Logo der PTB - Messen, Forschen, Wissen
Production sequence of Si-spheres and interferometrical determination of the sphere volume

Interferometry on Material Measures

Department 5.4

Tasks

The availability of length standards and the ability to measure lengths with high accuracy are of fundamental importance for technologically advanced societies. With increasing demands on accuracy, more and more precise length standards were developed already in the beginning industrial age. In Department 5.4, the connection of the length of measuring standards to the International System of Units (SI) is realized by means length measurements by interferometry. The optical frequency standards recommended by the International Committee for Weights and Measures (CIPM) are used as light sources. Within the scope of intensive research, the methods used are constantly being further developed.

High-precision calibrations of gauge blocks, spheres, line scales, laser interferometers, electronic distance measuring instruments and probes as well as special measurements such as sub-nm measurements of thermal expansion and drift behaviour of materials are carried out on behalf of customers.

On behalf of the conformity assessment body of PTB, type examination certificates according to Module B of Directive 2004/22/EC Annex MI-009 of the European Parliament (MID) are issued and type approval of choirometers, distance measuring instruments and instruments for wood measurement is carried out. Another focus is on the support, assessment and training of external calibration laboratories, especially in the field of gauge blocks.

Show Working GroupsHide Working Groups

Further Information

 

Hinweis auf Konferenzen, Messen

Logo PTB
Fertigungskette von Si-Kugeln und interferometrische Bestimmung des Kugelvolumens

Interferometrie an Maßverkörperungen

Fachbereich 5.4

Aufgaben

Die Verfügbarkeit von Längennormalen und die Fähigkeit Längen höchst genau zu messen sind von fundamentaler Bedeutung für technologisch hoch entwickelte Gesell­schaf­ten. Mit steigenden Anforderungen an die Genauigkeit wurden schon im beginnenden Industrie­zeitalter immer präzisere Längennormale entwickelt. Im Fachbereich 5.4 wird durch interferentielle Längenmessungen der Anschluss der Länge von Maßverkörperungen an das Internationalen Einheitensystem (SI) realisiert. Hierbei werden die vom Internationalen Komitee für Maß und Gewicht (CIPM) empfohlenen optischen Frequenznormale als Lichtquellen einge­setzt.

Im Rahmen einer intensiven Forschung werden die jeweils Verwendung findenden Verfahren ständig weiter entwickelt.

Im Kundenauftrag werden hochgenaue Kalibrierungen von Parallelendmaßen, Kugeln, Strichmaßen, Laserinterferometern, elektronischen Entfernungsmessgeräten und Messtastern sowie Sondermessungen wie z.B. sub-nm genaue Messungen zur thermischen Ausdehnung und zum  Driftverhalten von Materialien durchgeführt.

Im Auftrag der Konformitätsbewertungsstelle der PTB werden Baumusterprüfbescheinigungen nach Modul B der Richtlinie 2004/22/EG Anhang MI-009 des Europäischen Parlaments (MID) ausgestellt sowie die Bauartzulassung von Choirometern, Entfernungsmessgeräten und Geräten zur Holzvermessung durchgeführt. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt in der Betreuung, Begutachtung und Schulung externer Kalibrierlaboratorien, insbesondere im Bereich Parallelendmaße.

Arbeitsgruppen AnzeigenArbeitsgruppen Verbergen

Weitere Informationen

 

Hinweis auf Konferenzen, Messen