Logo PTB

Metrology with Synchrotron Radiation

The Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) is the national metrology institute and the highest authority when it comes to correct and reliable measurements in Germany. Since 1982, PTB has also been using synchrotron radiation for metrological tasks. The more than 70 employees of the departments 7.1 Radiometry with Synchrotron Radiation and 7.2 X-ray Metrology with Synchrotron Radiation maintain and use for this purpose a Laboratory at the storage ring BESSY II of the Opens external link in new windowHelmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (HZB) as well as PTB's own Metrology Light Source (MLS) in Berlin-Adlershof.

The main focus of the work is on the following areas:

  •  Fundamentals of metrology, radiometry
  •  Metrology for industry, EUV lithography
  •  Research and development for optical technologies, space instruments
  •  Materials metrology, nanometrology

News

A nanospectroscopic device platform has been developed for the thermoelectric detection of molecular fingerprints of soft materials at nanometer scale spatial resolution. The technique makes use of a locally generated thermal gradient converted into a thermoelectric voltage that is read out in the underlying device. The thermal gradient is generated by an illuminated atomic force microscope tip...

[ more ]

The metrological support of the German and European industries in the development of EUV lithography for semiconductor manufacturing is a major activity of PTB at its Berlin-Adlershof site. The close cooperation with ZEISS since 1998 forms a significant basis for the continuous development of PTB's metrological capabilities in the extreme ultraviolet spectral range (EUV). Based on the use of...

[ more ]

Perovskite solar cells (CsPbI3-xBrx) with a low bandgap are an important ingredient in the development of highly efficient tandem solar cells, which layer a perovskite solar cell on top of a silicon solar cell to combine the light harvesting capabilities of both and reach high overall efficiency. The efficiency is vastly influenced by the crystal structure - phase composition and crystal...

[ more ]
More news

Logo PTB

Metrologie mit Synchrotronstrahlung

Die Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) ist das nationale Metrologie-Institut und oberste Instanz bei allen Fragen des richtigen und zuverlässigen Messens in Deutschland. Seit 1982 verwendet die PTB auch Synchrotronstrahlung für metrologische Aufgaben. Die über 70 Beschäftigten der Fachbereiche 7.1 Radiometrie mit Synchrotronstrahlung und 7.2 Röntgenmesstechnik mit Synchrotronstrahlung unterhalten und nutzen dazu in Berlin-Adlershof ein Laboratorium am Speicherring BESSY II des Opens external link in new windowHelmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (HZB) sowie die PTB-eigene Metrology Light Source (MLS).

Die Schwerpunkte der Arbeiten liegen in den Bereichen:

  •  Grundlagen der Metrologie/Radiometrie
  •  Metrologie für die Industrie/EUV-Lithographie
  •  Forschung und Entwicklung für optische Technologien/Weltrauminstrumente
  •  Materialmetrologie/Nanometrologie

Nachrichten

Zur thermoelektrischen Detektion molekularer Fingerabdrücke weicher Materialien wurde eine nanospektroskopische Geräteplattform entwickelt, mit der eine räumliche Auflösung im Nanometerbereich erreicht wurde. Die Technik verwendet einen lokal erzeugten Wärmegradienten, der in eine thermoelektrische Spannung umgewandelt und ausgelesen wird. Der Wärmegradient wird durch eine beleuchtete...

[ mehr ]

Ein wichtiges Arbeitsfeld der PTB an ihrem Standort Berlin-Adlershof ist die messtechnische Unterstützung der deutschen und europäischen Industrie bei der Entwicklung der EUV-Lithographie für die Halbleiterfertigung. Die seit 1998 bestehende enge Zusammenarbeit mit ZEISS bildet eine wichtige Grundlage für die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung der messtechnischen Fähigkeiten der PTB im...

[ mehr ]

Perovskit-Solarzellen (mit der chemischen Struktur CsPbI3-xBrx) mit kleiner Energie-Bandlücke sind ein wichtiger Baustein für die Entwicklung hocheffizienter Tandem-Solarzellen, bei denen eine Perovskit-Solarzelle auf einer Silizium-Solarzelle aufgebracht ist, um die Lichtausbeute zu optimieren und höchste Gesamteffizienz zu erreichen. Die Effizienz ist wesentlich von der Kristallstruktur...

[ mehr ]
Weitere Nachrichten