Logo PTB

Safety Characteristics in Explosion Protection

Working Group 3.71

Profile

Main areas

  • Research and development on the influence of non-atmospheric conditions and mixture composition
  • Measurement of safety characteristic data for external customers
  • Provision of such data free of charge in the data base CHEMSAFE
  • Expert advice for politics, industry and supervising bodies
  • Participation in standardization committees

 

The explosion behaviour of combustible substances can be quantified by the safety characteristics of explosion protection. These data classify the substances with regard to various properties of hazardous potential. Safety characteristic data help to determine safe operation parameters as well as constructive measures of explosion protection.

 

 

To top

Research/Development

Autoignition temperature in large containers

To what extent is it justifiable to extrapolate safety-related autoignition temperatures determined in small volumes to larger volumes?
On the basis of the data obtained, it is possible to estimate and evaluate both the extent of the reduction in the autoignition temperature and the extent of the extension of the ignition delay time as a function of the vessel volume from the standard ignition temperature or the cold flame temperature according to the standard. For some substances that tend to undergo distinct cold flame reactions, the explosive atmosphere inside larger heated containers is ignited by hot walls at significantly lower temperatures (>100 K difference) than the standard ignition temperature of the fuel.

Influence of pressure and temperature on the explosion limits

Within the framework of standardization activities, investigations are carried out at elevated pressures and temperatures in order to provide verification values for apparatus.

Furthermore, the dependence of the lower Explosion limit on pressure was determined for various flammable vapours in the pressure range between 1 bar and 20 bar and at temperatures of 100°C and 150°C. Including literature values for the vacuum range, it was found that the lower explosion limits of these substances above approx. 0.6 bar are only weakly pressure-dependent. It cannot be generally assumed that the LEL falls with increasing pressure. For several substances, a flat maximum of the LEL appears to exist between 2 bar and 10 bar. Such a behaviour is already known from the literature. The approximation of the behaviour of the LEL with pressure increase by a linear regression is therefore not always meaningful. In individual cases, the construction of a compensation line would lead to an estimation of the LEL on the unsafe side. 

Influence of the oxidizing gas on ignition temperature

The autoignition temperature of various organic substances in dinitrogen monoxide/air-mixtures was determined. No ignitions up to 590°C could be observed in pure dinitrogen monoxide. The ignition temperature of all substances tested generally rises with increasing nitrous oxide content in air and reaches almost 600°C at a level of 80% by volume in the oxidizing gas at the latest. The ignition is initiated by the oxygen content and the nitrous oxide is subsequently stimulated to self-decomposition.


In addition, the dependence of the autoignition temperature on the oxygen/nitrogen ratio in the oxidizing gas was determined in a slightly modified standard apparatus for various organic substances. As expected, the ignition temperature decreases with increasing oxygen content. In most cases the decrease is greater than it would correspond to a linear course between the standard ignition temperature and that in pure oxygen. In individual cases, the ignition temperature already reaches the value found in pure oxygen at an oxygen content in the oxidizer of 30 percent by volume.

Influence of inert gases on the maximum experimental safe gap

The maximum experimental safe gap (MESG) is an important criterion to avoid the ignition source flames and hot gases. Explosion-protected devices of the flameproof enclosure type of protection and the suitability of flame arresters are assessed on the basis of the MESG. Accordingly, these devices are designed for the oxidizing agent "air" at slightly increased pressure. However, since typical real operating conditions often require different oxygen contents and higher pressures, the question arises as to the suitability of the MESG as a classification criterion. Previous findings suggest that a device-specific maximum gap width results from the combination of pressure and oxygen content.
The aim of the project is to determine the MESG of gas mixtures as a function of inert gas content and pressure in the overpressure range. It should be clarified whether the theoretical correlations known so far can be validated for the estimation of the MESG and how large the required safety margin is. The result will also show whether the classification of fuels into explosion groups can be maintained under non-atmospheric conditions. 

Lower explosion point under non-atmospheric conditions

The lower explosion point (UEP) is the temperature at which an explosive atmosphere is created above a flammable liquid. At this temperature, the vapour-air mixture above the liquid can be ignited by an electrical spark. In modern processes non-atmospheric conditions are increasingly being used for process optimization. These can be increased or reduced pressures, different oxygen concentrations or different oxidizing agents. Lowering the pressure would cause the UEP to drop and thus increase the potential danger. An increase in pressure would have the opposite effect. Within the framework of the research work, an apparatus will be constructed and verified to ensure compliance with the existing standard. The measurement results are checked for conformity with the calculation of the UEP from the vapour pressure curve and the temperature dependence of the lower explosion limit.

To top

Services

Measurement of safety characteristic data

at atmospheric and non-atmospheric conditions

 

 

 

 

 

Evaluation of explosive mixtures:

  • flashpoint
  • lower and upper explosion limit
  • limiting oxygen concentration
  • lower and upper explosion point


Evaluation of ignition sources: 

  • autoignition temperature
  • maximum experimental safe gap

 

Evaluation of an explosion effect

  • maximum pressure rise rate 
  • maximum explosion pressure

 
You can find our service price list  Opens internal link in current windowhere

Safety characteristics are no pure substance data but depend to a varying degree on the method used for their determination. These methods are, therefore, usually standardized. Safety characteristics depend on pressure and temperature. Suitable measuring devices are available to cover a pressure range from 10 mbar to 100 bar (initial pressure) and a temperature range from -20 to 200 °C.

To top

Information

To top

Logo PTB

Kenngrößen des Explosionsschutzes

Arbeitsgruppe 3.71

Profil

Schwerpunkte

  • Forschung und Entwicklung zum Einfluss nichtatmosphärischer Bedingungen und der Gemischzusammensetzung
  • Dienstleistung zur Bestimmung der Kenngrößen für externe Kunden
  • Bereitstellung von Kenngrößen in der kostenfreien Datenbank CHEMSAFE
  • Beratung von Politik, Industrie und Aufsichtsorganen
  • Mitarbeit in Normungsgremien

 

Das Explosionsverhalten brennbarer Stoffe wird durch die Kenngrößen des Explosionsschutzes quantifiziert. Diese Kenngrößen ordnen die Stoffe nach einem bestimmten Gefährdungsmerkmal ein. Sie dienen sowohl der Ermittlung sicherer Betriebsparameter als auch der konstruktiven Auslegung von Explosionsschutzmaßnahmen.

 

 

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Zündtemperaturen in großen Behältern

In wieweit ist es sicherheitstechnisch vertretbar, Zündtemperaturdaten, die in kleinen Volumina bestimmt wurden, auf größere Volumina zu extrapolieren?
Aufgrund der erarbeiteten Datenbasis ist es möglich, sowohl das Ausmaß der Erniedrigung der Zündtemperatur, als auch das Ausmaß der Verlängerung der Zündverzugszeit in Abhängigkeit des Behältervolumens aus der Normzündtemperatur bzw. der Kaltflammentemperatur nach Norm abzuschätzen und zu beurteilen. Bei einigen Stoffen, die zu ausgeprägten Kaltflammenreaktionen neigen, wird die explosionsfähige Atmosphäre im Inneren größerer erhitzter Behälter durch heiße Wände mit deutlich niedrigerer Temperatur (>100 K Unterschied) als der Norm-Zündtemperatur des Brennstoffs entzündet.

Einfluss von Druck und Temperatur auf die Explosionsgrenzen

Es werden im Rahmen der Normungstätigkeit Untersuchungen bei erhöhten Drucken und Temperaturen  durchgeführt, die dazu dienen Verifizierungswerte für Apparaturen zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Des Weiteren wurde der Verlauf der unteren Explosionsgrenze für verschiedene brennbare Dämpfe im Druckbereich zwischen 1 bar und 20 bar und bei Temperaturen von 100°C und 150°C bestimmt. Unter Einbeziehung von Literaturwerten für den Unterdruckbereich zeigte sich, dass die unteren Explosionsgrenzen dieser Stoffe oberhalb von ca. 0,6 bar nur schwach druckabhängig sind. Man kann nicht generell davon ausgehen, dass die UEG mit steigendem Druck fällt. Bei mehreren Substanzen scheint zwischen 2 bar und 10 bar ein flaches Maximum der UEG zu existieren. Ein solches Verhalten ist bereits aus der Literatur bekannt. Die Annäherung des Verhaltens der UEG bei Druckerhöhung durch eine lineare Regression ist deshalb nicht immer sinnvoll. Die Konstruk­tion einer Ausgleichsgeraden würde in Einzelfällen zu einer Abschätzung der UEG zur unsicheren Seite führen. 

Einfluss des Oxidationsmittels auf die Zündtemperatur

Die Zündtemperatur in Distickstoffmonoxid/Luft-Gemischen wurde für verschiedene organische Substanzen bestimmt. Sie steigt mit dem Distickstoffmonoxidanteil an und erreicht spätestens bei einem Anteil von 80 Vol.% im Oxidatorgas nahezu 600°C, was der Zerfallstemperatur des Distickstoffmonoxids entspricht. Demnach wirkt Distickstoffmonoxid inertisierend auf den Selbstentzündungsprozess. Die Initiierung der Zündung erfolgt durch den Sauerstoffanteil. Das Distickstoffmonoxid wird in der Folge zum Selbstzerfall angeregt. In reinem Distickstoffmonoxid konnten keine Zündungen unterhalb der Zerfallstemperatur festgestellt werden.

Außerdem wurde die Abhängigkeit der Zündtemperatur vom Sauerstoff/Stickstoff-Verhältnis im Oxidatorgas in einer leicht modifizierten Normapparatur für verschiedene organische Substanzen bestimmt. Erwartungsgemäß nimmt die Zündtemperatur mit zunehmendem Sauerstoffgehalt ab. In den meisten Fällen ist die Abnahme stärker, als es einem linearen Verlauf zwischen der Normzündtemperatur und der in reinem Sauersoff entsprechen würde. In Einzelfällen erreicht die Zündtemperatur bereits bei einem Sauerstoffanteil von 30 Volumenprozent im Oxidator den in reinem Sauerstoff gefundenen Wert.

Einfluss von Inertgasen auf die Spaltweite

Die Normspaltweite (MESG, maximum experimental safe gap) ist ein wichtiges Kriterium für die Anforderung an die Vermeidung der Zündquelle „Flammen und heiße Gase“. Explosionsgeschützte Geräte der Zündschutzart „Druckfeste Kapselung“ und die Eignung von Flammendurchschlagsicherungen werden auf Basis des MESG beurteilt. Entsprechend werden diese Geräte für das „Oxidationsmittel Luft“ bei leicht erhöhtem Druck ausgelegt. Da typische reale Einsatzbedingungen aber oftmals abweichende Sauerstoffgehalte und höhere Drücke erfordern, ergibt sich hier die Fragestellung nach der Eignung der Normspaltweite als Klassifizierungskriterium. Bisherige Erkenntnisse lassen vermuten, dass sich eine gerätespezifische Grenzspaltweite aus der Kombination von Druck und Sauerstoffanteil ergibt.

Ziel des Projekts ist die Ermittlung der Grenzspaltweite von Gasgemischen in Abhängigkeit von Inertgasanteil und Druck im Überdruckbereich. Es soll geklärt werden, ob die bisher bekannten theoretischen Korrelationen zur Abschätzung der Grenzspaltweite validiert werden können und wie groß der erforderliche Sicherheitszuschlag ist. Das Ergebnis wird auch zeigen, ob die Einteilung der Brennstoffe in Explosionsgruppen unter nicht-atmosphärischen Bedingungen beibehalten werden kann. 

Unterer Explosionspunkt bei nicht-atmosphärischen Bedingungen

Der untere Explosionspunkt (UEP) ist ein Anhaltspunkt dafür, ab welcher Temperatur über einer brennbaren Flüssigkeit eine explosionsfähige Atmosphäre entsteht. Das Dampf-Luft-Gemisch über der Flüssigkeit muss sich bei dieser Temperatur gerade noch nicht mittels eines elektrischen Funkens zur Entzündung bringen lassen. In modernen Prozessen werden jedoch in zunehmenden Maße nicht-atmosphärische Bedingungen zur Prozessoptimierung eingesetzt. Dies können erhöhte oder reduzierte Drücke, veränderte Sauerstoffkonzentrationen oder gänzlich andere Oxidationsmittel als Luft sein. Eine Druckerniedrigung würde zum Absinken des UEP führen und erhöht damit das Gefahrenpotential. Eine Druckerhöhung würde sich gegenteilig auswirken. Im Rahmen der Forschungsarbeiten wird eine Apparatur konstruiert und verifiziert, die den Anschluss an die existierende Norm sicherstellt. Die Messergebnisse werden auf Übereinstimmung mit der Berechnung des UEP aus Dampfdruckkurve und Temperaturabhängigkeit der unteren Explosionsgrenze überprüft.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Bestimmung sicherheitstechnischer Kenngrößen

bei atmosphärischen und nicht-atmosphärischen Bedingungen

 

 

 

 

Charakterisierung explosionsfähiger Gemische:

  • Flammpunkt
  • untere und obere Explosionsgrenze
  • Sauerstoffgrenzkonzentration
  • unterer und oberer Explosionspunkt

Charakterisierung von Zündquellen:

  • Zündtemperatur
  • Flammendurchschlagsichere Spaltweite

Charakterisierung der Auswirkung einer Explosion:

  • maximale Explosionsdruckanstiegsgeschwindigkeit 
  • maximaler Explosionsdruck

 
Eine Preisliste finden Sie Opens internal link in current windowhier

Kenngrößen des Explosionsschutzes sind keine reinen Stoffgrößen sondern in unterschiedlichem Maße vom Bestimmungsverfahren abhängig. Deshalb sind die Bestimmungsverfahren im allgemeinen in nationalen oder internationalen Normen festgeschrieben, die jedoch kontinuierlich dem wissenschaftlichen und technischen Fortschritt angepasst werden. Die Kenngrößen des Explosionsschutzes sind von Druck und Temperatur abhängig. Die vorhandenen Bestimmungsmethoden umfassen den Druckbereich 10 mbar bis 30 bar (Druck vor Zündung) und den Temperaturbereich -20 °C bis 200 °C.

Nach oben

Informationen

Nach oben