Logo PTB

Form measurement of curved optical surfaces

Working Group 8.42

Content

Sub-aperture interferometry

Modern optical systems consist of increasingly complex optical surfaces, as required, e.g., in lithography, for synchrotron optics or even consumer camera and cell phone camera objectives.

Aspheric synchrotron optic at BESSY ( Berliner Elektronenspeicherring-Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung m.b.H.).

Fig. 1: Aspherical synchrotron optics at BESSY ( Berliner Elektronenspeicherring-Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung m.b.H.).

 

Testing the form of a complex optical surface within the required high accuracy is challenging and the development of corresponding measurement principles is a task of ongoing research. For many applications profile measurements are sufficient. Due to their contactless nature, optical measurement techniques are the method of choice for optical surfaces. The highest accuracy can be reached with interferometric techniques. While full aperture interferometers can be successfully employed for the highly accurate testing of planes and spherical surfaces, they are no longer applicable for more complex surfaces. The reason is that interferometric techniques are limited by the maximum relative tilt between the interferometer reference surface and the corresponding (part of the) surface of the specimen. Therefore, interferometers with small apertures and higher resolutions are employed for complex surfaces. These small interferometers measure only a (possibly small) part of the surface of the test specimen. In order to reconstruct the whole surface, the small interferometer has to be moved over the specimen, thereby recording many sub-surfaces at different positions. These sub-surfaces are combined to reconstruct the whole surface by stitching techniques. The difficulty that arises with the application of these techniques is that even small (unavoidable) systematic errors of the small interferometer cumulate, and the resulting maximum reconstruction error can even be orders of magnitude larger than the systematic error of the small interferometer when the number of sub-surfaces is large.

To top

Math-based topography reconstruction

The cumulation of the systematic interferometer errors during stitching can be avoided when the tilt of the interferometer is measured in addition. The combination of the sub-surfaces, the influence of the individual scanning stage errors as well as the systematic interferometer errors can be described in terms of linear, discrete models. Assuming that the measurements of the sub-surfaces are carried out according to a suitable design of the experiment, a model-based analysis of the data then yields profiles of the whole surface (uniquely up to straight lines), while simultaneously scanning stage errors and systematic interferometer errors are taken into account.

Comparison of common stitching techniques and TMS for simulated data.

Fig. 2: Comparison of common stitching techniques and TMS for simulated data.

  

Since the interferometer no longer needs to be calibrated prior to the measurement, this measurement principle also allows the calibration of interferometers without using a (known) reference surface (Fig. 3). We call this measurement system Traceable Multi-Sensor system (TMS), since the topography measurement can be traced back to angle and length measurements.

Systematic sensor error of an interferometer determined by TMS from 20 measurements.
Fig. 3 : Systematic sensor error of an interferometer determined by TMS from 20 measurements (blue lines). The orange line shows the average of the 20 curves. The reproducibility is better than 0.5 nm.
To top

Virtual experiments: 3D simulation environment

The design and assessment of new optical surface measurement devices is significantly eased by using virtual experiments. In a virtual experiment, the measurement process is modeled mathematically and simulated on a computer, thereby allowing a quantitative sensitivity analysis of the possible error sources such as interferometer measurement errors, positioning errors of the scanning stage, assumptions of mathematical reconstruction procedures, etc. PTB Working Group 8.42 has developed a flexible 3D simulation environment which is used to test and assess different possible geometries and measurement principles. The simulation environment accounts in particular for the interaction of all axis movements and the different measurement devices.

Virtual 3D optical surface measurements.

Fig. 4: Virtual 3D optical surface measurements.

   

Virtual experiments are also helpful for the development and improvement of reconstruction algorithms since they allow reconstruction errors to be assessed realistically. Figure 5 shows in comparison resulting reconstruction errors for the TMS procedure and a recently improved variant which utilizes additional lateral positioning measurements.

Reconstruction error for TMS and for the improved TMS algorithm.

Fig. 5: Reconstruction error for TMS (left) and for the improved TMS algorithm (right). For the simulations a sinusoidal topography with a PV (peak to valley) of 200 nm and wavelength λ was used; "pos. unc." characterizes the accuracy of the scanning stage.
To top

Cooperation

The development of new methods for the form measurement of curved optical surfaces is undertaken jointly by Working Group 4.21 (Form and Wavefront Metrology) and Working Group 8.42.

To top

Publications

I. Fortmeier
Berichte aus dem Institut für Technische Optik
, 2016
I. Fortmeier, M. Stavridis, A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz, W. Osten and C. Elster
Opt. Express, 24(4),
3393--3404,
2016.
I. Fortmeier, M. Stavridis, A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz, W. Osten and C. Elster
Optics express, 22(18),
21313--25,
2014.
G. Ehret, M. Schulz, M. Baier and A. Fitzenreiter
Journal of Physics: Conference Series, 425(15),
152016,
2013.
A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz and C. Elster
tm - Technisches Messen, 78(4),
184--189,
2011.
A. Wiegmann, M. Stavridis, M. Walzel, F. Siewert, T. Zeschke, M. Schulz and C. Elster
Precision Engineering, 35(2),
183--190,
2011.
M. Schulz, G. Ehret, M. Stavridis and C. Elster
Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section A: Accelerators, Spectrometers, Detectors and Associated Equipment, 616(2-3),
134--139,
2010.
A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz and C. Elster
Optics express, 18(15),
15807--19,
2010.
A. Wiegmann
PhD Thesis
, 2009
A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz and C. Elster
Optics Express, 17(13),
11098,
2009.
M. Schulz, A. Marquez, A. Wiegmann and C. Elster
DGaO Proceedings
, 2008
A. Wiegmann, C. Elster, M. Schulz and M. Stavridis
DGaO Proceedings
, 2008
M. Schulz, A. Wiegmann, A. Marquez and C. Elster
Opt. Pura Apl, 41
325,
2008.
(Open Access)
A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz and C. Elster
Optics Express, 16(16),
11975,
2008.
M. Schulz, A. Wiegmann and C. Elster
DGaO Proceedings
, 2007
A. Wiegmann, C. Elster, R. D. Geckeler and M. Schulz
DGaO Proceedings
, 2007
C. Elster, I. Weingärtner and M. Schulz
Precision Engineering, 30(1),
32--38,
2006.
M. Schulz and C. Elster
Optical Engineering, 45(6),
2006.
I. Weingärtner and C. Elster
Precision Engineering, 28(2),
164 - 170,
2004.
C. Elster, J. Gerhardt, P. Thomsen-Schmidt, M. Schulz and I. Weingärtner
Optik - International Journal for Light and Electron Optics, 113(4),
154 - 158,
2002.
C. Elster
In P. Ciarlini, A.B. Forbes, F. Pavese, D. Richter, editor, Volume Advanced Mathematical & Computational Tools in Metrology and Testing IVof Series on Advances in Mathematics for Applied Sciences
Chapter 5, page 76-87
Publisher: World Scientific Singapore,
53 edition
, 2000
C. Elster
Appl. Opt., 39(29),
5353--5359,
2000.
C. Elster
Journal of Computational and Applied Mathematics, 110(1),
177--180,
1999.
C. Elster and I. Weingärtner
Applied Optics, 38(23),
5024,
1999.
C. Elster and I. Weingärtner
Journal of the Optical Society of America A, 16(9),
2281,
1999.
Export as:
BibTeX, XML
To top

Logo PTB

Formmessung gekrümmter optischer Oberflächen

Arbeitsgruppe 8.42

Inhalt

Subapertur-Interferometrie

Optische Systeme bestehen heutzutage oft aus zunehmend komplexen optischen Oberflächen, wie sie z.B. in der Lithographie, bei Synchrotron-Optiken, in Kameras oder Handys benötigt werden.

Asphärische Synchrotron-Optik bei BESSY (Berliner Elektronenspeicherring-Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung m.b.H.).

Abb. 1: Asphärische Synchrotron-Optik bei BESSY (Berliner Elektronenspeicherring-Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung m.b.H.).

 

Die Formmessung einer komplexen optischen Oberfläche mit der erforderlichen hohen Genauigkeit stellt eine Herausforderung dar und die Entwicklung entsprechender Messverfahren ist Gegenstand aktueller Forschung. In vielen Anwendungen reicht es, Profilschnitte der Oberflächen zu bestimmen. Da optische Messtechniken berührungsfrei arbeiten, sind sie die Methode der Wahl für die Formmessung optischer Oberflächen. Die größte Genauigkeit erreicht man mit interferometrischen Techniken. Vollapertur-Interferometer werden erfolgreich zur hochgenauen Messung von Flächen oder Sphären eingesetzt. Für komplexer geformte Oberflächen sind diese Messmethoden allerdings nicht geeignet, weil interferometrische Techniken durch die maximale Verkippung zwischen der Referenzfläche des Interferometers und der (Teil-)Fläche des Prüflings limitiert sind. Daher werden für stark gekrümmte Oberflächen Interferometer mit kleinen Aperturen und hoher Auflösung verwendet. Diese kleinen Interferometer messen nur einen (möglicherweise kleinen) Teil der Oberfläche des Prüflings. Um die ganze Oberfläche zu rekonstruieren, wird das kleine Interferometer über den Prüfling geführt und es werden dabei viele Teilflächen aufgenommen. Diese Teilflächen werden anschließend zu einer Rekonstruktion der gesamten Oberfläche kombiniert mittels sogenannter Stitchingverfahren. Die  Schwierigkeit dabei ist, dass auch kleine (unvermeidbare) systematische Abweichungen des Interferometers kumulieren und die resultierende gesamte Oberfläche große Abweichungen aufweisen kann; werden sehr viele Teilflächen kombiniert, können diese Abweichungen die der systematischen Interferometerabweichungen auch um Größenordnungen übersteigen.

Nach oben

Mathematik-gestützte Rekonstruktion optischer Oberflächen

Die Kumulation der systematischen Interferometerabweichungen bei der Kombination der Teilflächen kann vermieden werden, wenn zusätzlich die Verkippungen des Interferometers während der Messungen bestimmt werden. Die Kombination der Teilflächen, der Einfluss der einzelnen Führungsabweichungen sowie der systematischen Interferometerabweichungen können in Form diskreter, linearer Modelle beschrieben werden. Werden die einzelnen Interferometermessungen an dafür geeignet geplanten Stellen ausgeführt, lassen sich mittels einer modellgestützten Analyse der Messungen Profilschnitte der gesamten Oberfläche (eindeutig bis auf eine Gerade) bestimmen, wobei die Führungsabweichungen und die systematischen Interferometerabweichungen berücksichtigt werden.

Vergleich herkömmlicher Stitchingverfahren und TMS für simulierte Messdaten.

Abb. 2: Vergleich herkömmlicher Stitchingverfahren und TMS für simulierte Messdaten.

  

Das Interferometer muss vor einer solchen Messung nicht mehr kalibriert werden, daher kann eine solche Messung umgekehrt auch direkt für die Kalibrierung des Interferometers ohne Verwendung einer bekannten Referenzfläche genutzt werden (Abb.3). Da mit diesem Messprinzip die Formmessung einer Oberfläche auf Winkel- und Längenmessung zurückgeführt wird, wird das Verfahren Traceable Multi Sensor System (TMS) genannt.

Mittels TMS ermittelte systematische Interferometerabweichungen für 20 Messungen.
Abb. 3: Mittels TMS ermittelte systematische Interferometerabweichungen für 20 Messungen (blau). Die orange Kurve zeigt den Mittelwert der 20 Kurven. Die Reproduzierbarkeit ist kleiner 0.5 nm.
Nach oben

Virtuelle Experimente: 3D Simulationsumgebung

Für die Entwicklung und Bewertung neuer Messverfahren ist die Verwendung virtueller Experimente notwendig. In einem virtuellen Experiment wird der Messprozess mathematisch modelliert und auf dem Computer simuliert. Damit ist es möglich, Einflussfaktoren wie systematische Interferometerabweichungen, Abweichungen der Führung, Annahmen mathematischer Rekonstruktionsverfahren etc. quantitativ zu untersuchen. Wir haben eine flexible 3D-Simulationsumgebung entwickelt, die wir verwenden, um unterschiedliche Geometrien und Messprinzipien zu untersuchen. Die implementierte Simulationsumgebung berücksichtigt insbesondere das Zusammenspiel aller Achsenbewegungen und Messsensoren.

Virtuelle 3D-Messung einer optischen Oberfläche.

Abb. 4: Virtuelle 3D-Messung einer optischen Oberfläche.

  

Die virtuellen Experimente sind ebenso bei der Entwicklung und dem Testen von Auswerteverfahren hilfreich, da resultierende Rekonstruktionsabweichungen in realistischer Weise geschätzt werden können. Fig. 5 zeigt im Vergleich resultierende Rekonstruktionsabweichungen, wie man sie mit dem TMS Verfahren sowie einer jüngst entwickelten Verbesserung desselben, die zusätzliche laterale Positionsmessungen ausnutzt, erhält.

Rekonstruktionsabweichungen für TMS und für den verbesserten TMS Algorithmus.

Abb. 5: Rekonstruktionsabweichungen für TMS (links) und für den verbesserten TMS Algorithmus (rechts). Den virtuellen Messungen ist eine sinusförmige Topographie zugrunde gelegt mit einem PV (Peak to Valley) von 200 nm und einer Wellenlänge λ; die Genauigkeit der Führung wird durch den Wert "pos. unc." charakterisiert.
Nach oben

Kooperation

Die Entwicklung neuer Methoden zur Formmessung an gekrümmten optischen Oberflächen findet in Kooperation der Arbeitsgruppen 4.21 (Form- und Wellenfrontmetrologie) und 8.42 statt.

Nach oben

Publikationen

I. Fortmeier
Berichte aus dem Institut für Technische Optik
, 2016
I. Fortmeier, M. Stavridis, A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz, W. Osten and C. Elster
Opt. Express, 24(4),
3393--3404,
2016.
I. Fortmeier, M. Stavridis, A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz, W. Osten and C. Elster
Optics express, 22(18),
21313--25,
2014.
G. Ehret, M. Schulz, M. Baier and A. Fitzenreiter
Journal of Physics: Conference Series, 425(15),
152016,
2013.
A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz and C. Elster
tm - Technisches Messen, 78(4),
184--189,
2011.
A. Wiegmann, M. Stavridis, M. Walzel, F. Siewert, T. Zeschke, M. Schulz and C. Elster
Precision Engineering, 35(2),
183--190,
2011.
M. Schulz, G. Ehret, M. Stavridis and C. Elster
Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section A: Accelerators, Spectrometers, Detectors and Associated Equipment, 616(2-3),
134--139,
2010.
A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz and C. Elster
Optics express, 18(15),
15807--19,
2010.
A. Wiegmann
PhD Thesis
, 2009
A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz and C. Elster
Optics Express, 17(13),
11098,
2009.
M. Schulz, A. Marquez, A. Wiegmann and C. Elster
DGaO Proceedings
, 2008
A. Wiegmann, C. Elster, M. Schulz and M. Stavridis
DGaO Proceedings
, 2008
M. Schulz, A. Wiegmann, A. Marquez and C. Elster
Opt. Pura Apl, 41
325,
2008.
(Open Access)
A. Wiegmann, M. Schulz and C. Elster
Optics Express, 16(16),
11975,
2008.
M. Schulz, A. Wiegmann and C. Elster
DGaO Proceedings
, 2007
A. Wiegmann, C. Elster, R. D. Geckeler and M. Schulz
DGaO Proceedings
, 2007
C. Elster, I. Weingärtner and M. Schulz
Precision Engineering, 30(1),
32--38,
2006.
M. Schulz and C. Elster
Optical Engineering, 45(6),
2006.
I. Weingärtner and C. Elster
Precision Engineering, 28(2),
164 - 170,
2004.
C. Elster, J. Gerhardt, P. Thomsen-Schmidt, M. Schulz and I. Weingärtner
Optik - International Journal for Light and Electron Optics, 113(4),
154 - 158,
2002.
C. Elster
In P. Ciarlini, A.B. Forbes, F. Pavese, D. Richter, Editor, Band Advanced Mathematical & Computational Tools in Metrology and Testing IVaus Series on Advances in Mathematics for Applied Sciences
Kapitel 5, Seite 76-87
Herausgeber: World Scientific Singapore,
53 Edition
, 2000
C. Elster
Appl. Opt., 39(29),
5353--5359,
2000.
C. Elster
Journal of Computational and Applied Mathematics, 110(1),
177--180,
1999.
C. Elster and I. Weingärtner
Applied Optics, 38(23),
5024,
1999.
C. Elster and I. Weingärtner
Journal of the Optical Society of America A, 16(9),
2281,
1999.
Export als:
BibTeX, XML
Nach oben