Logo of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
symbolic picture: "magazines"


PTB-News 1.2019

Frank Härtig

Dr. Härtig, the head of Division 1 “Mechanics and Acoustics” has been appointed President Elect of IMEKO following a unanimous vote in his favor. In the coming three years, he will coordinate 24 technical committees. In 2021, he will then take over the presidency of IMEKO for three years.

Gisa Foyer , Holger Kahmann

Mr. Kahmann, who works in Department 1.2 “Solid Mechanics” and Dr. Foyer, who previously worked in the same department, have received the György Striker Junior Paper Award for best publication at the IMEKO XXII World Congress in Belfast. Their publication, titled “A finite element analysis of effects on force lever systems under nacelle test bench conditions”, was developed within the scope of an EMPIR project on the traceability of torque measurements in wind turbine testing facilities.

Davood Momeni Pakdehi

At Graphene Week 2018, a conference held by the European Graphene Flagship, Davood Momeni Pakdehi, a doctoral candidate in Department 2.5 “Semiconductor Physics and Magnetism” was awarded the best poster prize for his work titled “Stacking order induced sequential doping of epitaxial graphene on SiC” in the category of ”Synthesis and Growth”.

Elisa Pirovano

The member of Department 6.4 “Neutron Radiation” has obtained the doctoral award of the European Nuclear Education Network (ENEN) for her thesis titled “Neutron scattering cross section measurements with a new scintillator array”, which she wrote at the JRC in Geel.