Logo PTB

In vivo MRI

Research group 8.12

IMAGEN


The EU study IMAGEN investigates the risk behavior of young people. In the initial step, a total of 2500 young people (all of them 14 years of age) were questioned, tested and measured for approx. 10 hours – partly with the involvement of their parents – at eight European centers.

PTB hereby took on the MRI measurements of the Berlin Center (Charité). This gives us an insight into the difficulties which are encountered in a real study with MR scanners of four different manufacturers. Here, the Working Group contributes its competences in the field of standardization and quality control. The comparability of the quantities obtained from the MR images is shown in the left diagram using the example of the brain cortex thickness of a volunteer. The volunteer was measured twice and shows, in the eight centers, different cortex thicknesses in the brain areas V1 and BA3b. PTB- developed artifacts (called "phantoms") with tested geometry as shown in the picture on the right, are used in order to characterize in detail the MR scanner involved in the study.

As the development of the behavior of these young people over time is of special interest, the study was repeated after four years on the same test persons, who were now approx. 18 years old. A new determination of the measurement parameters is planned for the years between 2016 and 2018, when the test persons will be 21 years old.

Additional information: Opens external link in new windowhere.

Vergleichbarkeit der aus den MR-Bilder gewonnen Messgrößen am Beispiel der Gehirn-Kortex-Dicke eines Probanden Prüfkörper mit geprüfter Geometrie

Contact

Address

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
Abbestraße 2–12
10587 Berlin

Logo PTB

In-vivo-MRT

Arbeitsgruppe 8.12

IMAGEN


Die EU-Studie IMAGEN untersucht das Risikoverhalten von Jugendlichen. Dazu wurden in acht europäischen Zentren insgesamt 2500 anfänglich 14-jährige Jugendliche jeweils ca. 10 Stunden, teilweise unter Einbeziehung der Eltern, befragt, getestet und gemessen.

Die PTB hat hierbei die MRT-Messungen des Berliner Zentrums (Charité) übernommen. Dies gibt uns Einblick in die Schwierigkeiten einer realen Studie mit MR-Scannern von vier unterschiedlichen Herstellern. Die Arbeitsgruppe bringt hier ihre Kompetenzen im Bereich Standardisierung und Qualitätskontrolle ein. Die Vergleichbarkeit der aus den MR-Bilder gewonnen Messgrößen ist links unten am Beispiel der Gehirn-Kortex-Dicke eines Probanden gezeigt. Er wurde zweimal gemessen und zeigt in den acht Zentren unterschiedliche Kortexdicken in den Gehirnarealen V1 und BA3b. An der PTB entwickelte Prüfkörper (Phantome genannt) mit geprüfter Geometrie, wie im Bild rechts, werden genutzt, um die an der Studie beteiligten MR-Scanner eingehend zu charakterisieren.

Da die zeitliche Entwicklung des Verhaltens der Jugendlichen von besonderem Interesse ist, wurde die Studie nach vier Jahren, an den nun ca. 18 Jahre alten Probanden wiederholt. Eine erneute Erfassung der Messparameter soll in den Jahren 2016-2018, im Alter von 21 Jahren, erfolgen.

Weitere Information: Opens external link in new windowhier.


Kontakt

Anschrift

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
Abbestraße 2–12
10587 Berlin