Logo of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt

2010 young spectrometrist Ph.D. award for Matthias Müller


At the 2010 European conference on X-Ray Spectrometry (EXRS), which took place from June 20 to 25 in Figueira da Foz (Portugal), the European X-ray Spectrometry Association (EXSA)  honoured Dr. Matthias Müller with the 2010 young spectrometrist Ph.D. award.

Matthias Müller performed his Ph.D. thesis in PTB’s X-ray Spectrometry group  on novel methodologies for quantitative wavelength-dispersive X-Ray Fluorescence (XRF) analysis in the soft x-ray range employing well-defined synchrotron radiation at the electron storage ring BESSY II  and worked on related applications in the characterization of contaminations on semiconductor surfaces, of nanolayers and of advanced materials.


B. Beckhoff, 7.12, E-Mail: Burkhard.Beckhoff(at)ptb.de

M. Müller, 7.12, E-Mail: Matthias.Mueller(at)ptb.de