Logo of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
symbolic picture: "magazines"


Gesine Grosche

The member of Department 4.3 “Quantum Optics and Unit of Length” has been given the EFTF Young Scientist Award for her “prominent contributions to several fields of frequency metro-logy associated with the dissemination of optical frequencies over optical fibres”.

Nils Huntemann

Nils Huntemann The member of Department 4.4 “Time and Frequency” was presented with the “2012 IFCS Student Paper Award” by the IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control Society for his paper entitled “Optical clock based on the octupole transition in 171Yb+”.

Karsten Kossert

At the 18th ICRM Conference (International Conference on Radionuclide Metrology and its Applications) in Tsukuba, Japan, Karsten Kossert, Department 6.1 “Radioactivity”, was given the JARI Enterprise Award for his “outstanding work in the radiation sciences, the nature of the research being recognised as being of a leading and challenging nature”.

Tim Langer

The member of Department 3.5 “Flame Transmission Processes” was awarded the Adolf Martens Prize of BAM – Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung (BAM Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing) for his paper “Electrostatic ignition risks – an improved base for assessment”.

Klaus-Dieter Sommer

At this year’s Measurement Science Conference in Anaheim, California, the head of Division 3 “Chemical Physics and Explosion Protection” was presented with the Woodington Award for Professionalism in Metrology “in recognition of his outstanding contributions, commitment and leadership to measurement science”.


The “Kompetenzzentrum Ultrapräzise Oberflächenbearbeitung” (CCUPOB) was awarded a distinction by the Parliamentary State Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWi), Ernst Burgbacher, for sustainable network cooperation.