Logo PTB
Panoramic view of the clock hall at PTB with the four caesium clocks CS1, CS2, CSF1 and CSF2.

Is time information also available online?

For the synchronization of computer clocks via Internet PTB offers three time servers. These servers use the "network time protocol" (NTP) to disseminate the time information. This protocol was designed with the aim of synchronizing computers within local networks and in wide-area networks. The protocol is based on the IP protocol used in the Internet, is available for all relevant operating systems and has been pre-installed in most PCs and mobile devices.

 

The use of the time servers of PTB for the synchronization of a computer requires a program supporting this protocol. Such programs are available for the operating systems Windows, Linux, macOS, and others. A list of suitable programs can be found on the web pages of our US partner institute Opens external link in new windowNIST

After installation of such a program, the addresses of the NTP servers to be included in the synchronization must be added. The following addresses must be entered to use the time servers of PTB for synchronization:

ptbtime1.ptb.de

or

ptbtime2.ptb.de

or

ptbtime3.ptb.de

The operation and supervision of the time servers are in the responsibility of the PTB Section Q.42 IP-Based Dissemination of Time. It is intended to make at least one of the three time servers permanently available. PTB, however, has no influence on problems during transmission and time errors due to delays in the Internet.

Under the number +49 531 51 20 38 PTB offers time information via the public telephone network. Via telephone modems, computers and data acquisition systems have automatic access to exact time information.

Logo PTB
Panoramablick in die Uhrenhalle der PTB mit den vier Caesiumuhren CS1, CS2, CSF1 und CSF2.

Gibt es die Zeit auch online?

Zur Synchronisation von Rechneruhren über das Internet bietet die PTB drei Zeitserver an. Diese Server benutzen zur Weitergabe der Zeitinformation das "Network Time Protocol" (NTP). Dieses Protokoll wurde mit dem Ziel entworfen, Rechner innerhalb lokaler Netzwerke und in Weitverkehrsnetzwerken zeitlich synchronisieren zu können. Das Protokoll basiert auf dem im Internet benutzten IP-Protokoll und ist für alle relevanten Betriebssysteme verfügbar sowie auf vielen Computern und Mobilgeräten bereits vorinstalliert.

Um die Zeitserver der PTB zur Synchronisation eines Rechners nutzen zu können, wird ein Programm benötigt, das dieses Protokoll unterstützt. Für die Betriebssysteme Windows, Linux, macOS u. a. sind derartige Programme verfügbar. Eine Liste geeigneter Programme hat unser amerikanisches Partnerinstitut NIST Opens external link in new windowzur Verfügung gestellt

Nach der Installation eines solchen Programms müssen diesem die Adressen der NTP-Server hinzugefügt werden, die zur Synchronisation herangezogen werden sollen. Um die Zeitserver der PTB zur Synchronisation zu nutzen, müssen die folgenden Adressen eingegeben werden:

ptbtime1.ptb.de

oder

ptbtime2.ptb.de

oder

ptbtime3.ptb.de


Der Betrieb der Server liegt in der Verantwortung des Referats Q.42 Zeitverteilung mittels IP.

Es wird angestrebt, dass permanent mindestens einer der drei Zeitserver erreichbar ist. Auf Störungen, die auf den Übertragungswegen entstehen, und auf zeitliche Abweichungen infolge von Verzögerungen im Internet hat die PTB keinen Einfluss.

Unter der Nummer (05 31) 51 20 38 bietet die PTB zudem Zeitinformationen über das öffentliche Telefonnetz an. Unter Verwendung von Telefonmodems können Rechner und Datenerfassungsanlagen durch automatischen Zugriff die genaue Zeit abfragen.