Logo PTB

Regression

Working Group 8.42

Content

Description

Regression problems occur in many metrological applications, e.g. in everyday calibration tasks (as illustrated in Annex H.3 of the Opens external link in new windowGUM), in the evaluation of interlaboratory comparisons, the characterization of sensors [Opens external link in new windowMatthews et al., 2014], determination of fundamental constants [Opens external link in new windowBodnar et al., 2014], interpolation or prediction tasks [Opens external link in new windowWübbeler et al., 2012], and many more. Such problems arise when the quantity of interest cannot be measured directly, but has to be inferred from measurement data (and their uncertainties) using a mathematical model that relates the quantity of interest to the data. For example, regressions may serve to evaluate the functional relation between variables.

result of straight line regression and prediction
Fig. 1: Illustration of a typical straight line regression problem with normally distributed measurement errors. Displayed is the fitted mean regression curve (solid line) and its pointwise 95% credible intervals (dashed lines). The thin vertical line shows a prediction at a new value $x$ and its 95% credible interval. The small circles represent the measurements data.

Definition and Examples

Regression problems often take the form
$$
\begin{equation*}
y_i = f_{\boldsymbol{\theta}}(x_i) + \varepsilon_i , \quad i=1, \ldots, n \,,
\end{equation*}
$$
where the measurements $\boldsymbol{y}=(y_1, \ldots, y_n)^\top$ are explained by a function $f_{\boldsymbol{\theta}}$ evaluated at values $\boldsymbol{x}=(x_1, \ldots, x_n)^\top$ and depending on unknown parameters $\boldsymbol{\theta}=(\theta_1, \ldots, \theta_p)^\top$. The measurement error $\pmb{\varepsilon}=(\varepsilon_1, \ldots, \varepsilon_n)^\top$ follows a specified distribution $p(\pmb{\varepsilon} | \boldsymbol{\theta}, \boldsymbol{\sigma}).$
Regressions may be used to describe the relationship between a traceable, highly accurate reference device with values denoted by $x$ and a device to be calibrated with values denoted by $y$. The pairs $(x_i,y_i)$ then denote simultaneous measurements made by the two devices of the same measurand such as, for example, temperature.
A simple example is the Normal straight line regression model (as illustrated in Figure 1):
$$
\begin{equation} \label{int_reg_eq1}
y_i = \theta_1 + \theta_2 x_i + \varepsilon_i , \quad \varepsilon_i \stackrel{iid}{\sim} \text{N}(0, \sigma^2), \quad i=1, \ldots, n \,.
\end{equation}
$$
The basic goal of regression tasks is to estimate the unknown parameters $\pmb{\theta}$ of the regression function and possibly also the unknown parameters of the error distribution $\pmb{\sigma}$. The estimated regression model may then be used to evaluate the shape of the regression function, predictions or interpolations of intermediate or extrapolated $x$-values, or to invert the regression function to predict $x$-values for new measurements.

To top

Research

Decisions based on regression analyses require a reliable evaluation of measurement uncertainty. The current state of the art in uncertainty evaluation in metrology (i.e. the GUM and its supplements) provides little guidance for regression, however. One reason is that the GUM guidelines are based on a model that relates the quantity of interest (the measurand) to the input quantities. Yet, regression models cannot be uniquely formulated as such a measurement function. By way of example, Annex H.3 of the GUM nevertheless suggests a possibility for analyzing regression problems. However, this analysis contains elements from both classical (least squares) and Bayesian statistics such that the results are not deduced from state-of-knowledge distributions and usually differ from a purely classical or Bayesian approach which was shown in [Opens external link in new windowElster et al., 2011].


Consequently, there is a need for guidance and research in metrology for uncertainty evaluation in regression problems. The Joint Committee for Guides in Metrology (JCGM) has recognized this need. PTB Working Group 8.42 lead the development of guidance for Bayesian inference of regression problems within the EMRP project NEW04, which is summarized in a Guide [Initiates file downloadElster et al., 2015]. This Guide also contains template solutions for specific regression problems with known values $\boldsymbol{x}$ and is available free of charge at the Opens external link in new windowNEW04 project web page. For regression problems with Gaussian measurement errors and linear regression functions (such as in formula (1)), [Opens external link in new windowKlauenberg et al., 2015_2] provide guidance when extensive numerical calculations (such as Markov Chain Monte Carlo methods) are to be avoided in a Bayesian inference.


In addition, PTB Working Group 8.42 carries out research emerging from metrological applications involving regression. For example,

  • for the analysis of magnetic field fluctuation thermometry, [Opens external link in new windowWübbeler et al., 2012] propose and validate a Bayesian and [Opens external link in new windowWübbeler et al., 2013] a simplified approach  to perform interpolations or predictions based on regression results,
  • for the determination of fundamental constants, [Opens external link in new windowBodnar et al., 2014] provide an objective Bayesian inference and compare it to the Birge ratio method,
  • for the analysis of immunological tests called ELISA, [Opens external link in new windowKlauenberg et al., 2015] have developed informative prior distributions which are widely applicable,
  • for the calibration of flow meters, [Opens external link in new windowKok et al., 2015] provide a Bayesian analysis which accounts for constraints on the values of the regression curve.
To top

Software

In order to facilitate the application of the methods developed in the working group, the following software implementations are made available free of charge.

 

MCMC implementation for the analysis of magnetic field fluctuation thermometry

Bayesian approaches to performing regression often require numerical methods such as Markov Chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) sampling. For the analysis in magnetic field fluctuation thermometry, PTB Working Group 8.42 has developed a MATLAB software package to perform MCMC sampling from the posterior distribution of the calibration parameters and to subsequently estimate temperatures.
This software is available in the electronic supplement to the related publication.

Related publication

G. Wübbeler, F. Schmähling, J. Beyer, J. Engert, and C. Elster (2012). Analysis of magnetic field fluctuation thermometry using Bayesian inference. Meas. Sci. Technol. 23, 125004 (9pp), [DOI: 1018088/0957-0233/23/12/125004].

 

WinBUGS software for the analysis of immunoassay data

The Bayesian approach enables the inclusion of additional prior knowledge in regression problems, but often requires numerical methods such as Markov Chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) sampling. For the analysis of immunoassay data, PTB Working Group 8.42 has developed WinBUGS software code to perform MCMC sampling from the posterior distribution for the calibration parameters and the unknown concentration.
This software is available in A Guide to Bayesian Inference for Regression Problems.

Related publications

K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, B. Ebert, and C. Elster (2015). Informative prior distributions for ELISA analyses. Biostatistics 16, 454-464, [DOI: 10.1093/biostatistics/kxu057].

C. Elster, K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, G. Wübbeler, P. Harris, M. Cox, C. Matthews, I. Smith, L. Wright, A. Allard, N. Fischer, S. Cowen, S. Ellison, P. Wilson, F. Pennecchi, G. Kok, A. van der Veen, and L. Pendrill (2015). A Guide to Bayesian Inference for Regression Problems Deliverable of EMRP project NEW04 “Novel mathematical and statistical approaches to uncertainty evaluation”, [Initiates file downloaddownload (pdf)].

 

Rejection sampling for the flow meter calibration problem

Bayesian approaches to Normal linear regression problems yield analytical solutions under certain circumstances. Nevertheless, accounting for constraints on the values of the regression curve when calibrating flow meters requires a Monte Carlo procedure combined with an accept/reject algorithm to obtain samples from the posterior distribution.
MATLAB source code implementing this algorithm is available in A Guide to Bayesian Inference for Regression Problems

Related publications

G. J. P. Kok, A. M. H. van der Veen, P. M. Harris, I.M. Smith, C. Elster (2015). Bayesian analysis of a flow meter calibration problem. Metrologia 52, 392-399,  [DOI: 10.1088/0026-1394/52/2/392].

C. Elster, K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, G. Wübbeler, P. Harris, M. Cox, C. Matthews, I. Smith, L. Wright, A. Allard, N. Fischer, S. Cowen, S. Ellison, P. Wilson, F. Pennecchi, G. Kok, A. van der Veen, and L. Pendrill (2015). A Guide to Bayesian Inference for Regression Problems Deliverable of EMRP project NEW04 “Novel mathematical and statistical approaches to uncertainty evaluation”, [Initiates file downloaddownload (pdf)].

 

Software for Bayesian Normal linear regression

Under certain circumstances, Bayesian approaches to Normal linear regression problems yield analytical solutions. In connection with a tutorial, PTB Working Group 8.42 provides software to calculate the posterior distribution of all regression parameters, the regression curve, predictions as well as for estimates, most uncertainties and credible intervals, and also graphically represent these quantities.
MATLAB and R source code for these calculations is available at

Related Publications

K. Klauenberg, G. Wübbeler, B. Mickan, P. M. Harris, and C. Elster. (2015). A Tutorial on Bayesian Normal Linear Regression. Metrologia, 52, 878–892. [DOI: 10.1088/0026-1394/52/6/878]

C. Elster, K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, G. Wübbeler, P. Harris, M. Cox, C. Matthews, I. Smith, L. Wright, A. Allard, N. Fischer, S. Cowen, S. Ellison, P. Wilson, F. Pennecchi, G. Kok, A. van der Veen, and L. Pendrill (2015). A Guide to Bayesian Inference for Regression Problems Deliverable of EMRP project NEW04 “Novel mathematical and statistical approaches to uncertainty evaluation”, [Initiates file downloaddownload (pdf)].

An introductory example for Markov chain Monte Carlo (MCMC)

When the Guide to the Expression of Uncertainty in Measurement (GUM) and methods from its supplements are not applicable, the Bayesian approach may be a valid and welcome alternative. Evaluating the posterior distribution, estimates or uncertainties involved in Bayesian inferences often requires numerical methods to avoid high-dimensional integrations. Markov chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) sampling is such a method—powerful, flexible and widely applied. PTB Working Group 8.42 has developed a concise introduction, illustrated by a simple, typical example from metrology. Accompanied with few lines of software code to implement the most basic and yet flexible MCMC method, interested readers are invited to get started. MATLAB as well as R source code are available in the related publication.

Related Publication

K. Klauenberg und C. Elster Markov chain Monte Carlo methods: an introductory exampleMetrologia, 53(1), S32, 2016. [DOI: 10.1088/0026-1394/53/1/S32

To top

Publications

G. Wübbeler, O. Bodnar and C. Elster
Metrologia, 55(1),
20,
2018.
C. Elster and G. Wübbeler
Comput. Stat., 32(1),
51--69,
2017.
M. Dierl, T. Eckhard, B. Frei, M. Klammer, S. Eichstädt and C. Elster
Journal of the Optical Society of America A, 33(7),
1370--1376,
2016.
C. Elster and G. Wübbeler
Metrologia, 53(1),
S10,
2016.
K. Klauenberg and C. Elster
Metrologia, 53(1),
S32,
2016.
C. Elster, K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, P. M. Harris, M. G. Cox, C. Matthews, L. Wright, A. Allard, N. Fischer, S. Ellison, P. Wilson, F. Pennecchi, G. J. P. Kok, A. Van der Veen and L. Pendrill
EMRP NEW04,
, 2015
K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, B. Ebert and C. Elster
Biostatistics, 16(3),
454--64,
2015.
G. J. P. Kok, A. M. H. van der Veen, P. M. Harris, I. M. Smith and C. Elster
Metrologia, 52(2),
392-399,
2015.
K. Klauenberg, G. Wübbeler, B. Mickan, P. Harris and C. Elster
Metrologia, 52(6),
878--892,
2015.
O. Bodnar and C. Elster
Metrologia, 51(5),
516--521,
2014.
S. Eichstädt and C. Elster
Journal of Physics: Conference Series, 490(1),
012230,
2014.
S. Heidenreich, H. Gross, M.-A. Henn, C. Elster and M. Bär
J. Phys. Conf. Ser., 490(1),
012007,
2014.
C. Matthews, F. Pennecchi, S. Eichstädt, A. Malengo, T. Esward, I. M. Smith, C. Elster, A. Knott, F. Arrhén and A. Lakka
Metrologia, 51(3),
326-338,
2014.
G. Wübbeler and C. Elster
Measurement Science and Technology, 24(11),
115004,
2013.
G. Wübbeler, F. Schmähling, J. Beyer, J. Engert and C. Elster
Measurement Science and Technology, 23(12),
125004,
2012.
C. Elster and B. Toman
Metrologia, 48(5),
233--240,
2011.
I. Lira, C. Elster and W. Wöger
Metrologia, 44(5),
379--384,
2007.
Export as:
BibTeX, XML
To top

Logo PTB

Regression

Arbeitsgruppe 8.42

Inhalt

Beschreibung

Regressionsprobleme entstehen in vielen metrologischen Anwendungen. Hierzu zählen zum Beispiel alltägliche Kalibrationsaufgaben (siehe  Anhang H.3 des  Opens external link in new windowGUM), die Auswertung von Ringvergleichen,  die Charakterisierung von Sensoren [Opens external link in new windowMatthews et al., 2014], die Bestimmung von Elementarkonstanten [Opens external link in new windowBodnar et al., 2014] sowie Interpolations- und  Prognoseprobleme [Opens external link in new windowWübbeler et al., 2012]. Regressionen dienen dabei der Schätzung des funktionalen Zusammenhangs zwischen Variablen.

Gaußsche Regression
Abb.1: Illustration eines typischen linearen Regressionsproblems mit normalverteilten Messfehlern. Dargestellt sind die mittlere Regressionskurve (durchgezogenen Linie) und dessen punktweise 95% Überdeckungs- intervalle (gestrichelte Linien). Die dünne vertikale Linie zeigt die Prognose an einem neuen x-Wert und sein 95% Überdeckungsintervall. Die Punkte repräsentieren die Messdaten.

Definition und Beispiele

Regressionsprobleme haben oft die Form

$$
\begin{equation*}
y_i = f_{\boldsymbol{\theta}}(x_i) + \varepsilon_i , \quad i=1, \ldots, n \,,
\end{equation*}
$$

das heißt, die Messungen $\boldsymbol{y}=(y_1, \ldots, y_n)^\top$ werden beschrieben durch eine Funktion $f_{\boldsymbol{\theta}}$, die an den Werten $\boldsymbol{x}=(x_1, \ldots, x_n)^\top$ berechnet wird und von unbekannten Parametern $\boldsymbol{\theta}=(\theta_1, \ldots, \theta_p)^\top$ abhängt. Dem Messfehler $\pmb{\varepsilon}=(\varepsilon_1, \ldots, \varepsilon_n)^\top$ werden Wahrscheinlichkeiten aus einer Verteilung $p(\pmb{\varepsilon} | \boldsymbol{\theta}, \boldsymbol{\sigma})$ zugeordnet.

Regressionen können beispielsweise die Beziehung zwischen einem rückführbaren, hochgenauen Referenzgerät mit Werten $x$ und einem zu kalibrierenden Gerät mit Werten $y$ beschreiben. Die Paare $(x_i,y_i)$ bezeichnen dann die simultanen Messungen, die die zwei Geräte für die gleiche Messgröße anzeigen, zum Beispiel für die Temperatur.

Ein einfaches Beispiel ist die Gaußsche Geradenregression (siehe Abb. 1)

$$
\begin{equation} \label{int_reg_eq1}
y_i = \theta_1 + \theta_2 x_i + \varepsilon_i , \quad \varepsilon_i \stackrel{iid}{\sim} \text{N}(0, \sigma^2), \quad i=1, \ldots, n \,.
\end{equation}
$$

Das grundlegende Ziel von Regressionsaufgaben ist die Schätzung der unbekannten Parameter $\pmb{\theta}$ der Regressionsfunktion und möglicherweise auch der unbekannten Parameter $\pmb{\sigma}$ der Fehlerverteilung. Sind diese Regressionsparameter geschätzt, kann die Form der Regressionskurve ausgewertet, Prognosen für inter- oder extrapolierende  $x$-Werte erstellt oder die Regressionsfunktion umgekehrt werden, um $x$-Werte neuer Messungen vorherzusagen.

Nach oben

Forschung

Entscheidungen, die auf Regressionsanalysen basieren, erfordern eine zuverlässige Auswertung der Messunsicherheiten. Der gegenwärtige Stand der Unsicherheitsauswertungen in der Metrologie (siehe GUM und seine Ergänzungen) ist für Regressionen jedoch wenig geeignet. Ein Grund ist, dass die GUM-Richtlinien auf einem Model basieren, welches die Messgröße direkt aus den Eingangsgrößen ableitet. Regressionsmodelle lassen sich  jedoch nicht eindeutig durch solche Messfunktionen beschreiben. Anhand eines Beispiels schlägt Annex H.3 des GUM trotzdem eine Möglichkeit zur Analyse von Regressionsproblemen vor. Diese Auswertung  beinhaltet sowohl Elemente aus der klassischen Statistik (kleinste Quadrate) als auch der Bayesschen Statistik, so dass die Ergebnisse nicht auf "state-of-knowledge" Verteilungen basieren und sich im Allgemeinen von einem rein klassischen oder rein Bayesschen Ansatz unterscheiden, wie in [Opens external link in new windowElster et al., 2011] gezeigt wurde.

Auf dem Gebiet der Unsicherheitsberechnung für Regressionsprobleme werden in der Metrologie deshalb Richtlinien und zusätzliche Forschung benötigt. Das Joint Committee for Guides in Metrology (JCGM) erkennt diesen Bedarf an. Im Rahmen des EMRP-Projektes NEW04 [Initiates file downloadElster et al., 2015] wurden unter Leitung der PTB Arbeitsgruppe 8.42 Richtlinien für die Bayessche Inferenz von Regressionsproblemen erarbeitet. Diese Richtlinie enthält auch Musterlösungen für spezifische Regressionsprobleme mit bekannten Werten x. Sie kann auf der Opens external link in new windowInternetseite des NEW04-Projektes kostenlos heruntergeladen werden. Für Regressionsprobleme mit Gauß-verteilten Messfehlern und linearer Regressionsfunktion (siehe Formel (1)) werden in [Opens external link in new windowKlauenberg et al., 2015_2] Hinweise gegeben, wie für eine Bayessche Analyse auf extensive numerische Berechnungen (z.B. Markov Chain Monte Carlo Methoden) verzichtet werden kann.


Außerdem werden in der  PTB Arbeitsgruppe 8.42 Untersuchungen zu metrologischen Anwendungen durchgeführt, in denen Regressionsprobleme auftreten. Zum Beispiel

  • für Analysen in der Magnetfeldfluktuationsthermometrie, wird in [Opens external link in new windowWübbeler et al., 2012] ein Bayesscher und in [Opens external link in new windowWübbeler et al., 2013] ein vereinfachter Ansatz zur Interpolation und Prognose vorgeschlagen und validiert,
  • für die Bestimmung von Elementarkonstanten, wird in [Opens external link in new windowBodnar et al., 2014] eine sogenannte objektive Bayessche Inferenz entwickelt und mit der oft angewandten Birge ratio Methode verglichen,
  • für die Analyse von immunologischen Tests (ELISA), werden in [Opens external link in new windowKlauenberg et al., 2015] informative prior-Verteilungen konstruiert, die vielfältig anwendbar sind,
  • für die Kalibrierung von Durchflussmessgeräten, wird in [Opens external link in new windowKok et al., 2015] eine Bayessche Analyse betrachtet, die auch Randbedingungen der Regressionskurve berücksichtigt.
Nach oben

Software

Um eine einfache Anwendung der in der Arbeitsgruppe entwickelten Methoden zu ermöglichen, stehen die folgenden Software-Implementationen kostenfrei zur Verfügung.

 

MCMC-Software für die Analyse von Magnetfeldfluktuationsthermometrie

Bayessche Lösungsansätze für Regressionsprobleme erfordern meist den Einsatz numerischer Methoden wie das Markov-Chain-Monte-Carlo-Verfahren (MCMC). Für Analysen in der Magnetfeldfluktuationsthermometrie hat die PTB Arbeitsgruppe 8.42 ein MATLAB-Softwarepaket entwickelt, um MCMC für die posterior-Verteilung der Kalibrationsparameter durchzuführen und um anschließend Temperaturen zu schätzen.
Diese Software ist im elektronischen Supplement der dazugehörigen Publikation erhältlich.

Zugehörige Publikation

G. Wübbeler, F. Schmähling, J. Beyer, J. Engert, and C. Elster (2012). Analysis of magnetic field fluctuation thermometry using Bayesian inference. Meas. Sci. Technol. 23, 125004 (9pp), [DOI: 1018088/0957-0233/23/12/125004].

 

WinBUGS-Software für die Analyse von Immunassay-Daten

Der Bayessche Ansatz ermöglicht das Einbeziehen von zusätzlichem Vorwissen (prior knowledge) für Regressionsprobleme, erfordert aber oft den Einsatz von numerischen Methoden wie dem Markov-Chain-Monte-Carlo-Verfahren (MCMC). Für die Analyse von Immunassay-Daten hat die PTB Arbeitsgruppe 8.42 WinBUGS-Softwarecode entwickelt, um MCMC für die posterior-Verteilungen der Kalibrationsparameter und der unbekannten Konzentration durchzuführen.
Diese Software steht im A Guide to Bayesian Inference for Regression Problems zur Verfügung.

Zugehörige Publikationen

K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, B. Ebert, and C. Elster (2015). Informative prior distributions for ELISA analyses. Biostatistics 16, 454-464, [DOI: 10.1093/biostatistics/kxu057].

C. Elster, K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, G. Wübbeler, P. Harris, M. Cox, C. Matthews, I. Smith, L. Wright, A. Allard, N. Fischer, S. Cowen, S. Ellison, P. Wilson, F. Pennecchi, G. Kok, A. van der Veen, and L. Pendrill (2015). A Guide to Bayesian Inference for Regression Problems Deliverable of EMRP project NEW04 “Novel mathematical and statistical approaches to uncertainty evaluation”, [Initiates file downloaddownload (pdf)].

 

Verwerfungsmethode (Rejection sampling) für die Kalibration von Durchflussmessgeräten

Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen führen Bayessche Ansätze für lineare Regressionsprobleme mit normalverteilten Messfehlern zu analytischen Lösungen. Sollen aber bei der Kalibration von Durchflussmessgeräten auch Randbedingungen für die Werte der Regressionskurve einbezogen werden, ist es erforderlich, eine Monte-Carlo-Methode mit einem Acceptance-Rejection-Schritt zu kombinieren, um Stichproben aus der posterior-Verteilung zu erhalten.
MATLAB-Quellcode, der diesen Algorithmus implementiert,  steht im A Guide to Bayesian Inference for Regression Problems zur Verfügung.

Zugehörige Publikationen

G. J. P. Kok, A. M. H. van der Veen, P. M. Harris, I.M. Smith, C. Elster (2015). Bayesian analysis of a flow meter calibration problem. Metrologia 52, 392-399,  [DOI: 10.1088/0026-1394/52/2/392].

C. Elster, K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, G. Wübbeler, P. Harris, M. Cox, C. Matthews, I. Smith, L. Wright, A. Allard, N. Fischer, S. Cowen, S. Ellison, P. Wilson, F. Pennecchi, G. Kok, A. van der Veen, and L. Pendrill (2015). A Guide to Bayesian Inference for Regression Problems Deliverable of EMRP project NEW04 “Novel mathematical and statistical approaches to uncertainty evaluation”, [Initiates file downloaddownload (pdf)].

 

Software für Bayessche Normale lineare Regression

Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen führen Bayessche Ansätze für lineare Regressionsprobleme mit normalverteilten Messfehlern zu analytischen Lösungen. In Verbindung mit einem Tutorium stellt die PTB Arbeitsgruppe 8.42 Software bereit für die Berechnung der posterior-Verteilung aller Regressionsparameter, der Regressionskurve und Prognosen, sowie der Schätzwerte, der meisten Unsicherheiten und Überdeckungsintervalle. Die Software bietet auch graphische Darstellungsmöglichkeiten dieser Größen an.

MATLAB- sowie R-Quellcode hierfür können kostenlos heruntergeladen werden:

Zugehörige Publikationen

K. Klauenberg, G. Wübbeler, B. Mickan, P. M. Harris, and C. Elster. (2015). A Tutorial on Bayesian Normal Linear Regression. Metrologia, 52, 878–892. [DOI: 10.1088/0026-1394/52/6/878].

C. Elster, K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, G. Wübbeler, P. Harris, M. Cox, C. Matthews, I. Smith, L. Wright, A. Allard, N. Fischer, S. Cowen, S. Ellison, P. Wilson, F. Pennecchi, G. Kok, A. van der Veen, and L. Pendrill (2015). A Guide to Bayesian Inference for Regression Problems Deliverable of EMRP project NEW04 “Novel mathematical and statistical approaches to uncertainty evaluation”, [Initiates file downloaddownload (pdf)].

Ein einführendes Beispiel für Markov Chain Monte Carlo (MCMC)

Die Ausswertung von posterior-Verteilungen Bayesscher Analysen ist numerisch oft sehr aufwendig, aber notwendig (z.B. wenn der Guide to the Expression of Uncertainty in Measurement GUM nicht anwendbar ist). Markov Chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) Methoden sind eine flexible und vielseitige Möglichkeit, wie die beteiligten hoch-dimensionalen Integrale gelöst und damit posterior-Verteilungen approximiert werden können. Die PTB Arbeitsgruppe 8.42 hat eine knappe Einführung zu MCMC Methoden entwickelt, die anhand eines einfachen Beispiels aus der Metrologie und wenigen Zeilen Programmcode den Einstieg in dieses mächtige Instrument ermöglicht. MATLAB- sowie R-Quellcode stehen in Markov chain Monte Carlo methods. MATLAB- sowie R-Quellcode hierfür befinden sich in der zugehörigen Publikation.

Zugehörige Publikation

K. Klauenberg und C. Elster Markov chain Monte Carlo methods: an introductory example. Metrologia, 53(1), S32, 2016. [DOI: 10.1088/0026-1394/53/1/S32]

Nach oben

Publikationen

C. Elster and G. Wübbeler
Comput. Stat., 32(1),
51--69,
2017.
M. Dierl, T. Eckhard, B. Frei, M. Klammer, S. Eichstädt and C. Elster
Journal of the Optical Society of America A, 33(7),
1370--1376,
2016.
C. Elster and G. Wübbeler
Metrologia, 53(1),
S10,
2016.
K. Klauenberg and C. Elster
Metrologia, 53(1),
S32,
2016.
C. Elster, K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, P. M. Harris, M. G. Cox, C. Matthews, L. Wright, A. Allard, N. Fischer, S. Ellison, P. Wilson, F. Pennecchi, G. J. P. Kok, A. Van der Veen and L. Pendrill
EMRP NEW04,
, 2015
K. Klauenberg, M. Walzel, B. Ebert and C. Elster
Biostatistics, 16(3),
454--64,
2015.
G. J. P. Kok, A. M. H. van der Veen, P. M. Harris, I. M. Smith and C. Elster
Metrologia, 52(2),
392-399,
2015.
K. Klauenberg, G. Wübbeler, B. Mickan, P. Harris and C. Elster
Metrologia, 52(6),
878--892,
2015.
O. Bodnar and C. Elster
Metrologia, 51(5),
516--521,
2014.
S. Eichstädt and C. Elster
Journal of Physics: Conference Series, 490(1),
012230,
2014.
S. Heidenreich, H. Gross, M.-A. Henn, C. Elster and M. Bär
J. Phys. Conf. Ser., 490(1),
012007,
2014.
C. Matthews, F. Pennecchi, S. Eichstädt, A. Malengo, T. Esward, I. M. Smith, C. Elster, A. Knott, F. Arrhén and A. Lakka
Metrologia, 51(3),
326-338,
2014.
G. Wübbeler and C. Elster
Measurement Science and Technology, 24(11),
115004,
2013.
G. Wübbeler, F. Schmähling, J. Beyer, J. Engert and C. Elster
Measurement Science and Technology, 23(12),
125004,
2012.
C. Elster and B. Toman
Metrologia, 48(5),
233--240,
2011.
I. Lira, C. Elster and W. Wöger
Metrologia, 44(5),
379--384,
2007.
Export als:
BibTeX, XML
Nach oben