Logo of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
symbolic picture: "magazines"


Steffen Buschschlüter

This member of staff from Department 1.6 “Sound” received an award for the best scientific brief lecture on cataract surgery. The prize was handed over to him on the occasion of the 26th International Congress of German Ophthalmic Surgeons which took place from 13 to 15 June in Nuremberg, Germany.

Ulrich von Pidoll

This staff member of Department 3.7 “Prevention of Ignition Sources” received the Helmut Krämer Award of the EFCE (European Federation of Chemical Engineering) which is given every fourth year and is deemed the highest international award in the field of electrostatics. The award ceremony took place on 18 April at the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in Budapest.

Fritz Riehle

The head of Division 4 “Optics” was designated a “Fellow of the American Physical Society” for his pioneering work in the fields of optical frequency standards, high-resolution spectroscopy, atomic interferometry, and ultra-cold atomic gases as well as for his leading role in international metrological research.