Logo PTB
Electron microscope image of a magnetic nano wire with electric contacts

Femtosecond Measurement Techniques and Nanomagnetism

Working Group 2.52

Profile

The Working Group Femtosecond Measurement Techniques and Nanomagnetism works on the development of time-resolved optoelectronic measurement techniques for electric fields in the GHz and THz frequency range. Based on such optoelectronic measurements, the working group offers a calibration service for the time response of sampling oscilloscopes and photodiodes with a nominal bandwidth of up to 100 GHz.

The working group also does research and development for precise measurements of nanomagnetic quantities. The main fields of work in this context are measurements of magnetization dynamics, local stray field measurements, as well as measurements of magneto thermo electric properties of magnetic nanostructures.

Finally, basic research on carrier and current dynamics in semiconductors is persued. Such studies might prove useful for the future characterization of electrical high-frequency components.

To top

Research/Development

Development of time-resolved optoelectronic measurement techniques

In information processing and communication technologies, the data rates of electronic devices have been constantly increasing in recent years. In order to keep pace with this development, national metrology institutes, such as PTB, have to introduce new techniques for the traceable measurement of the transfer characteristics and intrinsic time responses of high-speed electronic devices. For this purpose optoelectronic measurement techniques based on femtosecond optics are well suited. The working group Femtosecond Measurement Techniques develops such novel measurement methods.

Magnetic imaging

In the field of magnetic imaging we focus on the characterization of nano patterned magnetic structures by magnetic force microscope (MFM) supported by measurements based on SQUID susceptometry, magnetotransport and magneto optics. Our priorities are (i) the development of quantitative measurements for nano-scale field measurements and (ii) the use of MFM for the characterization of magnetic nanostructures and nano devices.

Magnetisation dynamics

An important question for the future enhancement of magnetic storage media is the maximum speed of with which digital data can be written. As this write operation is based on the magnetization reversal of a magnetic memory cell this question is directly related to a fundamental physical question: What is the physical ultra fast limit of magnetization reversal speed? In our present research project this question is addressed. A time resolved Opens internal link in current windowmagneto transport setup is used to detect the ferromagnetic Opens internal link in current windowprecession in magnetic memory devices. This allows us to obtain information about ultra fast Opens internal link in current windowswitching of the magnetization.

Time-resolved light-matter interaction

For the characterization of highest-frequency components it is desirable to produce ultrashort current pulses, the temporal form of which can be varied arbitrarily. Hitherto methods to produce current pulses of a few 100 fs in length are based on a combination of electronic and optical procedures that do not allow a variation. The Femtosecond Measurement Techniques group investigates the generation of ultrashort current pulses by means of solely optical methods. With these methods it is, in principal, possible to modify the shape of these current pulses.

At PTB special semiconductor nanostructures were produced. These nanostructures are excited with short optical pulses taking certain symmetry conditions into account. By exploiting non-linear optical processes an electrical current is created in the semiconductor. In this process the charge carriers are not accelerated in an existing electric field as would be for a normal electrical current.

The pulses are measured via the simultaneously generated electromagnetic radiation: the pulses produce a polarization variation which acts as a source for electromagnetic radiation emitted into free space. Due to the ultrashort optical excitation the current pulses and radiated electromagnetic pulses are merely a few 100 fs in duration. Such short pulses contain frequency components of several THz which is why they are usually called THz pulses. The temporal shape of the emitted THz pulses is measured using electro-optic sampling methods.

In addition to possible interesting applications, this THz method is also employed for the investigation of light-matter interaction. In particular interesting effects of carrier and current dynamics in semiconductors are studied.

 

See publications for selected articles on all of the topics mentioned above.

To top

Services

High-speed sampling oscilloscopes are an important tool for the development of ultrafast electronic circuits in the information and communication industry. The intrinsic rise time of these oscilloscopes is very short, which allows the user to display ultrafast electrical transients. However, the oscilloscope rise time is finite and may distort the measured transients. In order to correct the distortion, the user needs to know the time response of the oscilloscope. For its measurement, methods are required with an even better time resolution. Therefore, PTB has developed an optoelectronic method that allows for the traceable measurement of the time response of sampling oscilloscopes.

For this purpose, ~1 ps short voltage pulses are generated on a coplanar waveguide with a photoconductive semiconductor switch, which is excited by 100 fs laser pulses. The voltage pulses are coupled into the oscilloscope via a microwave probe. Electro-optic sampling allows for the measurement of the voltage pulses on the waveguide with 300 fs time resolution. From such experimental data, the distortion that the voltage pulses experience on their way towards the oscilloscope can be calculated. In turn, the shape of the voltage pulses at the oscilloscope input can be computed. Deconvolution of the measured oscilloscope trace with the known input pulse yields the impulse response and transfer function of the oscilloscope.

Similar techniques are also used for the characterisation of the time response of ultrafast photodiodes. Currently, the working group offers a calibration service for sampling oscilloscopes and photodiodes with a nominal bandwidth of up to 100 GHz. 

 

See publications for selected articles on this topic.

To top

Information

Opens external link in new windowThermometer for nanocircuits 1/2018

Magnetic tunnel junctions enable absolute, time-resolved temperature measurements of nanocircuits

Opens external link in new windowTime-resolved measurement of the anomalous velocity 12/2015

Movement of charge carriers perpendicular to an electric driving field in a solid state system detected for the first time with sub-picosecond time resolution

Opens external link in new windowVector network analysis using lasers 11/2015

Femtosecond lasers enable precise, cost-effective high-frequency measurements and could replace standard electrical devices in the future

Opens external link in new windowOptically steerable terahertz source 06/2013

Selected optical excitation of electron flows in semiconductors allows the controlled spatial orientation of electromagnetic radiation

To top

Logo PTB
Elektronenmikroskopische Aufnahme eines magnetischen Nanodrahtes mit elektrischen Kontakten

Femtosekunden-Messtechnik und Nanomagnetismus

Arbeitsgruppe 2.52

Profil

Die Arbeitsgruppe Femtosekunden-Messtechnik und Nanomagnetismus beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung zeitaufgelöster optoelektronischer Messverfahren für elektrische Felder im GHz- und THz-Frequenzbereich. Basierend auf solchen optoelektronischen Abtastverfahren bietet die Arbeitsgruppe einen Kalibrierservice für die Zeitantwort von Sampling-Oszilloskopen und Photodioden mit einer Bandbreite bis zu 100 GHz an.

Die Arbeitsgruppe beschäftigt sich ferner mit der Rückführung der Messung nanomagnetischer Größen. Hierbei liegt der aktuelle Fokus im Bereich der Magnetisierungsdynamik, der lokalen Streufeldmessungen sowie im Bereich der magneto-thermoelektrischen Messungen an magnetischen Nanostrukturen.

Des Weiteren werden in dieser Arbeitsgruppe Grundlagenuntersuchungen zu Ladungsträger- und Stromdynamik in Halbleitern durchgeführt. Solche Untersuchungen könnten für die zukünftige Charakterisierung von Höchstfrequenzkomponenten wichtig werden.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Entwicklung zeitaufgelöster optoelektronischer Messverfahren

In den letzten Jahren sind die Taktfrequenzen elektronischer Bauteile der Informationsverarbeitungs- und Kommunikationstechnik stetig angestiegen. Dies stellt metrologische Staatsinstitute wie die PTB vor die Aufgabe, neue Verfahren zur rückführbaren Messung der Übertragungseigenschaften und Eigenanstiegszeiten von Höchstfrequenzelektronik zu entwickeln. Dazu bieten sich optoelektronische Messverfahren an, die auf Femtosekunden-Optik basieren. In der Arbeitsgruppe Femtosekunden-Messtechnik werden unter anderem solche neuartigen Messverfahren entwickelt.

Magnetische Abbildung

Der Bereich Magnetische Abbildung befasst sich mit der Charakterisierung nanoskaliger magnetischer Strukturen durch magnetische Kraftmikroskopie (Magnetic Force Microscopy - MFM) ergänzt u.a. durch Messungen mittels einem SQUID-Suszeptometer und Magnetotransport. Schwerpunkte der Arbeiten sind (i) Entwicklung von quantitativer Feldmesstechnik auf nm-Skala. Dabei wurden zum Beispiel Verfahrens für die rückführbare Messung von Magnetisierung und Feldern auf Nanometer-Skala entwickelt. (ii) Bereitstellung von Messtechnik für die Charakterisierung von Nanostrukturen.

Magnetisierungsdynamik

Ein wichtiger Punkt für die zukünftige Weiterentwicklung von magnetischen Speichermedien ist die maximale Geschwindigkeit, mit der die digitalen Daten auf dem Speicher abgelegt werden können. Da der Schreibvorgang aber letztendlich immer auf die Ummagnetisierung einer magnetische Zelle hinausläuft, ist dieser Punkt auch direkt mit einer grundlegenden physikalischen Fragestellung verknüpft: Wie schnell lässt sich die Magnetisierung eines Ferromagneten umkehren? Diese Fragestellung wird in den hier beschriebenen Arbeiten untersucht. Durch zeitaufgelöste Magnetotransportmessungen wird die ferromagnetische Präzessionsbewegung der Magnetisierung detektiert. Mit dieser Messmethode wird das ultra schnelle Schalten der Magnetisierung untersucht.

Zeitaufgelöste Licht-Materie Wechselwirkung

Für die Charakterisierung von Höchstfrequenzkomponenten ist es wünschenswert, ultrakurze Strompulse zu erzeugen, deren zeitliche Form man beliebig variieren kann. Bisherige Methoden zur Generation von wenigen 100 fs langen Strompulsen basieren auf einer Mischung von elektronischen und optischen Verfahren und lassen diese Möglichkeit nicht zu. In der Arbeitsgruppe Femtosekunden-Messtechnik werden unter anderem Verfahren untersucht, mit denen es möglich ist, ultrakurze Strompulse mit rein optischen Methoden zu erzeugen. Mit diesem Verfahren ist eine Variation der Form dieser Strompulse prinzipiell möglich.

Zur Erzeugung der rein optisch generierten Ströme werden spezielle Halbleiternanostrukturen in der PTB hergestellt und unter Beachtung bestimmter Symmetriebedingungen mit kurzen optischen Pulsen angeregt. Durch Ausnutzung nichtlinearer optischer Prozesse entsteht dabei ein Stromfluss im Halbleiter. Hierbei werden die Ladungsträger - anders als bei einem normalen Stromfluss - nicht in einem vorhandenen elektrischen Feld beschleunigt.

Nachgewiesen werden die Ströme über die gleichzeitig auftretende elektromagnetische Strahlung: Die Ströme erzeugen eine Polarisationsänderung, die als Quelle für in den freien Raum abgestrahlte elektromagnetische Wellen wirkt. Durch den kurzen optischen Anregungspuls sind die Strompulse und damit auch die abgestrahlten elektromagnetischen Pulse nur wenigen 100 fs lang. Solche kurzen Pulse beinhalten Frequenzkomponenten von mehreren Terahertz, weshalb standardmäßig von THz-Pulsen gesprochen wird. Mittels elektro-optischer Methoden werden die in den freien Raum abgestrahlten THz-Pulse messtechnisch charakterisiert.

Neben interessanten Perspektiven für Anwendungen kann diese THz-Technik auch für Grundlagenuntersuchungen zur Licht-Materie-Wechselwirkung verwendet werden. Insbesondere interessante Effekte von Ladungsträger und Stromdynamik in Halbleitern lassen sich damit untersuchen.

 

Siehe Publikationen für einen Überblick über ausgewählte Arbeiten zu allen hier aufgeführten Themen.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Breitbandige Sampling-Oszilloskope sind ein unentbehrliches Werkzeug für die Entwicklung ultraschneller elektronischer Schaltungen in der Datenverarbeitungs- und Kommunikationstechnik. Diese Oszilloskope besitzen sehr kleine Eigenanstiegszeiten und erlauben daher die zeitliche Darstellung ultraschneller elektrischer Signale. Die Anstiegszeit ist jedoch nicht Null, so dass die Messkurven verzerrt sein können. Um die Verzerrung zu korrigieren, muss der Anwender die Zeitantwort des Oszilloskops kennen. Zur deren Bestimmung bedarf es eines Messverfahrens mit noch höherer Zeitauflösung. Deshalb hat die PTB ein optoelektronisches Verfahren zur rückgeführten Bestimmung der Zeitantwort von ultraschnellen Sampling-Oszilloskopen entwickelt.

Dazu werden ca. 1 ps kurze Spannungsimpulse auf einem koplanaren Wellenleiter erzeugt, indem ein photoleitender Halbleiterschalter mit 100 fs kurzen Laserimpulsen kurzgeschlossen wird. Die Spannungsimpulse werden über eine Mikrowellen-Abtastspitzen in das Oszilloskop eingekoppelt. Ein elektro-optisches Abtastverfahren erlaubt die Vermessung der Spannungsimpulse auf dem Wellenleiter mit 300 fs Zeitauflösung. Aus solchen Messungen lässt sich die Verformung der Impulse auf dem Weg zum Oszilloskop bestimmen und die Form der Impulse am Oszilloskopeingang berechnen. Die Entfaltung der Oszilloskopkurve mit den bekannten Eingangsimpulsen liefert die Impulsantwort bzw. Übertragungsfunktion des Oszilloskops.

Ähnliche Methoden werden auch für die Charakterisierung der Zeitantwort von ultraschnellen Photodioden angewendet. Gegenwärtig kann ein Kalibrierservice für Sampling-Oszilloskope und Photodioden mit einer nominellen Bandbreite bis 100 GHz angeboten werden.

Opens external link in new windowLink zu den Kalibrier- und Messmöglichkeiten.

Siehe Publikationen für einen Überblick über ausgewählte Arbeiten zu diesem Thema.

Nach oben

Informationen

Opens external link in new windowThermometer für Nanoschaltkreise 1/2018

Magnetische Tunnelkontakte ermöglichen absolute, zeitaufgelöste Temperaturmessung von Nanoschaltkreisen

Opens external link in new windowAnomale Geschwindigkeit zeitaufgelöst gemessen 12/2015

Bewegung von Ladungsträgern in Festkörpern senkrecht zu einem antreibenden elektrischen Feld erstmals mit Subpikosekunden-Zeitauflösung detektiert

Opens external link in new windowVektor-Netzwerkanalyse mit Lasern 11/2015

Femtosekundenlaser ermöglichen präzise, kostengünstige Hochfrequenzmessungen und könnten zukünftig etablierte elektrische Geräte ersetzen

Opens external link in new windowOptisch lenkbare Terahertz-Quelle 06/2013

Gezielte optische Anregung von Elektronenflüssen in Halbleitern erlaubt kontrollierte räumliche Ausrichtung der elektromagnetischen Strahlung

Nach oben