Logo PTB

Electrical Quantum Metrology

Department 2.6

Tasks

The department "Electrical Quantum Metrology"

 

  • provides the electrical quantum standards for the realization of the basic electrical units current, voltage and resistance, which serve as a basis for the representation of the electrical units in the International System of Units SI with reference to natural constants, and


  • develops and optimises new quantum-based electrical measurement methods and systems, in particular for the creation of user-friendly systems also for use outside of metrology institutes.

 

Many activities are being pursued in close cooperation with working groups of the departments 2.4, 2.5 and 7.6, often also together with external partners in cooperation projects in national and European programs (for example EMPIR).


Main goal is the further development of metrological setups, methods and instruments in order to simplify their typically complex and expensive operation. This benefits service- and customer-oriented sections in metrology institutes such as PTB (especially in department 2.1), and also enables the use of quantum-based standards in industrial calibration laboratories.

 

  • In working group 2.61 "Current and Quantum Resistance", the realisation of the resistance unit ohm based on the quantum Hall effect is performed. Focus of research is the exploration and optimization of new materials for realizing the quantum Hall effect under simplified conditions, as well as the development of industrial measuring bridges for resistance metrology. In addition, the working group develops new methods for the traceable and highly accurate measurement and generation of small DC electrical currents and for the realization of the ampere (A).

 

 

 

 

  • Working group 2.63 "Josephson effect, voltage" deals with the realization of the voltage unit Volt (V) by using the Josephson effect. Integrated circuits of tens of thousands of superconducting tunnel junctions (Josephson elements) allow the quantum-based generation of DC voltages and low-frequency AC voltages with amplitudes up to 10 volts. Precise synthesis of AC voltages with arbitrary waveforms at higher frequencies is made possible by circuits based on pulse-driven Josephson devices. 

 

 

 

Working GroupsWorking Groups

Logo PTB

Elektrische Quantenmetrologie

Fachbereich 2.6

Aufgaben

Der Fachbereich „Elektrische Quantenmetrologie“

  • stellt die elektrischen Quantennormale zur Realisierung der elektrischen Grundeinheiten Stromstärke, Spannung und Widerstand bereit, welche als Grundlage für die Darstellung der elektrischen Einheiten im Internationalen Einheitensystem SI unter Rückführung auf Naturkonstanten dienen, und
  • erschließt neue quantenbasierte elektrische Messmethoden sowie -systeme und entwickelt diese weiter, insbesondere zur Schaffung nutzerfreundlicher Systeme für den Einsatz auch außerhalb von Metrologieinstituten.

Viele Arbeiten werden in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Arbeitsgruppen der Fachbereiche 2.4, 2.5 und 7.6 verfolgt, häufig auch mit externen Partnern im Rahmen von Kooperationsprojekten in nationalen und europäischen Programmen (zum Beispiel EMPIR).

Wesentliches Ziel ist die Weiterentwicklung messtechnischer Aufbauten, Methoden und Instrumente um deren komplexen und aufwändigen Betrieb zu vereinfachen. Dies kommt zum einen dienstleistungs- und kundenorientierten Bereichen in Metrologieinstituten wie der PTB (hier vor allem im Fachbereich 2.1) zugute, zum anderen wird dadurch der Einsatz von quantenbasierten Normalen auch in industriellen Kalibrierlaboratorien ermöglicht.

  • In der Arbeitsgruppe 2.61 „Stromstärke und Quanten-Widerstand“ erfolgt die Realisierung der Widerstandseinheit Ohm durch Rückführung auf den Quanten-Hall-Effekt. Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die Nutzbarmachung neuer Materialien, mit denen der Effekt unter vereinfachten Bedingungen zum Einsatz gebracht werden kann, sowie die Entwicklung von industrietauglichen Messbrücken für die Widerstandsmetrologie. Außerdem entwickelt die Arbeitsgruppe neue Methoden für die rückgeführte und höchstgenaue Messung und Erzeugung kleiner elektrischer Gleichströme und zur Realisierung des Ampere (A).
  • Die Arbeitsgruppe 2.63 „Josephson-Effekt, Spannung“ ist mit der Realisierung der Spannungseinheit Volt (V) durch Nutzung des Josephson-Effekts befasst. Integrierte Schaltungen aus Zehntausenden von supraleitenden Tunnelkontakten (Josephson-Elementen) erlauben die quantenbasierte Erzeugung von Gleichspannungen und niederfrequenten Wechselspannungen mit Amplituden bis 10 Volt. Die präzise Synthese von Wechselspannungen mit beliebigen Wellenformen bei höheren Frequenzen wird durch Schaltungen basierend auf pulsgetriebenen Josephson-Elementen ermöglicht.

ArbeitsgruppenArbeitsgruppen