Logo PTB

Innovation Award on Synchrotron Radiation for PTB researchers


Abbildung 1: The awardees of the 'Innovation Award on Synchrotron Radiation 2011' (from the left): K. Tiedtke, A. A. Sorokin, M. Richter, U. Kroth, U. Jastrow, and S.V. Bobashev together with W. Gudat the chair of the Society of Friends of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin during the award ceremony on 1 December 2011.

The 'Innovation Award on Synchrotron Radiation 2011' was given to U. Kroth, M. Richter (PTB Berlin), K.Tiedtke, U. Jastrow, A. A. Sorokin (DESY Hamburg) and S.V. Bobashev (Joffe Physico-Technical Institute, St Petersburg). On 1 December 2011, they received the Innovation Award in Berlin for their contributions to the development and implementation of gas monitor detectors (GMDs) for free-electron laser (FEL) radiation applications.

The work was started more than ten years ago at the former Tesla Test Facility (TTF) of DESY in Hamburg. At the TTF successor, the FEL for soft X-rays FLASH, GMDs calibrated by PTB in Berlin-Adlershof using dispersed synchrotron radiation are installed as permanent parts of the online photon diagnostics for absolute pulse energy measurements. Meanwhile, several GMD upgrades have been used for characterization measurements at SPPS and LCLS in Stanford (USA), SCSS and SACLA of SPring-8/RIKEN in Japan, and FERMI in Trietse, i.e. at all current FEL facilities for soft and hard X-rays in the world.

The Innovation Award is granted by the Society of Friends of Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (HZB) and is announced throughout Europe for an outstanding technical achievement or experimental method that promises to extend the frontiers of research with synchrotron and FEL radiation.


M. Richter, 7.1, e-mail: Mathias.Richter(at)ptb.de