Logo of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
Symbolbild "News"

Awarding of the Helmholtz Prize 2003

Prize for precision measurements in physics, chemistry and medicine.


[ptb] It weighs 15 000 euro, is 30 years of age and the most reputable German award in the world of metrology – the Helmholtz Prize.

The Helmholtz-Fonds (Helmholtz Foundation) and the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft (Donors' Association for the Promotion of Science and Humanities in Germany) now invite to apply for the Helmholtz Prize 2003 for precision measurements in physics, chemistry and medicine. For the first time, scientists from all over Europe are called to apply. The deadline is December 15, 2002.

With the Helmholtz Prize, outstanding scientific and technological research work in the field of metrology has been honored since 1973 within the scope of competitions. Last year's (2001) award winners were Dr Jochen Bonn and Dr Christian Weinheimer for their works on the determination of the neutrino mass, and Dr Stefan W. Hell and Dr Thomas A. Klar for their works on far field fluorescence microscopy.

The work, which has to be submitted until December 15, 2002, must be a recent achievement of a theoretical or experimental nature, either contributing to fundamentals or aiming at concrete applications. The work must have been developed in Europe or in cooperation with scientists working in Germany.

Applications can be submitted until December 15, 2002 to:

The Chairman of the Helmholtz-Fonds e.V.

Prof. Dr. Ernst O. Göbel
President of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
Bundesallee 100

D-38116 Braunschweig

Further information can be obtained from:

Helmholtz Prize 2003, Call for Applications (PDF-file)



Dr. Jürgen Helmcke, Fachbereich "Länge und Zeit"
Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB)
Tel.: (0531) 592-43 00, 
Fax: (0531) 592-43 05
e-mail: juergen.helmcke@ptb.de