Logo PTB
Production sequence of Si-spheres and interferometrical determination of the sphere volume

Interferometric Calibration of Gauge Blocks

Working Group 5.43

Profile

Dissemination of the SI unit of the meter via calibration of gauge blocks, and of prismatic material measures resembling gauge blocks, with very small measurement uncertainties; this task is stipulated by Section 6 of the Units and Time Act [Einheiten- und Zeitgesetz, 2008]. Measurement of thermal expansion.

Assessment of gauge-block calibration laboratories accredited by DAkkS.

Provision of consulting services for calibration laboratories and training measures for calibration employees on handling and calibrating gauge blocks.

To top

Research/Development

  • Testing the long-term stability of gauge blocks depending on their materials and manufacturing processes.
  • Testing the thermal length change of materials that have a very small CTE (coefficient of linear thermal expansion) at around 20 °C.

To top

Services

Dissemination of the SI unit of the meter via calibration of gauge blocks as specified in DIN EN ISO 3650, and of prismatic material measures resembling gauge blocks, with very small measurement uncertainties, as a task stipulated by Section 6 of the Units and Time Act [Einheiten- und Zeitgesetz, 2008]. Measurement of the thermal expansion of gauge blocks. Metrological consulting services for special measurements.

Assessments of gauge-block calibration laboratories accredited by DAkkS. System assessments in accordance with ISO 17025.

Provision of consulting services for calibration laboratories and training measures for calibration employees on handling and calibrating gauge blocks. Provision of metrological support to PTB’s Technical Cooperation department for development aid projects.


Gauge BlocksGauge Blocks

Gauge blocks in accordance with DIN EN ISO 3650

 

 

Gauge blocks are the most precise and most widely used embodied standards of length for the dissemination of the unit of length—the meter—to industry and research. This is due to the fact that they have a simple geometric form, provide highly accurate measurements, are reliable and can be calibrated with very small measurement uncertainties. The German standard DIN EN ISO 3650 (1999) specifies the most important dimensional and metrological characteristics of gauge blocks that have a rectangular cross section and a nominal size ln in the range from 0.5 mm to 1000 mm.

 

 

 

 

 

Gauge blocks are the most precise and most widely used embodied standards of length for the dissemination of the unit of length—the meter—to industry and research. This is due to the fact that they have a simple geometric form, provide highly accurate measurements, are reliable and can be calibrated with very small measurement uncertainties. The German standard DIN EN ISO 3650 (1999) specifies the most important dimensional and metrological characteristics of gauge blocks that have a rectangular cross-section and a nominal size ln in the range from 0.5 mm to 1000 mm.

 

 


Traceability


Measuring devices


To top

Information

To top

Logo PTB
Fertigungskette von Si-Kugeln und interferometrische Bestimmung des Kugelvolumens

Interferometrische Kalibrierung von Parallelendmaßen

Arbeitsgruppe 5.43

Profil

Weitergabe der SI-Einheit Meter durch die Kalibrierung von Parallelendmaßen und endmaßähnlichen, prismatischen Maßverkörperungen mit kleinsten Messunsicherheiten als Auftrag nach § 6 des Einheiten- und Zeitgesetzes (2008). Messung des thermischen Ausdehnungsverhaltens.

Begutachtung von DAkkS-akkreditierten Kalibrierlaboratorien für Parallelendmaße.

Beratung von Kalibrierlaboratorien und Schulung von Kalibrierstellenpersonal in der Handhabung und der Kalibrierung von Parallelendmaßen.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

  • Untersuchungen der Langzeitlängenstabilität von Parallelendmaßen aus verschiedenen Werkstoffen und in Abhängigkeit von der Herstellungsmethode.
  • Untersuchungen des thermischen Längenänderungsverhaltens von Materialien mit sehr kleinem CTE (Längenausdehnungskoeffizienen) in der Nähe von 20 °C. 

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Weitergabe der SI-Einheit Meter durch die Kalibrierung von Parallelendmaßen nach DIN EN ISO 3650   und endmaßähnlichen, prismatischen Maßverkörperungen mit kleinsten Messunsicherheiten, als Auftrag nach § 6 des Einheiten- und Zeitgesetzes (2008). Messung des thermischen Ausdehnungsverhaltens von Parallelendmaßen. Messtechnische Beratung bei Sondermessungen.

Begutachtungen von DAkkS-akkreditierten Kalibrierlaboratorien für Parallelendmaße. Systembegutachtungen nach ISO 17025

Beratung von Kalibrierlaboratorien und Schulung von Kalibrierstellenpersonal in der Handhabung und der Kalibrierung von Parallelendmaßen. Messtechnische Unterstützung der Technischen Zusammenarbeit bei Entwicklungshilfeprojekten.


ParallelendmaßeParallelendmaße

Parallelendmaße nach DIN EN ISO 3650

Parallelendmaße sind die genauesten und am weitesten verbreiteten Maßverkörperungen der Länge zur Weitergabe der Längeneinheit Meter an Industrie und Forschung benutzt. Die Gründe hierfür sind ihre einfache geometrische Form, ihre hohe Maßgenauigkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und natürlich die sehr kleinen Messunsicherheiten mit denen sie kalibriert werden können. Die Norm DIN EN ISO 3650 (1999) legt die wichtigsten maßlichen und messtechnischen Eigenschaften von Parallelendmaßen mit rechteckigem Querschnitt und einem Nennmaß ln im Bereich von 0,5 mm bis 1000 mm fest.

 

 

Parallelendmaße sind die genauesten und am weitesten verbreiteten Maßverkörperungen der Länge zur Weitergabe der Längeneinheit Meter an Industrie und Forschung. Die Gründe hierfür sind ihre einfache geometrische Form, ihre hohe Maßgenauigkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und natürlich die sehr kleinen Messunsicherheiten mit denen sie kalibriert werden können. Die Norm DIN EN ISO 3650 (1999) legt die wichtigsten maßlichen und messtechnischen Eigenschaften von Parallelendmaßen mit rechteckigem Querschnitt und einem Nennmaß ln im Bereich von 0,5 mm bis 1000 mm fest.


Rückführung


Messeinrichtungen

In arbeit


Nach oben

Informationen

Nach oben