Logo of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
Symbolbild "News"

Prize for excellent measurements

Call for the Helmholtz Prize 2024 — prize will be awarded at the IMEKO World Congress


Anyone who has conducted precision measurements within the scope of a scientific project or assignment should pay close attention: You are eligible to apply for the Helmholtz Prize. It is Europe’s most prestigious award in metrology — the science of exact measurement — and will be awarded in two categories: “Precision Measurements in Fundamental Research” and “Precision Measurements in Applied Metrology”. Prize money of 20,000€ awaits the winner in each category. With this prize, which is awarded every two years, the Helmholtz-Fonds e.V. (Helmholtz Fund) and the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft (Donors’ Association for the Promotion of Science and Humanities in Germany) honor scientists for outstanding scientific and technological achievements in the field of precision measurement in physics, chemistry and medicine. The closing date for applications for the current call for proposals is 31 January 2024. Further information about the prize and the application procedure can be found on the website of the Helmholtz-Fonds (Helmholtz Fund).

“You can already see how prestigious the prize is just by glancing at the list of the previous prize winners and their scientific work," says Prof. Dr. Cornelia Denz, president of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) and chair of the Helmholtz-Fonds.

To apply for the prize, a paper may be submitted which should be written by the person submitting it and have been completed recently. Both published papers and papers which have not yet been published may be submitted. For the presentation and scope of the manuscripts, the same rules as for the composition of scientific articles apply. Manuscripts may be written in German or English.

The Helmholtz Prize will be awarded as a part of the XXIV IMEKO World Congress 2024 in Hamburg (26-29 August 2024) — and thus in an especially large setting. The World Congress of the International Measurement Confederation (IMEKO) will attract researchers and measurement technology users from around the world to Hamburg. It is a summit meeting for global metrology at which more than 700 leading international metrologists will report on current topics and innovation stemming from the expansive field of metrology. The winners of the Helmholtz Prize will present the scientific results of their excellent research at the event.

Helmholtz Fund

The Helmholtz Fund was founded as a registered association in Berlin in 1913 by the members of the “Kuratorium” (advisory board) of the then Physikalisch-Technische Reichsanstalt (PTR), including Albert Einstein, Carl von Linde, Walther Nernst, Max Planck, Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen and Wilhelm Wien. The Helmholtz Fund is a non-profit organization which is completely committed to metrology. It promotes communication between science and industry and regularly honors outstanding metrological achievements.

Contact Person

Prof. Dr. Andrey Surzhykov

Coordinator of the Helmholtz Prize

Tel.: +49 (0)531 592-8100

E-mail: andrey.surzhykov@ptb.de