Logo PTB

Superconductor Circuit Design

Working Group 2.41

Profile

Our working group is developing circuit layouts for different circuits based on the Opens internal link in current windowJosephson effects in close cooperation with the Opens internal link in current windowworking group 2.43. AC Josephson voltage standards and complex Opens internal link in current windownanoSQUIDs are among these circuits. Our group also conveys the development and execution of the required fabrication processes by the Opens internal link in current windowworking group 2.43.

The layouts for highly integrated superconducting circuits are suitable for applications in HF-operation mode. For this, microstrip-lines (MSL) and coplanar waveguides (CPW) are integrated at the chips to enable the operation by irradiation of continuous microwaves up to 70 GHz and by short microwave pulses up to 15 GHz RTZ-pulses. Furthermore, there are on-chip passive components implemented, like low-pass filter, coils, capacitors and resistors. An essential part of the circuits are the Josephson junctions and different types of these junctions are used:

  • SNS junctions with different normal metal N-barriers: NbSi and HfTi
  • SIS junctions with AlOx as isolating I-barrier.

Due to the excellent homogeneity of the circuit fabrication with extremely low parameter spread, series arrays with many thousands of Josephson junctions can be realized. Here, the PTB has an important position among the Metrology institute worldwide.

There was developed and optimized a fabrication process based on electron-beam lithography and chemical-mechanical polishing (CMP) at PTB, which is applied in the Opens internal link in current windowclean room facility to fabricate complex nanometer-sized structures with high yield. Due to a special feature of the SNS junctions with HfTi barrier this miniaturizing is possible at all: the critical current density can be adjusted in a wide range from a view kA/cm2 up to 1 MA/cm2.

To top

Research/Development

For the pulse-driven Josephson voltage standard (Josephson arbitrary waveform synthesizer Opens internal link in current windowJAWS) the circuit layouts are permanently further developed in close cooperation with the Opens internal link in current windowworking group 2.43, e.g. in order to increase the output voltage and integration density. By connecting 16 arrays in series with 162 000 junctions in total an output voltage of 2.25 V RMS was recently demonstrated.

For distinct applications of the JAWS, like the electronic Kelvin (Johnson noise thermometry JNT) and the JAWS based impedance bridge (Opens internal link in current windowworking group 2.63), specialized circuit layouts are created. Within the framework of European joint research projects individual JAWS designs are developed too, e.g. for the optical pulse drive of the JAWS arrays and for implementing the JAWS chips into compact cryo-cooler systems. For these purposes, the layouts will be developed, the circuits are fabricated and characterized and finally delivered to our project partners. A close cooperation to the working group 2.63 exists, where the voltage standards are used in precision metrological measurements.

The JAWS is well established nowadays and demonstrated its usability in practice. Therefore, the whole development of the PTB will be transferred for commercialization to a small high-technology company within the framework of a National funded project. This includes the transfer of the circuits layouts, the fabrication technology and the experimental setup and software (code generation, system control, data processing).

For the development of nanoSQUIDs on the basis of SNS Josephson junctions with HfTi as N-barrier highly complex layouts are developed and fabricated within a long-standing cooperation (partly funded by DFG project) between university Tübingen (Opens external link in new windowPhysikalisches Institut - Festkörperphysik) and PTB Berlin (Opens internal link in current windowFachbereich 7.2). Thanks to the well-established nanotechnology of PTB all feature sizes can be reduced to the nanometer scale. Additionally, it is possible to fabricate the integrated SQUID loops in-plane and out-of-plane simultaneously. This increases the layout flexibility and enables the realization of completely new sensor generations.

A large variety of new SQUID sensors with outstanding features can be created by using up to three independent superconducting Nb layers and one normal conducting AuPd layer. An extremely high spatial resolution allowed the application of these nanoSQUIDs in a SQUID microscope for the characterization of magnetic nanoparticle or for the detection of NEMS systems. Furthermore, the NanoSQUIDs provide an extremely low noise (ca. 130 nΦ0/Hz1/2), high magnetic field resistance and an outstanding spin resolution (ca. 10 µB/Hz1/2) and an impressive energy resolution (ca. 13 h). Therefore, these NanoSQUIDs are among the world’s best already.

The very promising results achieved, shall be investigated in further research projects.

To top

Services

Our working group does not offer services.

To top

Logo PTB
Arbeitsgruppe 2.41: Untersuchung von normal- und supraleitenden Schaltungen auf der Basis metallischer Strukturen

Entwurf von Josephson-Schaltungen

Arbeitsgruppe 2.41

Profil

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe entwickelt Designs und Layouts für verschiedene Schaltungen auf Basis der  Opens internal link in current windowJosephson-Effekte in enger Zusammenarbeit mit  Opens internal link in current windowArbeitsgruppe 2.43. Zu diesen Schaltungen zählen insbesondere AC-Josephson-Spannungsnormale und komplexe  Opens internal link in current windownanoSQUIDs. Außerdem begleiten wir die Herstellung der Schaltungen durch die Opens internal link in current windowArbeitsgruppe 2.43 sowie die Weiterentwicklung der Technologie.

Die Schaltungslayouts für hochintegrierte supraleitende Schaltungen müssen für die Anwendungen im HF-Betrieb geeignet sein. Dazu werden Mikrostreifenleiter (MSL) und koplanare Wellenleiter (CPW) auf den Chips integriert, um den Einsatz der Schaltungen bei hohen Frequenzen durch Einstrahlung von kontinuierlichen Mikrowellen bis zu 70 GHz oder kurzen Mikrowellenpulsen bis zu 15 GHz RTZ-Pulsen zu ermöglichen. Weiterhin sind passive Komponenten, wie Tiefpassfilter, Spulen, Kondensatoren und Widerstände on-chip integriert. Wesentlicher Bestandteilt der Schaltungen sind Josephson Kontakte. Verschiedene Josephson-Kontakt Typen kommen zum Einsatz:

  • SNS-Kontakte mit unterschiedlichen normalleitenden N-Barrieren: NbSi und HfTi
  • SIS-Kontakte mit AlOx als isolierende I-Barriere.

Infolge der hervorragenden Homogenität der Schaltungsherstellung mit extrem geringer Parameterstreuung, können Serienschaltungen mit vielen Tausend Josephson-Kontakten realisiert werden – hier hat die PTB bei den Metrologie-Instituten weltweit eine Spitzenposition.

Aufgrund eines an der PTB entwickelten und optimierten Herstellungsprozesses auf der Basis von Elektronenstrahllithographie und chemisch-mechanischem Polieren (CMP) werden im  Opens internal link in current windowReinraumzentrum komplexe Nanostrukturen mit hoher Ausbeute hergestellt. Da die kritische Stromdichte bei SNS-Kontakten mit HfTi Barriere in einem weiten Bereich von wenigen kA/cm2 bis zu 1 MA/cm2 gezielt eingestellt werden kann, ist diese Miniaturisierung überhaupt erst möglich.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Für das pulsgetriebene Josephson Spannungsnormal (Josephson Arbitrary Waveform Synthesizer Opens internal link in current windowJAWS) werden die Schaltungslayouts in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Opens internal link in current windowArbeitsgruppe 2.43 permanent weiterentwickelt, um z.B. die Ausgangsspannung und die Integrationsdichte zu erhöhen. Mit bis zu 16 Schaltungen in Serie und insgesamt 162 000 Kontakten wurde jüngst eine Ausgangsspannung von 2.25 V RMS erfolgreich demonstriert.

Für spezielle Anwendungen des JAWS, das elektronische Kelvin (Johnson Noise Thermometrie JNT) und die JAWS-Impedanzbrücke (Opens internal link in current windowArbeitsgruppe 2.63), werden sehr spezialisierte Schaltungslayouts erstellt. Im Rahmen von europäischen Projekten werden außerdem spezielle JAWS Designs entwickelt, um z.B. einen optischen Pulsbetrieb oder den Einsatz in sehr kompakten Kleinkühlern zu realisieren. Hierzu werden die Layouts entwickelt, die Schaltungen hergestellt und charakterisiert, sowie die fertigen Schaltungen an die Projektpartner geliefert. Eine enge Kooperation mit der Opens internal link in current windowArbeitsgruppe 2.63 findet statt – dort werden die Spannungsnormale in Präzisionsmessungen metrologisch eingesetzt.

Da das JAWS mittlerweile sehr gut entwickelt wurde und seine Praxistauglichkeit vielfach bewiesen hat, soll nun die gesamte Entwicklung der PTB in einem nationalen Projekt an eine kleine Hochtechnologie-Firma zur kommerziellen Verwertung übertragen werden. Dies betreffen die Schaltungslayouts, den Herstellungsprozess und den experimentellen Aufbau inkl. sämtlicher Software (Code-Erstellung, System-Steuerung, Daten-Auswertung).

Für die Entwicklung der NanoSQUIDs auf der Basis von SNS-Josephson-Kontakten mit HfTi als N-Barriere, werden im Rahmen einer langjährigen Kooperation (zum Teil DFG-Projekt Förderung) mit der Universität Tübingen (Opens external link in new windowPhysikalisches Institut - Festkörperphysik) und der PTB Berlin (Opens internal link in current windowFachbereich 7.2) verschiedenste hochkomplexe Schaltungslayouts entwickelt und erstellt. Hierbei können dank der ausgereiften Nano-Technologie der PTB alle Strukturgrößen in den Nanometerbereich verringert werden. Es ist auch möglich, die integrierten SQUID-Spulen gleichzeitig in-plane und out-of-plane herzustellen, was eine erhöhte Flexibilität beim Layout ergibt und völlig neue Sensoren ermöglicht.

In bis zu drei unabhängigen supraleitenden Nb-Schichten und einer normalleitenden AuPd-Schicht, können vielfältige Konfigurationen von neuartigen SQUID-Sensoren mit überragenden Eigenschaften kreiert werden. Eine extrem hohe Ortsauflösung ermöglichte den Einsatz dieser NanoSQUIDs in SQUID-Mikroskopen zur Charakterisierung von magnetischen Nanopartikeln oder zur Detektion von NEMS-Systemen. Weiterhin zeigen diese NanoSQUIDs ein extrem geringes Rauschen (ca. 130 nΦ0/Hz1/2), hohe Magnetfeldbeständigkeit (ca. 0,5 mT), eine hervorragende Spin-Auflösung (ca. 10 µB/Hz1/2) und eine ebenso beeindruckende Energieauflösung (ca. 13 h), wodurch sie bereits jetzt zu den "besten" NanoSQUIDs weltweit zählen.

Die bereits erzielten sehr vielversprechenden Ergebnisse sollen in weiteren Forschungsprojekten weiter ausgelotet werden.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe bietet keine Dienstleistungen an.

Nach oben