Logo PTB
Icon des Fachgebiets 5.10

Complex Measurement Data Analysis in Precision Engineering

Unit 5.10

Profile

This unit supports Division 5 in modeling and analyses of measurement data.

To top

Research/Development

Simulation of Electron Scattering Processes

Electron scatter processes in solids are currently simulated to describe signals of scanning electron microscopy. Synthetically generated electron microscopic images support the quantitative analyses and the estimation of uncertainties in nano particle size. The transmission of electrons through carbon has been simulated for the EMPIR project Black Carbon and for EMPIR project nPSize, the transmission of electrons through gold and titanium oxide has been determined. Titanium oxide does not belong to the materials with inelastic scatter cross sections being generally available. At PTB, an empiric approximation of the double differential cross sections has been carried out and soon a comparison with experimental data will follow.

Determination of Functional Features of Surfaces

Measurement methods and data processing procedures to determine surface features (shape, waviness, roughness) relevant for the function of machine parts are under development. A gearing roughness standard is also being developed within a cooperation between industry partners, a measurement instrument manufacturer and a manufacturer of gears, as well as departments 5.3 Coordinate Metrology, 5.5 Manufacturing Technology and 5.1 Surface metrology. This is a test artefact representing a gear with differently textured teeth, each tooth representing a roughness standard. Unit 5.10 supports this project by contributing evaluation methods for filtration and determination of roughness parameters.

To top

Services

Development and Implementation of Standardized Roughness Analysis Procedures

  • The implementation of the analysis methods of standards on filtration and on the determination of roughness parameters being developed in ISO/TC 213 continuously accompanies the standardization work. The roughness profile analysis software RPTB (https://www.ptb.de/rptb) used in PTB working group 5.15 for routine calibration services and also available online is maintained and continued. The new filtration methods and furthermore a new, unambiguous method to determine the parameters RSm and Rc will be updated accordingly.
  • To analyse areal topography data, in particular those of PTB working group 5.14, implementations of filtration algorithms as well as algorithms to determine parameters specified in ISO 25178-2 and to evaluate power spectral densities have been carried out. Further steps are necessary to improve documentation of the functions and facilitate the use of the routines for many users.

Lectures at TU Braunschweig

Dorothee Hüser and Gerd Ehret, Head of Working Group 4.22 Flatness Metrology, give lectures on Messdatenauswertung und Messunsicherheit (Data Analysis and Measurement Uncertainty) in German. This is within the scope of Metrologieinitiative Braunschweig at the Institut für Produktionsmesstechnik of the Technical University.

The lecture notes, set with LaTeX, are being developed continously and are available as open source project on the public repository github. This delivers an opportunity to the students and other interested readers to contribute to the manuscript, to improve its content, and to optimize the didactics of the presentation of the contents.

Also an excursion to PTB is offered guided by Rolf Kumme, Head of Department 1.2 Solid Mechanics. Wolfgang Schmid, Section 9.11 Industrial Metrology, is supporting the lectures by presenting some close to practical application examples and approaches.

To top

Logo PTB
Icon des Fachgebiets 5.10

Komplexe Messdatenanalyse in der Fertigungsmesstechnik

Fachgebiet 5.10

Profil

Dieses Fachgebiet unterstützt Abteilung 5 mit der Modellierung und Auswertung von Messdaten.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Simulation von Elektronenstreuprozessen

Derzeit werden Elektronenstreuprozesse in Festkörpern zur Beschreibung rasterelektronenmikroskopischer Signale simuliert. Die synthetisch erzeugten Elektronenmikroskopbilder unterstützen die quantitative Analyse und die Abschätzung von Unsicherheiten der Größe von Nanopartikeln. Die Transmission von Elektronen durch Kohlenstoffpartikel wird für das EMPIR-Projekt Black Carbon berechnet, und für das EMPIR-Projekt nPSize wird die Transmission von Elektronen durch Gold und Titanoxid bestimmt. Titanoxid gehört nicht zu den Materialien, zu denen inelastische Streuquerschnitte allegemein verfügbar sind. An der PTB wurden doppelt differenzielle Streuquerschnitte empirisch abgeschätzt und ein direkter Vergleich mit experimentellen Daten wird bald folgen.

Bestimmung funktionsrelevanter Eigenschaften von Oberflächen

Es werden Messmethoden und Auswerteverfahren zur Bestimmung funktionsrelevanter Eigenschaften von Oberflächen (Form, Welligkeit, Rauheit) entwickelt. Im Rahmen eines Kooperationsprojekts mit Industriepartnern, einem Messgerätehersteller und einem Hersteller von Verzahnungen erarbeiten die Fachbereiche 5.3 Koordinatenmesstechnik, 5.5 Wissenschaftlicher Gerätebau und 5.1 Oberflächenmesstechnik ein Verzahnungs-Raunormal. Dies ist ein Prüfkörper, der ein Zahnrad mit unterschiedlich texturierten einzelnen Zähnen darstellt, wobei die Zähne als Raunormale dienen. Fachgebiet 5.10 liefert dazu Unterstützung und Berechnungsmethoden zur Filterung und zur Ermittlung von Rauheitskenngrößen.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Entwicklung und Implementierung von genormten Rauheitsanalyseverfahren

  • Die Implementierung der Analysemethoden der im ISO/TC 213 entwickelten Normen zur Filterung und Bestimmung von Rauheitskenngrößen erfolgt normungsbegleitend. Für die Auswertung von Rauheitsprofilen für Kalibrierzwecke in AG 5.15 sowie als weltweiter online-Service wird die Software RPTB (https://www.ptb.de/rptb) gewartet und weiterentwickelt. Neue Filterverfahren sowie eine neue, eindeutige Methode zur Bestimmung der Kenngrößen RSm und Rc werden aktualisiert.
  • Für die Auswertung flächenhafter Topographiedaten, insbesondere aus der optischen Rauheitsmesstechnik der AG 5.14, sind sowohl Filteralgorithmen als auch Algorithmen zur Bestimmung von Kenngrößen gemäß ISO 25178-2 und von Leistungsdichtespektren implementiert worden. Es sind weitere Schritte notwendig, diese Funktionen besser zu dokumentieren und für viele Nutzer gut einsetzbar zu machen.

Lehre an der TU Braunschweig

Dorothee Hüser und Gerd Ehret, Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe 4.22 Ebenheitsmetrologie, halten im Rahmen der Metrologieinitiative Braunschweig am Institut für Produktionsmesstechnik der TU die Vorlesung Messdatenauswertung und Messunsicherheit.

Das in LaTeX gesetzte Vorlesungsskript wird fortlaufend weiter entwickelt und steht als Opensourceprojekt auf dem öffentlichen Repository github zur Verfügung. Dies bietet die Möglichkeit, dass Studierende und andere Interessierte sich an der Verbesserung des Skriptes beteiligen können, um Inhalte und die didaktische Aufbereitung der Inhalte zu optimieren.

Im Rahmen dieser Lehrveranstaltung wird eine Exkursion unter der Leitung von Rolf Kumme, Leiter der Fachbereichs 1.2 Festkörpermechanik, angeboten. Wolfgang Schmid, Referat 9.11 Industrielles Messwesen, unterstützt die Vorlesungsreihe durch einzelne Vorlesungen, in denen er praxisnahe Beispiele und Vorgehensweisen darlegt.

Nach oben