Logo PTB

Josephson Effect, Voltage

Working Group 2.63

Profile

Our working group works in the field of research, development, and optimization of new methods and instruments for traceable and highly precise measurements or synthesis of DC- and AC voltages based on the Josephson effect.  In recent years AC applications are gaining in importance as more and more national metrology institutes and a number of industrial laboratories have successfully installed conventional 10 V Josephson voltage  standards for routine calibrations.

 

Tasks of this working group are:

Voltage Standards  Maintenance of the electrical voltage based on the Josephson Effect

 

josephson arrays Development of new methods based on Josephson voltage standards

 

Quantum Metrological Measuring Facility Installation and improvement of new calibration facilities for quantum metrology

To top

Research/Development

Objectives of our  working group comprise research and development of

 

Cryoprobe with screen and Josephson chips  pulse-driven Josephson standards,

 

Schematic diagram of the quantum impedance bridge new methods, such as Josephson Impedance bridges,  and calibration techniques in the field of traceable dc and ac voltage with highest precision based on Josephson voltage standards,

 

A section of an array of Josephson Junctions  on the basis of Josephson arrays,  

 

Metrological Measuring Facility as well as Installation and improvement of new calibration facilities (AC quantum voltmeter) for quantum metrology, focusing on establishing these systems in industry.

 

This group works closely together with others of department 2 "Electricity" (PTB Braunschweig). Many projects are part of international research collaborations, e.g. European Metrology Research Program EMRP (Joint Research Projects "Q-WAVE" and "AIM QuTE") and the European Metrology Programme for Innovation and Research EMPIR (Joint Research Project "ACQ PRO").

To top

Services

Our working group does not offer services. Group 2.1 Direct Current and Low Frequency is responsible for the dissemination of the electrical voltage by calibrating voltmeter (digital multimeter) and reference voltages.
Information about our calibration service can be found in our Database, or by contacting us directly.

To top

Information

One task of this working group is the maintenance of the electrical voltage, Volt, based on the Josephson-Effect. Measurements based on this quantum effect allow for uncertainties of less than 1 nV for voltages up to 10 V.


Our world-leading measurement expertise with quantum voltage is confirmed by constant international intercomparisons with BIPM.

 

Josephson-Laboratory

Josephson-Laboratory

To top

Logo PTB

Josephson-Effekt, Spannung

Arbeitsgruppe 2.63

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe verfolgt die Erforschung, Entwicklung und Optimierung von neuen Methoden und Instrumenten für die rückgeführte und höchstpräzise Messung und Erzeugung von Gleich- und Wechselspannungen auf Basis des Josephson-Effekts. Dabei spielen Messsysteme für Wechselspannungsanwendungen in den letzten Jahren eine zunehmend wichtigere Rolle, nachdem weltweit in allen bedeutenden nationalen Metrologieinstituten sowie etlichen Firmen-Laboratorien konventionelle 10-V-Josephson-Spannungsnormale erfolgreich für Gleichspannungsanwendungen betrieben werden.


Die Aufgaben der Arbeitsgruppe umfassen

Elektronische Spannungsnormale Bewahrung der Einheit für elektrische Spannung auf Basis des Josephson-Effekts

 

Josephson Arrays Entwicklung von neuen Methoden auf Basis von Josephson-Spannungsnormalen

 

Quantenmetrologischer Messplatz Aufbau und Optimierung von Messplätzen in der elektrischen Quantenmetrologie

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Die Forschungsaufgaben der Arbeitsgruppe umfassen die Entwicklung und Optimierung von

 

Probenstab mit abgenommenen Abschirmbecher und Probenhalter mit Josephson-Chip  pulsgetriebenen Josephson-Normalen,

 

Schematischer Aufbau der Impedanzbrücke  Verfahren, wie Josephson-Impedanzmessbrücken, für die rückgeführte Messung und Erzeugung von Gleich- und Wechselspannungen mit höchster Präzision,

 

 Teil einer Josephson-Reihen-Schaltung  auf Basis von Josephson-Schaltungen

 

 AC Quantenvoltmeter  sowie Aufbau und Optimierung von Messplätzen (AC-Quantenvoltmeter) für eine quantenbasierte Realisierung in der Industrie.

 

Die Arbeiten werden in enger Zusammenarbeit mit benachbarten Fachbereichen der Abteilung 2 "Elektrizität" (PTB Braunschweig) durchgeführt. Viele der Aktivitäten sind in Forschungsvorhaben mit internationaler Kooperation eingebunden, zum Beispiel im Rahmen der Europäischen Metrologie-Forschungsprogramme EMRP (Joint Research Projects "Q-WAVE" und "AIM QuTE") und EMPIR (Joint Research Project "ACQ PRO").

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe selbst bietet keine Dienstleistungen an. Die Weitergabe der Gleichspannung erfolgt über Kalibrierungen von Spannungsmessgeräten (Digitalmultimeter) und von Spannungsnormalen im Fachbereich 2.1 Gleichstrom und Niederfrequenz.
Informationen zu unseren Kalibriermöglichkeiten finden sie in unserer Datenbank oder auch gerne über einen direkten Kontakt.

Nach oben

Informationen

Eine Aufgabe der Arbeitsgruppe besteht in der Reproduzierung und Bewahrung der Einheit der elektrischen Spannung Volt basierend auf dem Josephson-Effekt. Durch die Rückführung der Spannung auf diesen Quanteneffekt können Unsicherheiten von kleiner als 1 nV für Spannungen bis 10 V realisiert werden.


Durch internationale Vergleiche mit dem BIPM hat die PTB gezeigt, dass sie in diesem Bereich weltweit eine Spitzenstellung einnimmt.

 

Josephson-Labor

Josephson-Labor

Nach oben