Logo PTB

Josephson Technology

Working Group 2.43

Profile

Our working group is focused on the research and development of circuits for voltage standards based on the Opens internal link in current windowJosephson effects in close co-operation with the Opens internal link in current windowworking group 2.41. These highly-integrated superconductive circuits are used for precision electrical voltage measurements. Here, Josephson voltage standards for AC applications have increasingly gained in importance in recent years, after conventional 1 V and 10 V Josephson voltage standards are successfully operated for DC applications in all major national metrology institutes (NMI) and some company laboratories world-wide. In contrast to conventional voltage standards consisting of underdamped Josephson junctions, programmable voltage standards are based on overdamped Josephson junctions, which are realised by SNS or SINIS multilayer structures (S: Superconductor, I: Insulator, N: Normal metal). These overdamped Josephson junctions show a non-hysteretic current-voltage-characteristic, which remains single-valued under microwave irradiation. In order to reach output voltages of 1 V or 10 V, thousands or even tens of thousands Josephson junctions are connected in series arrays. These series arrays are fabricated using the technology of the department in the Opens internal link in current windowClean Room Facility of PTB.

To top

Research/Development

We focus our activities on the research and development of highly-integrated series arrays for AC Josephson voltage standards with a close co-operation with the Opens internal link in current windowworking group 2.41, which is focused on designs and layouts. Here, we are engaged in investigations of two types of AC voltage standards, which are based on binary-divided and pulse-driven series arrays, respectively. Because of their operation principle being similar to an Digital-to-Analogue Converter (DAC), systems based on binary-divided series arrays are often called programmable Josephson voltage standards. As pulse-driven series arrays enable the synthesis of spectrally pure waveforms, this type is often called Josephson Arbitrary Waveform Synthesizer (Opens internal link in current windowJAWS). Using a modified and advanced JAWS set-up, we are able to synthesise waveforms with output voltages of 1 V since mid 2014. Besides binary-divided Opens internal link in current window1 V series arrays containing 8,192 Josephson junctions, we successfully fabricate Opens internal link in current window10 V arrays consisting of about 70,000 Josephson junctions for more than 10 years.

In addition to circuits for voltage standards, we also use our technology for fabrication of other circuits containing Josephson junctions as Opens internal link in current windownanoSQUIDs.

Main tasks are:

  • development, fabrication, and investigation of binary-divided Opens internal link in current window1 V and Opens internal link in current window10 V Josephson series arrays for programmable voltage standards
  • development, fabrication, and investigation of series arrays for pulse-driven AC Josephson voltage standards (Opens internal link in current windowJAWS)
  • fabrication of Opens internal link in current windownanoSQUIDs
  • investigation of different materials for optimised Josephson junctions.


The arrays are developed in close co-operation with the Opens internal link in current windowworking group 2.41 and fabricated using the technology of the department in the Opens internal link in current windowClean Room Facility of PTB. Measurements and applications are performed in close co-operation with the Opens internal link in current windowworking group 2.63 Josephson Effect, Voltage of Opens internal link in current windowdepartment 2.6 Electrical Quantum Metrology. The AC Josephson voltage standards are partly developed within the framework of national and international projects. Within the framework of the European Metrology Research Programme (Opens external link in new windowEMRP), we coordinated the project "Q-WAVE - A quantum standard for sampled electrical measurements" with a runtime from June 2013 to May 2016. The aim of Q-WAVE was to provide direct and efficient traceability for precision devices operating at frequencies up to 10 MHz. More information is available Opens external link in new windowhere. We are also contributing to the EMPIR project "QuADC - Waveform metrology based on spectrally pure Josephson waveforms" with a runtime from June 2016 to May 2019. More information is available Opens external link in new windowhere.

Additional information and more details related to our activities are available Opens internal link in current windowhere.

Some information on terminated projects and events of our working group is available in the Opens internal link in current windowarchive.

To top

Services

Our working group does not offer services.

To top

Information

To top

Logo PTB

Josephson-Technologie

Arbeitsgruppe 2.43

Profil

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe entwickelt Schaltungen für Spannungsnormale auf Basis der Opens internal link in current windowJosephson-Effekte in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Opens internal link in current windowArbeitsgruppe 2.41 und stellt diese Schaltungen her. Diese hochintegrierten supraleitenden Schaltungen werden für Präzisionsmessungen der elektrischen Spannung eingesetzt. Dabei spielen Josephson-Spannungsnormale für Wechselspannungsanwendungen in den letzten Jahren eine zunehmend wichtigere Rolle, nachdem weltweit in allen bedeutenden nationalen Metrologieinstituten sowie etlichen Firmen-Laboratorien konventionelle 1-V- und 10-V-Josephson-Spannungsnormale erfolgreich für Gleichspannungsanwendungen betrieben werden. Im Gegensatz zu den konventionellen Spannungsnormalen aus unterdämpften Josephson-Kontakten bestehen die Spannungsnormale für Wechselspannungsanwendungen aus überdämpften Josephson-Kontakten, die sich z.B. mit einer Schichtenfolge aus SNS oder SINIS herstellen lassen (S: Supraleiter, I: Isolator, N: Normalleiter). Diese überdämpften Josephson-Kontakte zeigen eine nichthysteretische Stromstärke-Spannungs-Kennlinie, die auch unter Mikrowellen-Einstrahlung eindeutig bleibt. Um Ausgangsspannungen von 1 V oder 10 V zu erzeugen, müssen tausende oder sogar zehntausende Josephson-Kontakte zusammengeschaltet werden. Für die Herstellung der Schaltungen in Dünnschichttechnologie nutzen wir die technologischen Möglichkeiten des Fachbereichs im Opens internal link in current windowReinraumzentrum der PTB.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Im Mittelpunkt unserer Forschungsaktivitäten steht die Entwicklung und Herstellung von hochintegrierten Reihenschaltungen für AC-Josephson-Spannungsnormale, wobei wir für die Designs und Layouts eng mit Opens internal link in current windowArbeitsgruppe 2.41 zusammenarbeiten. Dabei beschäftigen wir uns mit zwei Varianten, die auf binär geteilten bzw. pulsgetriebenen Reihenschaltungen basieren. Aufgrund ihres Arbeitsprinzips ähnlich einem Digital-Analog-Wandler werden Systeme mit binär-geteilten Schaltungen häufig auch als programmierbare Josephson-Spannungsnormale bezeichnet. Mit pulsgetriebenen Schaltungen lassen sich extrem reine Wellenformen synthetisieren, weshalb diese Variante häufig Josephson Arbitrary Waveform Synthesizer, Opens internal link in current windowJAWS (etwa: Josephson Synthesizer für beliebige Wellenformen) genannt wird. Mit einem modifizierten und erweiterten JAWS-System mit 63.000 Josephson-Kontakten können wir seit Mitte 2014 Ausgangsspannungen bis 1 V erzeugen. Neben Opens internal link in current window1-V-Schaltungen aus 8192 Josephson-Kontakten mit binärer Unterteilung stellen wir seit 10 Jahren auch Opens internal link in current window10-V-Schaltungen aus knapp 70.000 Josephson-Kontakten erfolgreich her.

Zusätzlich zu den Schaltungen für Spannungsnormale nutzen wir unsere Technologie, um andere Schaltungen mit Josephson-Kontakten wie z.B. Opens internal link in current windownanoSQUIDs herzustellen, mit denen sich kleinste Magnetfelder extrem empfindlich messen lassen.

Schwerpunkte unserer Arbeit sind:

  • Entwicklung, Herstellung und Untersuchung von binär geteilten Opens internal link in current window1-V- und Opens internal link in current window10-V-Josephson-Reihenschaltungen für programmierbare Spannungsnormale
  • Entwicklung, Herstellung und Untersuchung von Josephson-Reihenschaltungen für puls-getriebene Josephson-Spannungsnormale (Opens internal link in current windowJAWS)
  • Untersuchung verschiedener Materialien für optimierte Josephson-Kontakte.


Dabei arbeiten wir für Designs und Layouts eng mit der Opens internal link in current windowArbeitsgruppe 2.41 Entwurf von Josephson-Schaltungen zusammen, nutzen auf technologischer Seite die Möglichkeiten des Fachbereichs im Opens internal link in current windowReinraumzentrum der PTB und kooperieren auf messtechnischer Seite eng mit der Opens internal link in current windowArbeitsgruppe 2.63 Josephson-Effekt, Spannung im Opens internal link in current windowFachbereich 2.6 Elektrische Quantenmetrologie statt. Die Forschungsarbeiten finden teilweise im Rahmen von nationalen und internationalen Projekten statt. Im Rahmen des europäischen Metrologie-Forschungsprogramm (Opens external link in new windowEMRP) haben wir das Projekt "Q-WAVE - A quantum standard for sampled electrical measurements" mit einer Laufzeit von Juni 2013 bis Mai 2016 koordiniert. Ziel dieses Projekts war, eine direkte und effiziente Rückführbarkeit für Präzisionsgeräte im Frequenzbereich bis 10 MHz zur Verfügung zu stellen. Weitere Informationen zu Q-WAVE (in Englisch) finden sich Opens external link in new windowhier. An dem EMPIR-Projekt "QuADC - Waveform metrology based on spectrally pure Josephson waveforms" mit einer Laufzeit von Juni 2016 bis Mai 2019 sind wir ebenfalls maßgeblich beteiligt (weitere Informationen in Englisch finden sich Opens external link in new windowhier).

Weitere Details zu unseren Aktivitäten finden sich auch auf den Opens internal link in current windowweiterführenden Seiten unserer Arbeitsgruppe.

Einige Informationen zu abgeschlossenen Projekten und durchgeführten Veranstaltungen unserer Arbeitsgruppe finden sich im Opens internal link in current windowArchiv.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe bietet keine Dienstleistungen an.

Nach oben

Informationen

Nach oben