Logo der PTB - Messen, Forschen, Wissen

Renewable Energy Carriers and Storage

Working Group 3.55

Profile

Working Group 3.55 is concerned with hydrogen technologies and lithium-ion batteries in the context of explosion protection.  With regard to hydrogen, it accompanies the expected upscaling of infrastructure and utilization from the safety point of view and investigates special phenomena such as the ignition of hydrogen/air mixtures by hot free jets. Lithium-ion batteries are a fundamental component of electromobility and are also expected to be used increasingly as stationary energy storage devices in the future. They are highly efficient, but pose a considerable hazard in the event of a fault. The Working Group's activities aim to support the safe use of hydrogen and lithium-ion storage in large-scale applications.

The Working Group 3.55 collaborates via the Opens external link in new windowEnergy Research Centre of Lower Saxony, with the Opens external link in new windowTU Braunschweig and Opens external link in new windowLeibniz University Hannover.

To top

Research/Development

Renewable Energy Carriers

Experimental investigation of ignition processes via optical techniques

Due to its high ignitability and flame velocity, hydrogen bears a considerable hazardous potential. Working group 3.55 investigates the ignition of hydrogen/air mixtures experimentally with the aim of describing the individual processes in detail.

 

Ignition processes

  • Electrical discharges
  • Hot free jets

 

Experimental techniques

  • Schlieren imaging: used to visualize changes in the refractive index (temperature and pressure)
  • Background-oriented schlieren (BOS): the change in refractive index causes distortions in a structured background pattern. The displacements can be analyzed to determine the local gas density.
  • Laser-induced fluorescence (LIF): selective excitation of gas molecules in a UV laser light sheet. The fluorescence is imaged and yields 2D concentration maps. 

    • OH-LIF: reaction zones
    • NO-LIF or tracer-LIF (e.g. acetone): mixing

  • Rayleigh scattering: scattering of laser light by gas molecules as a function of gas density and thus temperature.

 

Innovation laboratory "Sustainable Hydrogen Combustion Concepts"

In a Opens external link in new windowjoint project funded by the state of Lower Saxony, research is being conducted on low-emission and efficient hydrogen engines. For larger commercial vehicles, clean hydrogen use can be made possible without the shock-sensitive and expensive fuel cells. WG 3.55 is investigating the ignition of lean hydrogen/air mixtures by hot free jets (so-called pre-chamber ignition) using experimental methods.

Electrochemical storage

Electrical-thermal assessment of electrochemical storage systems  

Efficient and safe batteries are crucial for e-mobility and the integration of renewable energies into the power grid. Working group 3.55 investigates the widely used lithium-ion batteries with the aim of identifying unsafe operating stated, detecting them in time during use, and characterizing and mitigating the consequences of battery runaway.

 

Research topics

  • Characterization of Li-ion battery modules for second-life applications
  • Influence of temperature distribution on the lifetime of automotive battery cells in a whole-vehicle context
  • BaSS - BatterySafetyStandardisation
  • Lithium-Ion-accumulators in flameproof enclosures

 

Experimental techniques

  • Calorimetry for determining the amount of heat released
  • Current and voltage measurement
  • Measurement of internal resistance
  • Electrochemical impedance spectroscopy
  • Climate cabinets
  • Cell and module testers for cyclization
  • Pressure-resistant vessels for destructive testing

To top

Logo der PTB - Messen, Forschen, Wissen

Regenerative Energieträger und -speicher

Arbeitsgruppe 3.55

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe 3.55 beschäftigt sich vor dem Hintergrund des Explosionsschutzes mit Wasserstofftechnologien und elektrochemischen Energiespeichern.  Im Bereich Wasserstoff begleitet sie die zu erwartende Hochskalierung der Infrastruktur und Nutzung von sicherheitstechnischer Seite und untersucht spezielle Phänomene wie die Zündung von Wasserstoff/Luft-Gemischen durch heiße Freistrahlen. Elektrochemische Speicher (derzeit im Wesentlichen Lithium-Ionen-Batterien) sind ein elementarer Bestandteil der Elektromobilität und sollen zukünftig auch verstärkt als stationäre Energiespeicher eingesetzt werden. Sie sind sehr leistungsfähig, stellen im Fehlerfall jedoch eine erhebliche Gefährdung dar. Ziel der Aktivitäten der Arbeitsgruppe ist der sichere Einsatz von Wasserstoff und Lithium-Ionen-Speichern in der großskaligen Anwendung.

Die AG 3.55 ist vernetzt über das Opens external link in new windowEnergie-Forschungszentrum Niedersachsen (EFZN), mit der Opens external link in new windowTechnischen Universität Braunschweig und der Opens external link in new windowLeibniz Universität Hannover.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Regenerative Energieträger

Experimentelle Untersuchung von Zündprozessen durch optische Methoden

Aufgrund seiner Zündwilligkeit und der hohen Flammengeschwindigkeit birgt Wasserstoff ein erhebliches Gefährdungspotenzial. Die AG 3.55 untersucht die Zündung von Wasserstoff/Luft-Gemischen experimentell mit dem Ziel, die Einzelprozesse detailliert zu beschreiben.

 

Zündquellen

  • Elektrische Entladungen
  • Heiße Freistrahlen

 

Experimentelle Methoden

  • Schlieren-Verfahren: Sichtbarmachung von Änderungen des Brechungsindex (Temperatur und Druck)
  • Hintergrundorientiertes Schlieren-Verfahren: Die Änderung des Brechungsindex führt zur Verzerrung eines strukturierten Hintergrundmusters. Diese Verschiebungen können zurückgerechnet werden, so dass die Gasdichte ortsaufgelöst bestimmt wird.
  • Laserinduzierte Fluoreszenz: Selektive Anregung von Gasmolekülen durch UV-Laserstrahlung in einem Lichtschnitt. Das Fluoreszenzlicht wird detektiert und liefert die 2D-Verteilung der Konzentration. 

    • OH-LIF: Reaktionszonen
    • NO-LIF oder Tracer-LIF (z. B. mit Aceton): Mischung

  • Rayleigh-Streuung: Streuung von Laserlicht an Gasmolekülen in Abhängigkeit der Gasdichte und damit der Temperatur.

 

Innovationslabor „Nachhaltige Wasserstoff-Verbrennungskonzepte (WaVe)”

In einem vom Land Niedersachsen geförderten Opens external link in new windowVerbundprojekt wird an schadstoffarmen und effizienten Wasserstoffmotoren geforscht. Bei größeren Nutz-Fahrzeugen kann hier eine saubere Wasserstoffnutzung ohne die stoßempfindlichen und teuren Brennstoffzellen ermöglicht werden. Die AG 3.55 untersucht hier die Zündung der mageren Wasserstoff/Luft-Gemische durch heiße Freistrahlen (sog. Vorkammerzündung) mit experimentellen Methoden.

Elektrochemische Speicher

Elektrisch-thermische Beurteilung von elektrochemischen Speichern 

Leistungsfähige und sichere Batterien sind entscheidend für die E-Mobilität und die Integration regenerativer Energien in das Stromnetz. Die AG 3.55 untersucht die weitverbreiteten Lithium-Ionen-Batterien mit dem Ziel, unsichere Betriebspunkte zu identifizieren, im Betrieb rechtzeitig zu erkennen und die Folgen beim Durchgehen von Batterien zu charakterisieren und einzudämmen.

 

Forschungsthemen

  • Charakterisierung von Li-Ionen Batterie-Modulen für Second-Life-Anwendungen
  • Einfluss der Temperaturverteilung auf die Lebensdauer automobiler Batteriezellen im Gesamtfahrzeugkontext
  • BaSS - BatterieSicherheitsStandardisierung
  • Lithium-Ionen-Akkumulatoren in druckfest gekapselten Gehäusen

 

Experimentelle Methoden

  • Kalorimeter zur Bestimmung der freigesetzten Wärmemenge
  • Strom- und Spannungsmessung
  • Messung des Innenwiderstandes
  • Elektrochemische Impedanzspektroskopie
  • Klimaschränke
  • Zell- und Modultester zur Zyklisierung
  • Druckfeste Gefäße für zerstörende Prüfungen

Nach oben