Logo PTB

Electricity

Division 2

In Division 2, the world of metrology rotates around the "electrical triangle" of volt, ohm and ampere - from high-frequency and energy measuring technology to quantum electronics.

Tasks

Electrical quantities are ubiquitous in metrology. The Electricity Division is charged with the realization and dissemination of the electrical and magnetic units. To this end, the Electricity Division develops precision electromagnetic measurements, which are based on electrical quantum metrology and quantum standards nowadays. Nanotechnology is employed and advanced for the in-house fabrication of superconductor and semiconductor quantum standards. Fundamental studies of quantum effects in condensed matter lay the groundwork for the electrical metrology of the future.


The Electricity Division offers various calibration services (see Calibration and Measurement Capabilities) and advises governmental authorities, standardization organizations, and industry on electrical measurements. Knowledge transfer programs support innovation and economic growth.

News

The Helmholtz Prize 2018 in the category "Application" was awarded to a research team of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt. Dietmar Drung (Division 7), Martin Götz, Eckart Pesel and Hansjörg Scherer (all Division 2) received the prize, which is considered the most prestigious award in the field of metrology, for their groundbreaking improvements in the field of high-precision traceable...

[ more ]

For the first time, measurements performed on systems for air navigation control and surveillance have shown that wind turbines (WT) may impose influences on the signal integrity of such systems. These results were found during a research project coordinated by the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB). The measurement instrumentation and methods used up to now have not been able to identify...

[ more ]
More news

DepartmentsDepartments

Logo PTB

Elektrizität

Abteilung 2

Die Messwelt dreht sich in Abteilung 2 um das „elektrische Dreieck“ Volt, Ohm und Ampere – von der Hochfrequenz- und Energiemesstechnik bis hin zur Quantenelektronik.

Aufgaben

Elektrische Größen treten in nahezu allen Bereichen des Messwesens auf. Aufgabe der Abteilung "Elektrizität" ist die Darstellung und Weitergabe der elektrischen und magnetischen Einheiten. Dazu führt die Abteilung Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten auf dem Gebiet der elektrischen Präzisionsmesstechnik durch. Grundlage für diese Arbeiten ist eine auf die Erfordernisse der elektrischen Quantenmetrologie zugeschnittene Nanotechnologie für die In-House-Fertigung von Supraleiter- und Halbleiter-Quantennormalen. Durch grundlegende Untersuchungen von Quantenphänomenen in Festkörpern erarbeitet die Abteilung die Basis für die elektrische Metrologie von morgen.

 

Die Abteilung bietet ein breites Spektrum von Kalibriermöglichkeiten an (s. Kalibrier- und Messmöglichkeiten)  und berät Politik, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft in Fragen der elektrischen Messtechnik. Im Rahmen des Technologietransfers unterstützt die Abteilung die Industrie bei der Lösung messtechnischer Probleme.

Nachrichten

Ein Forscherteam der Physikalisch-Technischen Bundesanstalt wurde mit dem Helmholtz-Preis 2018 in der Kategorie "Anwendung" ausgezeichnet. Dr. Dietmar Drung (Abteilung 7), Dr. Martin Götz, Eckart Pesel und Dr. Hansjörg Scherer (alle Abteilung 2) erhielten den Preis, der als renommierteste Auszeichnung in Bereich der Metrologie gilt, für bahnbrechende Verbesserungen im Bereich der rückgeführten...

[ mehr ]

Messungen in der Umgebung von verschiedenen Typen von Flugsicherungsanlagen haben bestätigt, dass Einflüsse von Windenergieanlagen auf die Signale dieser Systeme bestehen. Dies hat ein Forschungsprojekt unter Führung der Physikalisch-Technischen Bundesanstalt ergeben. Die bisher eingesetzten Messmethoden waren bisher weltweit nur bedingt geeignet, um solche Nachweise zu führen. Die Messergebnisse...

[ mehr ]
Weitere Nachrichten

Fachbereiche & ArbeitsgruppenFachbereiche & Arbeitsgruppen