Logo PTB

Biomedical Magnetic Resonance

Department 8.1

The Berlin Ultrahigh Field MR facility

The Berlin Ultrahigh Field Facility (BUFF) is a joint effort of Berlin based research institutions headed by the Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin (MDC) Berlin-Buch. BUFF is located on the MDC campus and it started with a 7-T whole-body MR scanner for clinical research and a 9.4-T small-animal scanner as its key components. PTB contributes its MR physical background to the facility ceremonially opened on January 20, 2009. It represents the first major building block of the Experimental and Clinical Research Center (ECRC), a joint project of MDC and Charité − Universitätsmedizin Berlin which is dedicated to translational research. Only a few weeks after its inauguration the funding for a substantial upgrade of the new facility could be secured: after the necessary extension of the building an additional 3-tesla whole body scanner was installed in December 2009.

Within the Berlin Ultrahigh Field Facility, which apart from MDC, PTB, and Charité is also supported by the Leibniz-Institut für Molekulare Pharmakologie (FMP), scientists from all partnering institutions will be jointly working in the fields of cardio-vascular, oncological, and neurological diseases.

In cooperation with its research partners as well as with scanner manufacturer Siemens, PTB's MRI group will predominantly be working in the areas of parallel transmission and coil development.

The laboratory building of the Berlin Ultrahigh Field Facility. The building planned by Berlin based architects Glass-Kramer-Löbbert, was housing the 7-T whole-body scanner as well as the 9.4-T small-animal system. Meanwhile it has been extended by an additional story to make for room another 3-tesla whole-body scanner.

Inauguration of the Berlin Ultrahigh Field Facility

On January 21, 2009, the new facility was officially handed over to its user community. Guest of honour Dr. Annette Schavan, Germany's Federal Minister of Education and Research, was not content by just cutting the inevitable blue ribbon, she performed the first measurement, too. Prof. Walter Rosenthal, MDC's Scientific Director, volunteered as the subject to be investigated.

http://www.mdc-berlin.de/de/news/..



 

Preparation of the measurement ...




 

... and thorough inspection of the results.

Logo PTB

Biomedizinische Magnetresonanz

Fachbereich 8.1

Berliner Ultrahochfeld-Facility

Opens external link in new windowDie Berliner Ultrahochfeld Facility (BUFF) wurde von einem Konsortium Berliner Forschungseinrichtungen unter Führung des Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin (MDC) Berlin-Buch auf dem MDC-Campus errichtet. Kernstücke der neuen Einrichtung waren zunächst ein 7-Tesla-Ganzkörper-MRT für die klinische Forschung und ein 9,4-Tesla-MRT für Untersuchungen an Kleintieren. Das Ultrahochfeldzentrum, das am 20.01.2009 an seine Nutzer übergeben wurde, und zu dem die PTB ihre MR-physikalische Erfahrung beiträgt, war der erste große Meilenstein beim Aufbau des Experimental and Clinical Research Centre (ECRC), einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt des MDC und der Charité − Universitätsmedizin Berlin, das der translationalen Forschung gewidmet ist. Später gelang es, Mittel für die Erweiterung der Einrichtung um einen 3-Tesla-MRT zu sichern. Nach der erforderlichen Erweiterung des Gebäudes wurde dieses zweite Human-MRT im Dezember 2009 installiert und in Betrieb genommen.

In der Berliner Ultrahochfeld-Facility, an der neben MDC, PTB und Charité auch das Leibniz-Institut für molekulare Pharmakologie (FMP) beteiligt ist, werden wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen aus den Bereichen kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen, Onkologie und Neurologie bearbeitet.

Zusammen mit Kooperationspartnern arbeitet die MR-Gruppe der PTB am 7-Tesla-MRT schwerpunktmäßig auf den Themenfeldern "Paralleles Senden" und "MR-Spektroskopie".

Der Laborbau der Berliner Ultrahochfeld-Facility auf dem MDC-Campus. Das vom Berliner Architektenbüros Glass-Kramer-Löbbert entworfene Gebäude mit einem 7-T-Humanscanner und einem 9,4-T-Tiersystem wurde Zwischenzeitlich um ein weiteres Stockwerk ergänzt, um zusätzlich ein 3-T-Humansystem aufzunehmen.

Einweihung der Berliner Ultrahochfeld-Facility

Die offizielle Übergabe der neuen Einrichtung an ihre Nutzer erfolgte am 21.01.2009. Ehrengast Dr. Annette Schavan, Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung, begnügte sich nicht damit, das sprichwörtliche blaue Band zu durchschneiden, sondern führte auch gleich die ersten Messungen selbst durch. Freiwilliges Opfer dieses Menschenversuchs war Prof. Walter Rosenthal, wissenschaftlicher Vorstand des MDC.

http://www.mdc-berlin.de/de/news/..



 

Vorbereitung der Messung ...




 

... und Begutachtung der Ergebnisse.