Logo PTB

Single-electron circuits

Single-electron circuits allow control of single charge quanta (electrons) in electronic circuits (Single-Electron Transport = SET). Their function is based on the Coulomb blockade effect, which is the electrostatic effect of repulsion with equal sign. In extremely small, typically nanostructured, circuits this effect becomes so strong that it can be exploited experimentally at very low temperatures (typically a few thousandths of a degree above absolute zero).


Special SET circuits, so-called single electron pumps, enable the generation of electrical currents via clocked transport of individual electrons. Recent advances in this field allow the generation of currents > 100 pA with relative uncertainties of one part in a million and better. Another type of SET circuits, called single-electron transistors, enables the detection of single electrons. Combinations of both types of SET-circuits enable new applications for fundamental metrological research.


Generation of electric currents with a single electron pump

Generation of electric currents with a single electron pump, schematically symbolized by a toothed wheel. Individual electrons (yellow) are clocked through the circuit at repetition frequency f. According to the definition of electrical current as an electrical charge flowing per unit time, this results in a current ISET = e.f, with the elementary charge e (charge of an electron).


The working group is involved in the exploitations of these effects for metrological applications, such as the future quantum-based representation of the ampere and the realization of the "Quantum Metrological Triangle".

A survey on the state of research on SET circuits is provided by the following review article:

  • J. P. Pekola, O.-P. Saira, V. F. Maisi, A. Kemppinen, M. Möttönen, Y. A. Pashkin, D. V. Averin, „Single-electron current sources: Toward a refined definition of the ampere“, Rev. Mod. Phys. 85, 1421 (2013)

 

Back to Home AG 2.61

Logo PTB

Einzelelektronen-Schaltungen

Einzelelektronen-Schaltungen erlauben die Steuerung einzelner Ladungsquanten (Elektronen) in elektronischen Schaltkreisen (engl. Single-Electron Transport, abgekürzt SET). Ihre Funktion basiert auf dem Coulomb-Blockade-Effekt, also dem Effekt der elektrostatischen Abstoßung gleichnamiger Ladungen. In extrem kleinen, typischerweise nanostrukturierten Schaltkreisen wird dieser Effekt so stark, dass er bei sehr niedrigen Temperaturen (typischerweise einige tausendstel Grad über dem absoluten Nullpunkt) experimentell genutzt werden kann.

Spezielle SET-Schaltungen, sogenannte Einzelelektronen-Pumpen, ermöglichen die Erzeugung von elektrischen Strömen durch getakteten Transport einzelner Elektronen. Jüngste Fortschritte auf diesem Gebiet erlauben die Erzeugung von Stromstärken > 100 pA mit relativen Unsicherheiten von einem Teil in einer Million und besser. Ein anderer Typ von SET-Schaltungen, genannt Einzelelektronen-Transistoren, ermöglicht die Detektion einzelner Elektronen. Kombinationen beider SET-Schaltungstypen ermöglichen neue Anwendungen in der metrologischen Grundlagenforschung.

 

Schema der Erzeugung von elektrischen Strömen mit einer Einzelelektronen-Pumpe

Schema der Erzeugung von elektrischen Strömen mit einer Einzelelektronen-Pumpe, in diesem Bild symbolisiert durch ein Zahnrad. Einzelne Elektronen (gelb) werden mit der Frequenz f getaktet durch die Schaltung transportiert. Gemäß der Definition der elektrischen Stromstärke als elektrische Ladung, die pro Zeiteinheit durch einen Leiterquerschnitt fließt, entsteht so ein Strom der Stärke ISET = e . f, wobei e die Elementarladung (Ladung eines Elektrons) ist.

 

Die Arbeitsgruppe befasst sich mit der Nutzbarmachung der genannten Effekte für metrologische Einsatzzwecke, wie beispielsweise der zukünftigen quantenbasierte Darstellung der Stromstärkeeinheit Ampere sowie Realisierungen des "Quantenmetrologischen Dreiecks".

 

Einen aktuellen Überblick zum Stand der Forschung über SET-Schaltungen bietet der folgende Übersichtsartikel:

 

  • J. P. Pekola, O.-P. Saira, V. F. Maisi, A. Kemppinen, M. Möttönen, Y. A. Pashkin, D. V. Averin, „Single-electron current sources: Toward a refined definition of the ampere“, Rev. Mod. Phys. 85, 1421 (2013)

 

 

Zurück zur Startseite AG 2.61