Logo PTB

MR technology

Research group 8.11

Hyperpolarized 129Xe in Molecular Imaging

Molecular imaging aims to image physiological processes at the molecular level or at the cellular level by detecting directly the substances involved (biomarkers) or their mutual interactions. This requires measurement technologys of extraordinary sensitivity and accuracy as can be achieved in nuclear-magnetic resonance only with the aid of hyperpolarization procedures, for example on the spin 1/2 isotop 129Xe. In conjunction with carrier substances used as contrast agents, hyperpolarized 129Xe enables proof of biomarkers at concentration levels of 1 nanomolar or less in-vitro. The further development of molecular imaging with hyperpolarized 129Xe requires a metrological characterization of measurement procedures in order to develop and establish efficient and quantitative technology. Potential applications of xenon-based contrast agents are in the areas of the in-vitro diagnostics, for example in quantitative biomarker profiling for personalized medicine, and of medical imaging, for example for the early diagnosis of diseases or for the control of therapeutic treatment.

To top

129Xe Biosensors for Immunology

The presentation of exogenous antigens by the main histocompatibility complex II (MHC II) is the first step in the acquired immune response of the organism to foreign matter. To furnish exemplary proof of the antigen bonding by MHC II, the peptide fragment hemagglutinin (HA) of the influenza virus was connected to a molecular cage which is accessible to xenon (cryptophane-A) by a linker (composed of PEG and a tetrameric peptide (GEEG) connected upstream). When the biosensor binds to MHC II via HA, the signal of the hyperpolarized 129Xe, which is encapsulated by this biosensor via cryptophane-A, experiences a position displacement. This spectroscopic proof of the antigen:MHC complex formation can be performed with molecular concentrations in the range of micromolar.

 

 

Scheme of the biosensor bonding to MHC II. Free (blue) or bonded sensors (red) can be discriminated in-vitro in the xenon-NMR spectrum with the aid of differing signals.

Host/guest kinetics of hyperpolarized 129Xe with carrier substances

The container-shaped molecule cryptophane-A has proved its worth as a carrier substance for hyperpolarized 129Xe. It is able to enclose a single xenon atom for some milliseconds and to bond it via functional groups to specific target substances (targeting). In a great number of studies, such biosensors have been used for biomarker or cell recognition; an example can be found here. Due to the reversible binding, the method of saturation transfer between free and enclosed xenon can be applied and thus the limit for furnishing proof of a target substance can – in dependence of the binding kinetics – again be shifted downwards by up to several orders of magnitude. The procedure is essential for performing measurements in the concentration range of biomarkers in native systems (cells, organisms) which are in the nanomolar range and less.

The kinetics of the reversible bonding of hyperpolarized 129Xe to cryptophane-A has recently been cleared up. In an aqueous solution, a degenerated exchange between free and cryptophane-A (or, biosensor-) bound hyperpolarized 129Xe and hyperpolarized 129Xe takes place in addition to a simple dissociative process.

  

Reaction scheme for degenerated exchange: Xenon atoms change the bonding state without an intermittently free cryptophane-A molecule.

For the qualitative and quantitative analysis of bonding kinetics, new measurement procedures have been developed which make use of the magnetization or saturation transfer between free and biosensor-bound hyperpolarized 129Xe as a function of its concentrations.

  

The rate for saturation or magnetization transfer in the cryptophane-A-xenon host-guest system is linearly dependent on the xenon concentration. The kinetic rates for dissociative and degenerated exchange can be quantified from ordinate intercept and slope, respectively.

Cooperation partners

Prof. Dr. C. Freund, Freie Universität Berlin (FUB)

Dr. L. Schröder,  Leibniz-Institut für Molekulare Pharmakologie im Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V. (FMP)

Dr. T. Riemer, Institut für Medizinische Physik und Biophysik, Medizinische Fakultät der Univ. Leipzig

To top

Selected references

Schlundt, et al.
A Xenon-129 Biosensor for Monitoring MHC–Peptide Interactions
Chem. Int. Ed. 48, 4142 (2009).
Opens external link in new windowDOI: 10.1002/anie.200806149

S. Korchak, W. Kilian, L. Mitschang
Configuration and Performance of a Mobile 129Xe Polarizer
Appl. Magn. Reson. 44, 65 (2013).
Opens external link in new windowDOI: 10.1007/s00723-012-0425-7

S. Korchak, W. Kilian, L. Mitschang
Degeneracy in cryptophane–xenon complex formation in aqueous solution
Chem. Comm. 51, 1721 (2015).
Opens external link in new windowDOI: 10.1039/C4CC08601E

S. Korchak, W. Kilian, L. Mitschang
Kinetics of Cryptophane-Xenon Complex Formation
Opens external link in new windowProc. Int. Symp. XeMAT 2015, 68 (2015).

S. Korchak, W. Kilian, L. Schröder, L. Mitschang
Design and comparison of exchange spectroscopy approaches to cryptophane–xenon host–guest kinetics
J. Magn. Reson. 265, 139 (2016).
Opens external link in new windowDOI: 10.1016/j.jmr.2016.02.005

To top

Contact

Address

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
Abbestraße 2–12
10587 Berlin

Logo PTB

MR-Messtechnik

Arbeitsgruppe 8.11

Hyperpolarisiertes 129Xe in der molekularen Bildgebung


Die molekulare Bildgebung hat zum Ziel physiologische Prozesse auf molekularer oder zellulärer Ebene durch direkte Messung der beteiligten Substanzen (Biomarker) oder ihrer Wechselwirkungen abzubilden. Das erfordert Messungen von außergewöhnlicher Empfindlichkeit und Genauigkeit wie sie in der kernmagnetischen Resonanz nur mit Hilfe von Verfahren der Hyperpolarisation erreicht werden können, beispielsweise am Isotop 129Xe mit Kernspin 1/2. Hyperpolarisiertes 129Xe ermöglicht in Verbindung mit Trägersubstanzen als Kontrastmittel den hochsensitiven Nachweis von Biomarkern in Konzentrationen von 1 Nanomolar oder weniger in-vitro. Für die Weiterentwicklung der molekularen Bildgebung mit hyperpolarisiertem 129Xe ist eine metrologische Charakterisierung notwendig, um effiziente und quantitative Messverfahren entwickeln und etablieren zu können. Potentielle Anwendungen Xenon-basierter Kontrastmittel liegen in Bereichen der in-vitro Diagnostik, beispielsweise in quantitativen Biomarkerprofilen für die personalisierte Medizin, und der medizinischen Bildgebung, beispielsweise für die Früherkennung von Erkrankungen oder die Darstellung des therapeutischen Verlaufs.

Nach oben

129Xe-Biosensoren für die Immunologie

Die Präsentation körperfremder Antigene durch den Molekülkomplex MHC II (Haupthistokompatibilitätskomplex II) ist der erste Schritt für die spezifische Immunreaktion des Organismus auf einen Fremdkörper. Zum exemplarischen Nachweis der Antigenbindung durch MHC II ist das Peptidfragment Hemagglutinin (HA) des Influenza-Virus mit einem für Xenon zugänglichen Molekülkäfig (Cryptophan-A) durch einen Linker (aus PEG und vorgeschaltetem Viererpeptid GEEG) verbunden worden. Das Signal des an diesen Biosensor gebundenen hyperpolarisierten 129Xe erfährt eine Positionsverschiebung durch die Bindung an MHC II, was einen spektroskopischen Nachweis der Antigen:MHC-Komplexbildung im Bereich mikromolarer Konzentrationen ermöglicht.

 

 

Schema der Biosensorbindung an MHC II. Freier (blau) oder gebundener Sensor (rot) können in-vitro anhand unterschiedlicher Signale im Xenon-NMR-Spektrum diskriminiert werden

Kinetik der Wirt-Gast Beziehung von hyperpolarisiertem 129Xe mit Trägersubstanzen

Das Container-förmige Molekül Cryptophan-A hat sich als Trägersubstanz für hyperpolarisiertes 129Xe bewährt. Sie kann ein einzelnes Xenonatom für einige Millisekunden einschließen und über funktionelle Gruppen an spezifische Zielsubstanzen binden (targeting). Solche Biosensoren sind in einer Vielzahl von Studien zur Biomarker- oder Zellerkennung eingesetzt worden, ein Beispiel findet sich oben. Aufgrund der reversiblen Bindung kann die Methode des Sättigungstransfers zwischen freiem und eingeschlossenem Xenon angewandt werden und somit – abhängig von der Bindungskinetik – die Grenze zum Nachweis einer Zielsubstanz nochmalig um bis zu mehreren Größenordnungen nach unter verschoben werden. Die Vorgehensweise ist essentiell, um Messungen im Konzentrationsbereich nativer Systeme (Zellen, Organismen) im Bereich Nanomolar und weniger durchführen zu können.

Die Kinetik der reversiblen Bindung von hyperpolarisiertem 129Xe an Cryptophan-A ist kürzlich aufgeklärt worden. In wässriger Lösung findet neben einem einfachen dissoziativen auch ein degenerierter Austausch von freiem und an Cryptophan-A gebundenem hyperpolarisiertem 129Xe statt.

  

Reaktionsschema zum degenerierten Austausch: Xenonatome wechseln den Bindungszustand ohne ein zwischenzeitlich freies Cryptophan-A Molekül.

Zur qualitativen und quantitativen Analyse der Bindungskinetik sind neue Messverfahren entwickelt worden, die Magnetisierungs- oder Sättigungstransfer zwischen ungebundenem und an den Biosensor gebundenem hyperpolarisierten 129Xe in Anhängigkeit von seiner Konzentrationen ausnutzen.

  

Die Rate für Sättigungs- oder Magnetisierungstransfer im Cryptophan-A-Xenon Wirt-Gast-System ist linear abhängig von der Xenon Konzentration. Aus Achsenabschnitt und Steigung können die kinetischen Raten für dissoziativen und degenerierten Austausch quantifiziert werden.

Kooperationspartner

Prof. Dr. C. Freund, Freie Universität Berlin (FUB)

Dr. L. Schröder,  Leibniz-Institut für Molekulare Pharmakologie im Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V. (FMP)

Dr. T. Riemer, Institut für Medizinische Physik und Biophysik, Medizinische Fakultät der Univ. Leipzig

Nach oben

Ausgewählte Literatur

Schlundt, et al.
A Xenon-129 Biosensor for Monitoring MHC–Peptide Interactions
Chem. Int. Ed. 48, 4142 (2009).
Opens external link in new windowDOI: 10.1002/anie.200806149

S. Korchak, W. Kilian, L. Mitschang
Configuration and Performance of a Mobile 129Xe Polarizer
Appl. Magn. Reson. 44, 65 (2013).
Opens external link in new windowDOI: 10.1007/s00723-012-0425-7

S. Korchak, W. Kilian, L. Mitschang
Degeneracy in cryptophane–xenon complex formation in aqueous solution
Chem. Comm. 51, 1721 (2015).
Opens external link in new windowDOI: 10.1039/C4CC08601E

S. Korchak, W. Kilian, L. Mitschang
Kinetics of Cryptophane-Xenon Complex Formation
Opens external link in new windowProc. Int. Symp. XeMAT 2015, 68 (2015).

S. Korchak, W. Kilian, L. Schröder, L. Mitschang
Design and comparison of exchange spectroscopy approaches to cryptophane–xenon host–guest kinetics
J. Magn. Reson. 265, 139 (2016).
Opens external link in new windowDOI: 10.1016/j.jmr.2016.02.005

Nach oben

Kontakt

Anschrift

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
Abbestraße 2–12
10587 Berlin