Logo PTB

Asphere Metrology

Working Group 4.24

Profile

Aspherical optical elements (in short: aspheres), such as aspherical lenses, have surface forms that deviate from a spherical shape. This can reduce imaging errors and – at the same time – produce more compact optics. However, manufacturing these aspheres is complex, and currently, the achievable manufacturing accuracy is limited by the measurement accuracy of the surface form. There is therefore a great need for accurate measurement technology to determine the form of aspheres and to trace the measurements back to reference standards and reference devices.

The Asphere Metrology Working Group is developing a metrology system to measure the surface form of aspheres based on the optically operating tilted-wave interferometer. The aim is to implement a traceable measurement technique with a very low measurement uncertainty, so that current as well as future requirements can be met.

In addition, the Working Group is developing reference standards which can characterize and assess the performance of measuring systems.

Since the measuring principle of the tilted-wave interferometer also makes it possible to measure optical surfaces that no longer have rotational symmetry (so-called freeform surfaces), the Working Group is also active in this field.

To top

Research/Development

  • Development of a traceable metrology system for the form measurement of aspheres with very low measurement uncertainty based on the tilted-wave interferometer

  • Further development of the measuring system for the form measurement of freeform surfaces in cooperation with Working Groups 4.21 and 4.22

  • Development and testing of new numerical and statistical methods, such as the application and development of various machine learning methods, in cooperation with Working Group 8.42

  • Participation in and evaluation of measurement comparisons in the context of research projects and with the “Nanotechnologie Kompetenzzentrum Ultrapräzise Oberflächenbearbeitung” (CC UPOB e.V.)

  • Development of reference standards

  • Participation in the “Metrologie für virtuelle Messgeräte” (VirtMet) competence center

To top

Logo PTB

Asphärenmetrologie

Arbeitsgruppe 4.24

Profil

Asphärische optische Elemente (kurz: Asphären), wie z.B. asphärische Linsen, haben eine von der Kugelform abweichende Oberfläche. Damit können Abbildungsfehler reduziert und gleichzeitig kompaktere Optiken hergestellt werden. Allerdings ist die Fertigung dieser Asphären aufwendig, und die derzeit mögliche Fertigungsgenauigkeit wird von der Messgenauigkeit der Oberflächenform begrenzt. Daher gibt es einen großen Bedarf an einer genauen Messtechnik zur Bestimmung der Form von Asphären und an einer Rückführung der Messungen auf Referenznormale und Referenzgeräte.

Die Arbeitsgruppe Asphärenmetrologie entwickelt ein metrologisches System zur Formmessung von Asphären auf Basis des optisch arbeitenden Tilted-Wave Interferometers. Ziel ist die Realisierung einer rückgeführten Messtechnik mit möglichst kleiner Messunsicherheit, so dass die derzeitigen, aber auch zukünftigen Anforderungen erfüllt werden können.

Darüber hinaus entwickelt die Arbeitsgruppe Referenznormale, mit denen die Leistungsfähigkeit von Messsystemen charakterisiert und beurteilt werden kann.

Da das Messprinzip des Tilted-Wave Interferometers zudem die Möglichkeit bietet, optische Flächen zu messen, die keine Rotationssymmetrie mehr besitzen (sogenannte Freiformflächen), wird die Arbeitsgruppe auch in diesem Bereich tätig sein.

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

  • Entwicklung eines rückgeführten metrologischen Systems für die Formmessung von Asphären mit möglichst kleiner Messunsicherheit auf Basis des Tilted-Wave Interferometers

  • Weiterentwicklung des Messsystems für die Formmessung von Freiformflächen in Zusammenarbeit mit den Arbeitsgruppen 4.21 und 4.22

  • Entwicklung und Erprobung neuer numerischer und statistischer Verfahren, wie z.B. die Anwendung und Entwicklung verschiedener Methoden des maschinellen Lernens, in Zusammenarbeit mit der Arbeitsgruppe 8.42

  • Teilnahme an und Auswertung von Messvergleichen im Rahmen von Forschungsprojekten oder z.B. dem Nanotechnologie Kompetenzzentrum Ultrapräzise Oberflächenbearbeitung (CC UPOB e.V.)

  • Entwicklung von Referenznormalen

  • Mitwirkung im Kompetenzzentrum „Metrologie für virtuelle Messgeräte“ (VirtMet)

Nach oben