Logo PTB

7.14 EUV-Nanometrology

Profile

The EUV-Nanometrology group is working on the development of new measurement techniques in the field of synchrotron radiation for the characterization of nanostructured surfaces. One focus is the dimensional reconstruction of optical components for semiconductor lithography. For this purpose, different experimental techniques in the wavelength range from 0.2 nm to 20 nm are combined at PTB's own beamlines at BESSY II and MLS. Besides light scattering and reflection (GISAXS, EUV-SAS, Scatterometry, XRR), secondary effects such as fluorescence radiation are more and more included (GIXRF, XRF) in order to be able to investigate the constantly more complex nanostructures in an element sensitive way.

To top

Research/Development

    • Characterization of nanostructured surfaces by light scattering and fluorescence excitation
    • Dimensional reconstruction of 2D and 3D nanostructures
    • Statistical validation of uncertainties by Bayesian statistical methods
    • Investigation of process-related roughness and its influence on the reconstruction
    • Determination of optical constants in the soft X-ray range
    • Further development of theoretical models for scattering and optimization methods

    To top

    Services

    EUVR, EUV-SAS

    Similar to X-ray reflectometry, the reflectivities of layer stacks are investigated angle- and energy-dependent in the EUV spectral range. Reflectometry is the main method for "At-Wavelength-investigation" of components for EUV lithography at PTB..

    GISAXS

    GISAXS is a modern non-destructive measurement technique for the investigation of nanostructured surfaces. In a GISAXS experiment a nanostructured sample is illuminated with X-rays under grazing incidence and the angular distribution of the reflected and scattered X-ray photons is determined...

     

    GIXRF

    In X-ray fluorescence analysis, electrons from inner atomic shells are excited by incident X-ray photons. The subsequent decay of these excited states leads to the emission of element-specific X-ray fluorescence radiation...


     

     

    Numerical simulations

    For the simulation of electromagnetic waves and the interaction with nanostructured surfaces...

     

     

    To top

    Information

    To top

Logo PTB

EUV-Nanometrologie

Arbeitsgruppe 7.14

Profil

Die EUV-Nanometrologie Arbeitsgruppe beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung neuer Messtechniken im Bereich der Synchrotronstrahlung für die Charakterisierung nanostrukturierter Oberflächen. Ein Schwerpunkt bildet dabei die dimensionelle Rekonstruktion optischer Komponenten für die Halbleiterlithographie. Hierfür werden im Wellenlängenbereich von 0.2 nm bis 20 nm verschiedene experimentelle Techniken an den PTB eigenen Strahlrohren bei BESSY II und der MLS miteinander kombiniert. Neben Lichtstreuung und Reflektion (GISAXS, EUV-SAS, Scatterometry, XRR) werden zunehmend auch Sekundäreffekte wie Fluoreszenz Strahlung mit einbezogen (GIXRF, XRF) um die immer komplexer aufgebauten Nanostrukturen elementsensitiv untersuchen zu können. 

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

    • Charakterisierung nanostrukturierter Oberflächen mittels Lichtstreuung und Fluoreszenzanregung
    • Dimensionelle Rekonstruktion von 2D und 3D Nanostrukturen
    • Statistische Validierung von Unsicherheiten durch bayessche Statistikverfahren
    • Untersuchung von prozessbedingten Rauhigkeiten und ihrem Einfluss auf die Rekonstruktion
    • Bestimmung von optischen Konstanten im weichen Röntgenbereich
    • Weiterentwicklung von theoretischen Modellen für die Streuung und der Optimierungsverfahren

    Nach oben

    Dienstleistungen

    EUVR, EUV-SAS

    Bei der EUVR werden ähnlich wie bei der Röntgenreflektometrie die Reflektivitäten von Schichtstapeln Winkel- und Energieabhängig untersucht. Die Reflektometrie ist die Hauptmethode zur „At-Wavelength-Untersuchung“ von Komponenten für die EUV Lithographie bei der PTB...

     

    GISAXS

    GISAXS ist eine moderne zerstörungsfreie Messtechnik zur Untersuchung von nanostrukturierten Oberflächen. In einem GISAXS Experiment wird eine nanostrukturierte Probe mit Röntgenstrahlen unter streifendem Einfall beleuchtet und die Winkelverteilung der reflektierten und gestreuten Röntgenphotonen bestimmt...

     

     

    GIXRF

    Bei der Röntgenfluoreszenzanalyse werden durch einfallende Röntgenphotonen Elektronen aus inneratomaren Schalen angeregt. Der anschließende Zerfall dieser angeregten Zustände führt zur Emission elementspezifischer Röntgenfluoreszenzstrahlung...

     

    Numerische Simulationen

    Für die Modellierung der elektromagnetischen Wellen und die Wechselwirkungen mit den nanostrukturierten Oberflächen...

     

     

    Nach oben

    Informationen

    Nach oben