Logo of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt

Adlershof Prize for the best doctoral thesis


Fig. 1: Raul Garcia Diez just after the award ceremony

Raul Garcia Diez from the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin – and former doctoral candidate of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) – was awarded the prize for the "Opens external link in new windowBest doctoral thesis Adlershof 2017" on 14 February 2018 for the thesis he elaborated in the X-ray Radiometry working group at PTB's laboratory at BESSY II. This prize is endowed with 3000 euros and has been awarded every year since 2012 by the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, the Initiativgemeinschaft Außeruniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen in Adlershof e.V. (IGAFA – a scientific network representing nine non-university research institutions, located in the technology park Berlin-Adlershof) and the WISTA-MANAGEMENT company. Raul Garcia Diez defended his thesis, "Characterization of nanoparticles by continuous contrast variation in small-angle X-ray scattering", which received a summa cum laude distinction at the Technische Universität Berlin in April 2017.



M. Krumrey, 7.11, E-Mail: Opens window for sending emailMichael.Krumrey(at)ptb.de

M. Richter, 7.1, E-Mail: Opens window for sending emailMathias.Richter(at)ptb.de