Logo PTB
Production sequence of Si-spheres and interferometrical determination of the sphere volume

Multiwavelength Interferometry for Geodetic Lengths

Working Group 5.42

50m Comparator50m Comparator

The 50m Comparator

The geodetic base is a comparator for the calibration of material measures and length measuring systems up to a length of 50 meters. The comparator is composed of a comparator bed, to which measuring tapes or line scales can be applied, and a measuring carriage running on the comparator bed.

Fig. 1: View of the geodetic base (50m comparator)

The length measurement is performed with a HeNe laser interferometer. Instead of a triple mirror (three mirrors in the form of a cube corner) which is usually used in an interferometer, the reflector consists of three single mirrors which are arranged on the surface of an imaginary cube. A material measure to be tested (e.g. a measuring tape) lies in the center of the reflector on the measuring axis of the interferometer by which Abbe errors are minimized. For the calibration of measuring tapes and line scales, each one optical and one photoelectrical microscope is arranged on the measuring carriage for determination of the line positions. The achievable measurement uncertainty is considerably influenced by the refractive index of the air and, possibly, by the body temperature of the product to be measured. The refractive index is calculated with the aid of the Edlen formula from air temperature, air pressure and air humidity.

  • 21 air temperature sensors at a distance of 2.5 m on the comparator bed (PT 100 - Thermometer)
  • 21 material temperature sensors at a distance of 2.5 m on the on the measuring tape (PT 100 - Thermometer)
  • one barometer for measurement of the air pressure
  • one hygrometer for measurement of the relative air humidity

 
 Fig. 2: Selection of typical test specimens on the 50m comparator

Calibration possibility for:

  • Measuring tapes (supported): Measuring tapes are carried in a low-friction bearing on rolls on the comparator bed at a distance of approx. 50 cm. The required elasticity of the measuring tape is given by a mass which is applied via a steel band and two rolls. Tapes of up to 50 m in length can be measured as a whole. It is also possible to measure longer tapes in several fragments.
  • Line scales: Line gauges are usually applied to their Bessel points after the supporting rolls for the measuring tapes have been removed. As the comparator is aligned for large lengths, no competitive measurement uncertainty can be provided for line gauges.
  • Distance measuring equipment: In the case of distance measuring equipment, a distinction must be made between two types. Many systems work with plane reflectors (special reflector foils or simply a white surface) which must - due to their size - be fixed on top of the measuring carriage. The measuring axis thus lies above the measuring axis of the interferometer which leads to an increase in the Abbe errors. Some distance measuring instruments work with triple reflectors which in some case may be applied to the measuring axis of the interferometer.
  • Laser interferometer Use of another measuring carriage with a larger (complete) triple reflector allows laser interferometers to be calibrated. By using a heat bath and a pressure chamber, the complete system (interferometer and weather station) can be calibrated about a useful range of different external conditions.

For further details see following articel PTB-Mitteilungen 2/2010

Further details are shown in the table: Calibration of length measuring devices.

To top

600m Baseline

The 600 m baseline

For the calibration and verification of – as well as for the research on and for the advancement of – length measuring devices with ranges above 50 m, PTB has a 600 m baseline at its disposal which – in the years 2010 and 2011 – was equipped with an elaborate weather monitoring system.

The baseline is installed at the northern border of the PTB premises, along a cycle path (Fig. 3). To the south, it is limited by a wooded area, and to the north by the outer fence which is shielded with laser-tight foil. It consists of eight posts which allow all distances between 50 and 600 metres to be realized in steps of 50 metres. The reference post distances can be traced back to the SI definition of the metre.


Fig. 3:  First segment of the extended 600 m baseline of PTB

To calibrate an optical distance meter under open-air conditions, it is of utmost importance to know the ambient conditions, as these define the refractive index and, thus, the scale of the optical devices. For the determination of these ambient conditions, the baseline is equipped with a dense network of calibrated environmental sensors. The temperature is determined every ten metres at beam height and the air humidity every hundred metres. The air pressure is determined by at least two barometers arranged along the baseline. For the measurement, the weather data are read out centrally and simultaneously per optical fiber, and the relevant effective values are determined. From the standard deviation determined, conclusions on the measurement uncertainty – which can be achieved concretely on this day – can be drawn. Monitoring is achieved by means of an easily controllable computer programme (cf. Fig. 4) which can be controlled on the whole baseline by means of a laptop.


 

Fig. 4:  Screenshot of the weather station of the 600 m baseline.

For research and development purposes, an air-conditioned external laboratory is available at the first post (Fig 5). On the complete site, laser protection class 4 can be maintained.

Fig. 5:  External and internal view of the air-conditioned external laboratory at the zero post.

When carrying out tests in accordance with the Festpunktfelderlass ("Fixed-Point-Field Decree") and the Administrative Provision regarding Property Measurements (LiegVermErlaß), PTB is collaborating with the Institute for Geodesy and Photogrammetry of Braunschweig Technical University.

 

Calibrations for probe

Calibrations for probe

On request are calibrations available in special geometry for probe developed and offered.

Logo PTB
Fertigungskette von Si-Kugeln und interferometrische Bestimmung des Kugelvolumens

Mehrwellenlängeninterferometrie für geodätische Längen

Arbeitsgruppe 5.42

Messeinrichtungen

Zur Kalibrierung von Maßverkörperungen und Längenmesssystemen kommen in der Arbeitsgruppe 5.42 der Opens internal link in current window50m-Komparator und die Opens internal link in current window600m-Pfeilerstrecke zum Einsatz.

50m-Komparator50m-Komparator

Die geodätische Basis ist ein Komparator zur Kalibrierung von Maßverkörperungen und Längenmesssystemen bis zu einer Länge von 50 Metern. Der Komparator besteht aus einem Komparatorbett, auf dem Messbänder oder Maßstäbe aufgelegt werden können und einem auf dem Komparatorbett fahrenden Messwagen.

Abb. 1: Ansicht der geodätischen Basis (50m-Komparator)

Die Längenmessung erfolgt mit einem HeNe-Laserinterferometer. Anstelle eines üblicherweise in einem Interferometer verwendeten Tripelspiegels (drei Spiegel in Form einer Würfelecke) besteht der Reflektor aus drei Einzelspiegeln, die auf der Oberfläche eines gedachten Würfels liegen.

Eine zu prüfende Maßverkörperung (z.B. ein Messband) liegt im Zentrum des Reflektors auf der Messachse des Interferometers, wodurch Abbe-Fehler minimiert werden. Zur Kalibrierung von Messbändern und Maßstäben ist auf dem Messwagen je ein optisches und ein fotoelektrisches Mikroskop zur Erfassung der Strichpositionen angebracht.

Wesentlichen Einfluss auf die erreichbare Messunsicherheit haben der Brechungsindex der Luft und ggf. die Körpertemperatur des Messguts. Die Brechungsindex wird mit Hilfe der Edlen-Formel aus Lufttemperatur, -druck und -feuchte berechnet.

Zur Bestimmung der Umweltparameter werden folgende Sensoren eingesetz

  • 21 Lufttemperatursensoren im Abstand von 2,5 m auf dem Komparatorbett  (PT 100 - Thermometer)
  • 21 Materialtemperatursensoren im Abstand von 2,5 m auf dem Messband  (PT 100 - Thermometer)
  • ein Barometer zur Messung des Luftdrucks
  • ein Hygrometer zur Messung der relativen Luftfeuchte

Nach oben

 

 Abb. 2: Eine Auswahl typischer Prüflinge auf dem 50m Komparator

Kalibriermöglichkeit für:

  • Messbänder (aufliegend): Messbänder werden auf dem Komparatorbett reibungsarm auf Rollen in Abstand von ca. 50 cm gelagert. Die erforderliche Spannkraft des Messbandes wird durch eine Masse vorgegeben, die über ein Stahlband und zwei Rollen angebracht wird. Bänder bis zu 50 m Länge können in einem Stück gemessen werden. Es besteht auch die Möglichkeit, längere Bänder in mehreren Teilstücken zu vermessen.
  • Strichmaßstäbe: Maßstäbe werden nach Entfernen der Auflagerollen für Messbänder üblicherweise auf ihre Bessel-Punkte aufgelegt. Da der Komparator für große Längen ausgerichtet ist, kann bei Maßstäben keine konkurrenzfähige Messunsicherheit geleistet werden.
  • Entfernungsmessgeräte: Bei Entfernungsmessgeräten sind zwei Typen zu unterscheiden. Viele Systeme arbeiten mit planen Reflektoren (spezielle Reflektorfolien oder einfach eine weiße Fläche), die aufgrund ihrer Größe oben auf dem Messschlitten befestigt werden müssen. Die Messachse liegt damit oberhalb der Messachse des Interferometers, was die Abbe-Fehler vergrößert. Einige Entfernungsmessgeräte arbeiten mit Tripelreflektoren, die zum Teil auf der Messachse des Interferometers angebracht werden können.
  • Laserinterferometer: Durch Einsetzen eines weiteren Messwagens mit einem großen (vollständigen) Tripelreflektor lassen sich Laserinterferometer kalibrieren. Durch Einsatz eines Wärmebads und einer Druckkammer kann das Komplettsystem aus Interferometer und Wetterstation über einen sinnvollen Bereich verschiedener äußerer Bedingungen kalibriert werden.

Weitergehende Details finden sich auch in dem Übersichtsartikel Opens internal link in current windowPTB-Mitteilungen 2/2010

Nach oben

600m-Pfeilerstrecke

Zur Kalibrierung und Verifizierung von sowie der Forschung und Entwicklung an Längenmessmitteln mit Reichweiten über 50 m steht in der PTB eine 600 m Pfeilerstrecke zur Verfügung, die in den Jahren 2010 und 2011 mit einer aufwändigen Wetterüberwachung ausgestattet wurde.

Die Pfeilerstrecke befindet sich an der nördlichen Grenze des Geländes der PTB entlang eines Radwegs (Abb. 3). Sie wird gen Süden durch ein Waldstück und gen Norden durch den mit Laser-dichter Folie verblendeten Außenzaun begrenzt. Sie besteht aus acht Pfeilern, mit denen sich alle Distanzen zwischen 50 und 600 Metern in Schritten von 50 Metern darstellen lassen. Die Referenz‑Pfeilerdistanzen sind auf die SI-Definition des Meters rückführbar.


Abb. 3:  Erstes Teilstück der ausgebauten 600 m Pfeilerstrecke der PTB. 

Kritisch für eine Kalibrierung eines optischen Entfernungsmessers unter Freiluftbedingungen ist eine genaue Kenntnis der Umgebungsbedingungen, da diese die Brechzahl und somit die Skala dieser optischen Geräte definieren. Zur Ermittlung dieser Umgebungsbedingungen ist die Pfeilerstrecke mit einem dichten Netz an kalibrierten Umweltsensoren ausgestattet. So wird die Temperatur alle zehn Meter in Strahlhöhe, die Luftfeuchte alle hundert Meter sowie der Luftdruck durch wenigstens zwei Barometer entlang der Strecke ermittelt. Die Wetterdaten werden per Glasfaser simultan zur Messung zentral ausgelesen und die relevanten Effektivwerte bestimmt. Aus der ermittelten Standardabweichung lassen sich Rückschlüsse auf die konkret an diesem Tag erreichbare Messunsicherheit ziehen. Die Kontrolle erfolgt über ein einfach zu steuerndes Computerprogramm (vgl. Abb. 4), das per Laptop auf der ganzen Strecke kontrolliert werden kann.


Abb. 4:  Screenshot der Wetterstation der 600m Pfeilerstrecke. 

Für Forschungs- und Entwicklungszwecke steht ein klimatisiertes Außenlabor am ersten Pfeiler zur Verfügung (Abb. 5). Auf dem gesamten Gelände kann ein Laserschutz der Klasse 4 aufrechterhalten werden.


Abb. 5:  Außen- und Innenansicht auf das klimatisierte Außenlabor am Nullpfeiler.

Bei der Durchführung von Prüfungen gemäß des Festpunktfelderlasses und der Verwaltungsvorschrift zu Liegenschaftsvermessungen (LiegVermErlaß) arbeiten wir mit dem Institut für Geodäsie und Photogrammetrie der Opens external link in new windowTU Braunschweig zusammen.

Kalibrierung von Tastern

Auf Anfrage werden Kalibrierungen in spezieller Geometrie für Taster entwickelt und angeboten.

Nach oben