Logo der PTB - Messen, Forschen, Wissen

Intrinsic Safety

Working Group 3.61

Profile

The working group “Intrinsic Safety“ assesses explosion protection concepts of equipment used in the field of instrumentation and process control engineering. The scope of equipment ranges from sensors and actuators up to complex remote I/O-systems.
Acceptance of conformity assessments is ensured by cooperation and internetworking with international certification bodies. Technical experts of the working group are contact persons for questions in the field of explosion protection for industry, politics and society. The participation in national and international standardization, the performance of workshops and  
techical papers in seminars contribute to a continuous exchange of experience among  experts.
In the course of the “PTB Ex-Proficiency Testing Scheme“ (qualification test of test laboratories in the IECEx-system) the working group develops respective programs for Intrinsic Safety type of protection.

To top

Services

The working group provides conformity assessments according to Directive 2014/34/EU and IECEx-system for types of protection Intrinsic Safety “i“, Pressurized Enclosures “p“, Encapsulation “m, Powder Filling “m“, as well as Increased Safety “e“ type of protection for luminaires. It is also possible to test and certify equipment with potential ignition sources caused by optical radiation.

To top

Information

To top

Logo PTB

Eigensicherheit

Arbeitsgruppe 3.61

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe „Eigensicherheit“ bewertet Explosionsschutzkonzepte von Geräten der Mess-, Steuer- und Regelungstechnik. Die Gerätebandbreite erstreckt sich von Sensoren und Aktoren bis hin zu komplexen Remote-I/O-Systemen.
Die Akzeptanz der Konformitätsbewertung wird durch Kooperation und enger Vernetzung mit internationalen Prüfstellen gewährleistet. Die Fachexperten der Arbeitsgruppe sind Ansprechpartner für Fragen im Bereich des Explosionsschutzes für Industrie, Politik und Gesellschaft. Durch die Beteiligung an nationaler und internationaler Regelsetzung, Ausrichtung von Workshops und Vortragsbeiträgen in Fachseminaren wird zum stetigen Erfahrungsaustausch unter den Fachexperten beigetragen.
Im Zuge des „PTB Ex Proficiency Testing Scheme“ (Eignungsprüfung von Prüflaboren im IECEx-System) werden in der Arbeitsgruppe die Programme für die Zündschutzart Eigensicherheit entwickelt.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Die Arbeitsgruppe bietet Konformitätsbewertungen gemäß Richtlinie 2014/34/EU und IECEx-System in den Zündschutzarten Eigensicherheit "i", Überdruckkapselung "p", Vergusskapselung "m", Sandkapselung "q" sowie für Leuchten die Zündschutzart Erhöhte Sicherheit "e" an. Ebenso können Geräte mit potentiellen Zündquellen durch optische Strahlung geprüft und zertifiziert werden.

Nach oben

Informationen

Nach oben