Logo of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt
Gateway for politics

Appointments and Awards

PTB-News 1.2023

 Annette Röttger The physicist Annette Röttger has been a member of the Presidential Board of PTB since 1 October 2022. Previously, she had been the head of Division 6 Ionizing Radiation. Her priority areas for her new tasks on the Presidential Board lie in topics that will be important in the future: “security and resilience”, “climate change and the environment”, “medicine” and “energy”. In addition, Annette Röttger is committed to diversity and equal opportunities as well as being a change process expert. In her new role, she will be greatly involved in mentoring national and European research programs and actively participate in EURAMET e.V.

Tobias Schäffter The head of Division 8 Medical Physics and Metrological Information Technology, Tobias Schäffter, was elected as a member of the Deutsche Akademie für Technikwissenschaften (the National Academy of Science and Engineering – acatech) on 27 October 2022. The national academy, which is funded by the governments of the German federal states and by the German Federal Government, views itself as the voice of science and engineering in Germany and abroad. It advises policymakers and society on issues related to scientific and technological policy issues of tomorrow.

Thomas Fedtke Thomas Fedtke, a scientist in Department 1.6 Sound, has received the IEC 1906 Award. With this prize, the International Electrotechnical Commission is honoring his work in national and international standardization bodies.

Christoph S. Aigner Christoph S. Aigner, a scientist in Department 8.1 Biomedical Magnetic Resonance, was awarded the International Erwin L. Hahn Award in the category “Body” at the Erwin L. Hahn Workshop in Essen in October for his publication entitled “Calibration-free pTx of the human heart at 7 T via 3D universal pulses”. Before that, he had been named a “Junior Fellow” of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM) in May. He received an official certificate as being “a young researcher of outstanding quality and promise” from the president of the society at this year’s annual meeting in London.