Logo of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
symbolic picture: "magazines"


PTBnews 3.2022

Frank Härtig

Vizepräsident der PTB, Frank Härtig

The vice president of PTB has been a member of the advisory board of the Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle GmBH (DAkkS), to which representatives of the federal government and federal states belong, since 1 August 20

Richard Lange

Richard Lange, a scientist in Department 4.4 Time and Frequency, received the SAMOP dissertation prize of the German Physical Society (DPG) for his doctoral thesis entitled “High-precision frequency comparisons and searches for New Physics with Yb+ optical clocks”.

Jens Flügge

Jens Flügge, head of the Dimensional Nanometrology Department (5.2), received a bronze medal together with staff members of the Institut für Mikroelektronik- und Mechatronik-Systeme Ilmenau in a competition at the iENA trade fair. With this prize, PATON Patent Center Thuringia of the TU Ilmenau recognizes the joint development of a new method for more precise length measurement for high tech applications using the interferometric measurement of objects that are not suitable for measurements in vacuum (see the first technology offer [no. 420] on page 7 of this issue).

Rudolf Meeß

Rudolf Meeß, a scientist in Department 5.5 Scientific Instrumentation, received the “Outstanding Paper Award for 2021” of the journal Measurement Science and Technology for his publication entitled “Interferometric device for the in-process measurement of diameter variation in the manufacture of ultraprecise spheres” (see article on page 3).

Thomas Fedtke

Thomas Fedtke, a scientist in Department 1.6 Sound, was awarded the Rudolf-Martin-Ehrenurkunde of the DIN/VDI Standards Committee Acoustics, Noise Control and Vibration Engineering.

Andreas Steiger, Matthias Kehrt, Karsten Kuhlmann und Rolf Judascke

Staff members from Divisions 7 and 2 received the “Andy Chi Best Paper Award” for their publication about the results of their two-year collaboration on the topic of “Linking the power scales of free-space and waveguide-based electromagnetic waves” that was published last year in IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement.