zwar in Abhängigkeit vom einfallenden Wellenfeld und vom Brechnungsindex (Kontrast) der Zelle. Für die DDA existieren leistungsfähige Implementierungen. Um sie anwenden zu können, müssen die angenommenen Formen der Blutzellen geeignet modelliert werden. Die bikonkave Plättchenform ist hierfür ein aussichtsreicher Kandidat, um realen Verhältnissen möglichst nahe zu kommen. Allerdings können Verformungen durch hydrodynamische Kräfte, thermische Fluktuationen oder pathologische Zellformen (z.B. Sichelzellen) diese Geometriemodellierung noch aufwendiger machen. Offene Fragen bestehen auch noch bei der Wellenlängenabhängigkeit des Brechungsindex’ der roten Blutzellen. Es existieren verschiedene, teils widersprüchliche Literaturwerte. Außerdem hängt der Brechungsindex von der Hämoglobinkonzentration innerhalb der einzelnen Erythrozyten ab. Deshalb müssen auch Messungen des spektralen Verlaufs der Extinktion von Erythroztensuspensionen ausgewertet werden, um verlässliche und möglichst genaue Werte für den Verlauf des Brechnungsindex der roten Blutzellen in Abhängigkeit der Wellenlänge zu bekommen.

Nach oben

Simulation - das virtuelle Experiment

Abbildung 2: Vereinfachtes bikonkav-scheibenartiges Formmodell für Erythrozyten. Einheiten skaliert.

Ein leistungsfähiges Vorwärtsmodell zur Simulation der Messsituation der optischen Durchflusszytometrie ist ein starkes Instrument zur Verbesserung bzw. Weiterentwicklung der Messverfahren. Die Empfindlichkeit der Streusignale auf Variation verschiedener Modellparameter kann mit Simulationsrechnungen umfassend untersucht werden. Auch statistische Einflussgrößen wie z.B. zufällige Schwankungen der einzelnen Zellgeometrien um einen Mittelwert, Rauigkeit der Zelloberflächen, Inhomogenitäten des Brechnungsindex im Zellinneren, können in ihren Auswirkungen auf die zu erwartenden Streulichtverteilungen quantifiziert werden. Abb. 3 und Abb. 4 zeigen Intensitätsverteilungen, die mit Hilfe der Methode der diskreten Dipol-Approximation (DDA) für das Formmodell  aus Abb. 2 berechntet wurden.

Abbildung 3: Mit DDA simulierte Intensitätsverteilungen um die Vorwärtsrichtung für ein bibonkav- scheibenartiges Erythrozytenmodell. Lichteinfall entlang z-Achse, aus der Bildebene heraus. Von links nach rechts Rotation um die $x$-Achse: 0° (Scheibe quer zum Lichtstrahl), 46°, 90° (Scheibe schmalseitig zum Lichtstrahl). Zelldurchmesser 6,7 µm, Wellenlänge 488 nm, relativer Brechungsindex 1,06+0,0011i.

Nach oben

Inverses Problem - Rückschluss auf Form und Volumen

Um aus den gemessenen Streudaten im Rückschluss Informationen z.B. über die Form der Zellen und ihr Volumen zu bekommen, ist die Lösung des inversen Streuproblems notwendig: Wie muss ein Streuer beschaffen sein, um eine gegebene Fernfeld-Lichtverteilung (Abb. 3 und Abb. 4) zu erzeugen? Dieses inverse Problem wird als Optimierungsproblem gelöst, d.h. es geht darum, mittels Variation denjenigen Parametersatz (Geometrieparameter, Materialeigenschaften) des mathematischen Modells der Zelle zu finden, dessen zugehörige Streulichtverteilung die gemessene am besten reproduziert. Im Allgemeinen ist dieses inverse Problem schlecht gestellt, so dass man ohne Regularisierung, etwa durch Einschränkungen für die zugelassenen Formmodelle, ihre Parameterbereiche bzw. ihre Brechungsindex-Verteilungen nicht zum Ziel kommen wird. Die Eignung verschiedener Optimierungsansätze wie z.B. Least-Squares, Maximum-Likelihood oder Bayes’sche Verfahren kann mit mit unterschiedlich verrauschten Simulationsdaten sehr gut untersucht werden.

Abbildung 4: Mit DDA berechnete laterale Lichtintensitätsverteilung eines bikonkaven roten Blutköperchens für zwei verscheidene Orientierungen relativ zum einfallenden Licht; Wellenlänge 488 nm; relativer Brechungindex 1,06.

Nach oben

Publikationen