Logo PTB

Terahertz Radiometry

Working Group 7.34

Profile

Poster WG 7.34

The central task of the working group is the quantitative measurement of the radiant power of electromagnetic radiation in the far infrared spectral range, which is also known as the terahertz range. Being unique in the world, the service of calibrating the spectral responsivity of THz detectors traceable to the International System of Units (SI) actually covers the frequency range from 700 GHz to 5 THz.

The lowest possible uncertainties are achieved at a measurement facility with a far infrared molecular gas laser. It is optically pumped by a frequency-stabilized CO2-laser and produces tunable monochromatic radiation of rotational transitions of the applied molecular gas. Terahertz radiometry helps to bridge the metrological gap between the electronic power measurement at ultra-high frequencies and radiometry at very long wavelengths. For instance, it is important for novel noncontact techniques of nondestructive material testing or new technologies of homeland security (e.g. body and mail scanners).

To top

Research/Development

  • Design, development and characterization of novel spectrally flat THz detectors used as radiometric reference detectors for terahertz time-domain spectrometers (THz-TDS) in cooperation with industry partners
  • Realizing the spectral responsivity at a frequency range extended below 700 GHz
  • Comparing the wave-guide-based power measurement technique at high frequencies Opens internal link in current window(WG 2.22) with the radiant THz power measurement
  • Characterization of a new measurement facility for determining optical properties by reflection and transmission measurements in the spectral range spanning from 0.1 THz to 1 THz by means of a fiber-based time-domain spectroscopy (THz-TDS) system
  • Cooperation with a industry partner to develop and validate a reference material for characterizing reflection and transmission measurements by means of THz-TDS systems
  • Compiling VDI/VDE-GMA directives of terahertz systems by the German technical committee FA 8.17 Terahertz Systems

To top

Services

 Calibration and measurements capabilities in WG 7.34:

  • Measuring the spectral responsivity with respect to radiant power of detectors in the frequency range spanning from 1 THz to 5 THz
  • Measuring the spatial uniformity and the power variation (linearity) of the spectral responsivity of THz detectors

 

To top

Information

To top

Logo PTB

Terahertzradiometrie

Arbeitsgruppe 7.34

Profil

Poster AG 7.34

Die Kernaufgabe der Arbeitsgruppe ist die quantitative Messung der Leistung elektromagnetischer Strahlung im fernen infraroten Spektralbereich, der auch als Terahertz-Spektralbereich bezeichnet wird. Die weltweit einzigartige Dienstleistung, die auf das Internationale Einheitensystem (SI) rückführbare Kalibrierungen von THz-Detektoren bezüglich ihrer spektralen Empfindlichkeit erlaubt, deckt aktuell den Frequenzbereich von 700 GHz bis 5 THz ab.

 

Kleinstmögliche Unsicherheiten werden in einem Messplatz mit einem ferninfraroten Molekülgaslaser erreicht, der durch einen frequenzstabilisierten CO2-Laser optisch gepumpt wird und einstellbare monochromatische Linienstrahlung bei Rotationsübergängen des verwendeten Molekülgases erzeugt. Die THz-Radiometrie leistet damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Schließung der metrologischen Lücke zwischen der elektronischen Leistungsmessung bei höchsten Frequenzen und der Radiometrie bei sehr langen Infrarotwellenlängen. Sie ist zum Beispiel wichtig für neuartige kontaktfreie Verfahren zur zerstörungsfreien Werkstoffprüfung und neuen Methoden in der Sicherheitstechnik.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

·        

  • Entwicklung neuartiger, spektral flacher THz-Detektoren als radiometrische Referenzdetektoren für Terahertz-Zeitbereichsspektrometer (THz-TDS) sowie deren Charakterisierung und Modellierung in Kooperation mit Industriepartnern
  • Erweiterung des Frequenzbereiches der Darstellung der spektralen Empfindlichkeit unter 700 GHz
  • Vergleich von Hohlleiter gebundener Leistungsmessung in der Opens internal link in current windowHochfrequenzmesstechnik (AG 2.22) und der THz-Strahlungsleistungsmessung
  • Charakterisierung eines neu aufgebauten Messplatzes zur Bestimmung optischer Materialeigenschaften im Spektralbereich von 0,1 THz bis 1 THz durch Reflektions- und Transmissionsmessungen mit einem fasergekoppelten Zeitbereichsspektrometer (THz-TDS)
  • Entwicklung und Validierung eines Referenzmaterials zur Charakterisierung der Messungen von Reflektion und Transmission mit THz-TDS Systemen in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Industriepartner
  • Erstellung von technischen Richtlinien im Fachausschuss VDI/VDE-GMA FA 8.17 "Terahertz-Systeme"

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Die folgenden Dienstleistungen gemäß Opens external link in new windowQM-Handbuch der Abt. 7 werden in AG 7.34 durchgeführt:

  • Messung der spektralen Empfindlichkeit bezüglich Strahlungsleistung von Strahlungsdetektoren im Frequenzbereich von 1 THz bis THz
  • Messung der Ortsabhängigkeit (Homogenität) und der Leistungsabhängigkeit (Linearität) der spektralen Empfindlichkeit von THz-Detektoren

Nach oben

Informationen

Nach oben