Logo PTB

Synchrotron Radiation Sources

Working Group 7.22

Profile

The group is responsible for the operation and usage of the electron storage rings BESSY II and Metrology Light Source (MLS) as national radiometric source standards in a wide spectral range from the near infra red up to the X-ray range. The group operates all equipment that is necessary for the determination of all parameters need for the calculation of the spectral radiant intensity of the synchrotron radiation with low uncertainty.

At both electron storage rings a beamline for the usage of the un-dispersed, calculable synchrotron radiation is available. Here, the radiation from the respective electron storage ring is used for the characterization of energy-dispersive detectors or wavelength-dispersive spectrometers, e.g. for space missions. For the latter task a large vacuum vessel is available that allows to accommodate an entire space spectrograph.

The calibration of radiation sources in terms of spectral radiant intensity and spectral radiance is performed traceable to the respective national standards BESSY II and MLS. Therefore, both at BESSY II and at the MLS facilities for the calibration of radiation sources are available, at BESSY II for the spectral range 35 nm to 400 nm and at the MLS for the extended spectral range from 7 nm to 400 nm.

Moreover, the group is responsible for the operation of the undulator U125 at the MLS and the undulator U49 at BESSY II and the usage of the respective white light beamlines. The group also deploys a 7 T wavelength shifter as a source of calculable radiation in the hard x-ray spectral range.

To top

Research/Development

  • Source-based characterization of space instruments, spectrometers and energy-dispersive detectors.
  • Development and spectral characterization of transfer standard sources.
  • Characterization of radiation sources in the spectral range from 7 nm to 400 nm.
  • Usage of the flexible operation mode of the electron storage rings, especially of the MLS, in terms of reduced electron beam current or electron beam energy for research.

To top

Services

Calibration of radiation sources in terms of spectral radiant intensity or radiance traceable to the national standards BESSY II and MLS in the spectral range from 115 nm to 400 nm, especially of deuterium lamps.

Calibration of energy-dispersive or wavelength dispersive instruments with direct, calculable synchrotron radiation

Provision of the values of the storage ring parameters with low uncertainty for other PTB groups engaged at the MLS or BESSY II, especially of the electron beam current.

To top

Information

To top

Logo PTB

Synchrotronstrahlungsquellen

Arbeitsgruppe 7.22

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe ist verantwortlich für den Betrieb und die Nutzung der Speicherringe BESSY II und Metrology Light Source (MLS) als nationale Normale in einem weiten Spektralbereich, der sich vom nahen Infrarot bis in den Röntgenbereich erstreckt. Sie betreibt dazu die nötigen Messeinrichtungen zur genauen Bestimmung der Speicherringparameter, die zur Berechnung der spektralen Strahlstärke der Synchrotronstrahlung benötigt werden.

An beiden Speicherringen steht je ein Strahlrohr zur Nutzung der direkten, berechenbaren Synchrotronstrahlung zur Verfügung. Die berechenbare Strahlung des jeweiligen Elektronenspeicherrings wird dort genutzt zur Charakterisierung von energiedispersiven Detektoren oder wellenlängendispersiven Spektrometern, z.B. für Weltraummissionen. Dazu steht ein großer Vakuumtank zur Verfügung, der die Aufnahme von kompletten Weltraumspektrographen erlaubt.

Die Kalibrierung von Strahlungsquellen bezüglich ihrer spektralen Strahldichte und -stärke erfolgt rückführbar auf die nationalen Normale BESSY II und MLS. Derzeit wird an BESSY II ein Messplatz für Kalibrierungen im Spektralbereich von 35 nm bis 400 nm betrieben und an der MLS ein Messplatz für den erweiterten Spektralbereich von 7 nm bis 400 nm.

Die Arbeitsgruppe ist auch für den Betrieb der Undulatoren U125 an der MLS und U49 bei BESSY II und die Nutzung der zugehörigen Strahlrohre für undispergierte Undulatorstrahlung zuständig, sowie für den Betrieb eines 7 T-Wellenlängenschiebers als berechenbare Quelle bis in den harten Röntgenbereich

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

  • Quellengestützte Charakterisierung von Weltrauminstrumenten, Spektrometern und energiedispersiven Detektoren
  • Entwicklung von Transferstrahlungsquellen und deren spektrale Charakterisierung
  • Charakterisierung von Strahlungsquellen im Spektralbereich 7 nm bis 400 nm
  • Nutzung der variable Betriebsmodi der Speicherringe, insbesondere der MLS, den Elektronenstrom und die Elektronenenergie betreffend für Forschungsprojekte

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Kalibrierung von Strahlungsquellen in den radiometrischen Einheiten spektrale Strahlstärke und – dichte, rückführbar auf die nationalen Normale BESSY II und MLS im Spektralbereich 115 nm bis 400 nm.

Kalibrierung von energie-dispersiven Detektoren oder wellenlängendispersiven Instrumenten mit der direkten, berechenbaren Synchrotronstrahlung.

Bereitstellung der aktuellen Werte der Speicherringparameter, insbesondere des Elektronenstroms, für andere PTB-Arbeitsgruppen an den Speicherringen BESSY II und MLS.

Nach oben

Informationen

Nach oben