Logo PTB
Production sequence of Si-spheres and interferometrical determination of the sphere volume

REFERENCE AREAL SURFACE METROLOGY

REFERENCE AREAL SURFACE METROLOGY

 

 

Proper calibration of an instrument using a set of reference material measures is a widely applied method to ensure the correctness of the measurement. For the last years international efforts have been increased in creating the ISO 25178 series of standards, which describe the nominal characteristics and calibration methods of areal surface topography measuring instruments. Today, such calibration in terms of amplification, linearity, squareness, flatness as well as noise using reference material measures are well addressed.  Prior to their usage, however, these reference material measures must be calibrated accurately and traceably, for instance, the high-speed metrological large-range atomic force microscopy (AFM) and the 3D-AFM.
The metrological performance of areal surface measurement tools needs to be evaluated over the surface spectrum, i.e. the instrument transfer function (ITF) needs to be known.  However, both the traceable reference metrology and suitable material measures for the characterization of ITF are yet unavailable.  
Recently a novel circular chirp sample is developed at PTB. It is applicable for characterizing the ITF of areal surface topography measuring instruments as well as its angular-dependent asymmetries. Two main innovative ideas are implemented in the sample design. Firstly, the sample is based on circular structure patterns. Such rotational symmetric patterns are preferred for characterising the ITF features in different angular directions to detect angular-dependent asymmetries. Secondly, the feature pattern of the sample is generated by rotating a horizontal linear chirp profile around the z-axis. The chirp pattern can well present a surface with a predefined band spectrum (λmin … λmax) with a quasi-flat amplitude. In this study, a prototype sample made of Niobium on silicon and with patterns in a spectral range λmin = 1 μm … λmax = 16.0 μm was fabricated by electron-beam lithography combined with reactive ion etching technique. It has non-transparent and reflecting surfaces, thus it is ideal for characterising optical measurement devices. The material composition of the top and bottom surfaces of the features are the same, thus avoiding the influence of the phase jump issue of optical reflection.

Topography data map of the circular chirp pattern (R of 60 µm) measured by a commercial laser scanning confocal microscopy (LSCM) with a 100× objective.

The profiles of the image shown above along the orientation of 0.0° and 90.0°. The fast scanning direction of the LCSM is horizontal.

For more details of this research task, please refer to some selected publications listed below:
[1] Gaoliang Dai et al. Development of a novel material measure for characterising instrument transfer function (ITF) considering angular-dependent asymmetries of areal surface topography measuring instruments, Proceeding of euspen’s 19th International Conference &Exhibition, Bilbao, ES, June 2019.
[2] Gaoliang Dai et al. Fast and accurate: high-speed metrological large range AFM for surface and nanometrology Meas. Sci. Technol. 29 (2018) 054012

Logo PTB
Fertigungskette von Si-Kugeln und interferometrische Bestimmung des Kugelvolumens

REFERENCE AREAL SURFACE METROLOGY

Die Referenzmetrologie für flächenhaft messende Oberflächenmessgeräte

 

Die richtige Kalibrierung eines Messgerätes mittels eines Satzes von Referenzmaßverkörpe-rungen ist eine weit verbreitete Methode zur Absicherung von korrekten Messungen. In den letzten Jahren wurden Bemühungen im internationalen Rahmen verstärkt, um eine Reihe von normativen Dokumenten unter der Nomenklatur ISO 25178 zu erstellen, die die nominellen Charakteristiken und Kalibriermethoden für flächenhaft messende Oberflächenmessgeräte beschreiben sollen. Zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt sind solche Kalibrierungen in Bezug auf die Verstärkung, Linearität, Rechtwinkligkeit, Ebenheit als auch auf das Rauschen unter Verwendung von Referenzmaßverkörperungen gut beschrieben. Bevor die Referenzmaßverkörperungen für die Kalibrierung verwendet werden können, müssen diese selbst genau und rückführbar z.B. mit dem HS-Met.LR-AFM oder dem 3D-AFM kalibriert werden.
Das metrologische Verhalten von flächenhaft messenden Oberflächenmessgeräten muss über das Oberflächenspektrum untersucht werden; hierfür muss z.B. die Geräteübertragungsfunktion (Instrument Transfer Function (ITF)) bekannt sein. Allerdings sind gegenwärtig weder die rückführbare Referenzmetrologie als auch die Referenzmaßver-körperungen für die Charakterisierung der ITF verfügbar.
Kürzlich wurde ein neuartiges Probestück für ein radiales Chirp-Normal in der PTB entwickelt und gefertigt. Es kann sowohl für die Charakterisierung der ITF von flächenhaft messenden Oberflächenmessgeräten als auch für die Bestimmung der winkelabhängigen Asymmetrien des untersuchten Messgerätes verwendet werden. Zwei innovative Ideen wurden beim Design des Normals verwirklicht. Erstens basiert das Normal auf radialen Strukturmustern. Derartige rotationssymmetrische Muster werden bevorzugt für die Charakterisierung der in der ITF beschriebenen Merkmale bei verschiedenen Winkellagen zum Messgerät verwendet, um winkelabhängige Asymmetrien im Messgerät zu erkennen. Zweitens ist dieses Strukturmuster auf dem Normal dadurch entstanden, dass ein normales horizontales Chirp-Profil um die z-Achse gedreht wurde. Das Chirp-Muster kann somit als eine Oberfläche mit einem vordefinierten Bandspektrum (min bis max) mit einer flachen Amplitude betrachtet werden. Im Rahmen der Untersuchungen wurde ein Prototyp des Normals durch das Aufbringen von Niobium-Strukturen auf einen Si-Chip unter Verwendung der Ionenstrahllithographie in Kombination mit einem reaktiven Ionenätzverfahren hergestellt. Dabei wurde ein spektraler Bereich mit min = 1 µm bis max = 16 µm realisiert. Der Prototyp weist nicht-transparente und reflektierende Oberflächenbereiche auf und ist dadurch auf ideale Weise für die Charakterisierung von optischen Messgeräten geeignet. Die Materialkombinationen an den oberen und unteren Oberflächenbereichen sind identisch, so dass der Einfluss von Phasensprüngen durch die optische Reflexion ausgeschlossen werden kann.


Bild 1:    Topographiebild des radialen Chirp-Musters (r = 60 µm) gemessen mit einem kommerziell erhältlichen Laser Scanning Confocal Microscope (LSCM) mit einem Objektiv mit 100-facher Vergrößerung dargestellt in (a)

und die Profillinien für die Ausrichtung in 0° und 90° (b). Die schnelle Scanachse des Messgerätes ist die horizontale Achse.

Für weitergehende Informationen zu diesem Forschungsgebiet siehe die nachfolgenden Veröffentlichungen:
[1] Gaoliang Dai et al. Development of a novel material measure for characterising instrument transfer function (ITF) considering angular-dependent asymmetries of areal surface topography measuring instruments, Proceeding of euspen’s 19th International Conference &Exhibition, Bilbao, ES, June 2019.
[2] Gaoliang Dai et al. Fast and accurate: high-speed metrological large range AFM for surface and nanometrology Meas. Sci. Technol. 29 (2018) 054012