Logo PTB

Humidity and Thermal State Behaviour

Working Group 3.41

Validation and traceability of gas humidity measurements

The national humidity scale is realized by several national standards. The range to be realized – from extreme trace humidity (volume concentration of water smaller than 20 nl/l) up to high humidity (volume fraction of water vapor clearly larger than 60 %) – cannot be covered by means of a single humidity generator, and the humidity generators used for this purpose work according to different principles. Also, different principles are used depending on the scope of application of the generator (whether they are portable or stationary). In the following, the different humidity generators used at PTB to realize the national gas humidity scale will be briefly presented.

  • The national standard for trace humidity is a coulometric trace humidity generator. It is based on the following sub-processes:

    • Generating a reference gas flow using UHP nitrogen (residual humidity concentration: approx. 0.5 nl/l volume fraction of water vapor),
    • Generating a defined quantity of hydrogen and oxygen in a partial gas flow of the reference gas by means of water electrolysis according to Faraday's law,
    • Subsequent drying of the electrolysis partial gas flow (that now consists of nitrogen with trace contents of hydrogen and oxygen) and then re-combining the hydrogen and the oxygen to water by means of catalysis,
    • Subsequent drying of the electrolysis partial gas flow (that now consists of nitrogen with trace contents of hydrogen and oxygen) and then re-combining the hydrogen and the oxygen to water by means of catalysis.


    In this way, the water vapor content of the generator gas is determined fundamentally by the electrolysis flow and the nitrogen flow, thus making it traceable to the SI units kilogram, second, ampere and mole.

  • In the medium and high humidity range, a two-pressure humidity generator is used where the generated humidity depends on the equilibration on the basis of the vapor pressure equation of water. The basis used here is filtered compressed air that is free of grease and dust, in the pressure range up to 15 bar. This filtered air flows through a humidifier containing water at a defined temperature and is thus saturated according to the vapor pressure equation to reach a state close to saturation at the given temperature. After that, the air is fed into a saturator. This is a sophistically designed metallic block with a large surface inside. The metallic block is kept at an exactly defined temperature in a high-precision thermostat. This temperature is lower by several degrees than that of the humidifier. The air thus cools down to the temperature of the saturator at the large inner surface, so that excess water condensates. The air at the outlet of the saturator is thus fully saturated, related to the temperature of the saturator. From the vapor pressure equation according to Sonntag [2], the saturated vapor pressure is calculated in the pure phase. By multiplying by the enhancement factor according to Greenspan [3], one obtains the saturated vapor pressure of the humid air. At a valve, the air is now reduced down to ambient pressure. In doing this, the partial pressure decreases in accordance with the quotient from the ambient pressure and the saturator pressure. Provided the vapor pressure equation is valid, it is thus possible to trace the partial vapor pressure – and thus the absolute humidity – to the measurement of the saturator temperature and of the saturator and ambient pressure. By varying the parameters saturator temperature and saturator pressure, it is thus possible to set a wide range of gas humidity.

  • Another type of generator is the permeation tube. In this generator, permeation of water molecules through certain synthetic materials, which only depends on the temperature and on a material constant, is exploited to generate a defined water content in the gas flow.

  • In addition, there is another type of humidity generator: the so-called gas mixture generator. Here, a low-humidity gas is generated from a gas with known humidity by admixing of dry gas with a known volume rate (often over several steps).

 

PTB's national standards for gas humidity are compared at regular intervals with those of other national institutes by means of transfer standards – at the European level within the scope of EURAMET and at the international level within the scope of key comparisons organized by the CCT of the BIPM. This ensures mutual equivalence of the humidity scales within the limits of the assigned measurement uncertainty.

 

In the following, a selection of important key comparisons is listed in which PTB took part. You will find further information as well as final reports on the individual comparisons in the Opens external link in new windowKCDB of the BIPM:

  • EURAMET.T-K6 (EURAMET P621): Comparison of the realizations of local dew/frost-point temperature scales in the range -50 °C to +20 °C
  • EURAMET.T-K8 (EURAMET P717): Comparison in dew-point temperature (high range)
  • CCT-K8: Comparison of realizations of local scales of dew-point temperature of humid gas - Dew-point Temperature: 30 °C to 95 °C
  • EURAMET P1002: International comparability in measurements of trace water vapour
  • EURAMET P1061: Comparison of air temperature calibrations


The humid gas flow supplied by the standard generators is directly used for the traceability of instruments measuring absolute humidity (dew point hygrometers, spectrometers, etc.). Sensors providing relative values are kept at the required measuring temperature in a special temperature-controlled chamber through which the reference value of relative humidity – the saturation degree at exactly this temperature – is defined. An overview of the different types of hygrometers and their functional principle can be found here Opens internal link in new windowHygrometers and their functional principle.

[1] Mackrodt, P., Int. J. Thermophys. 2012, 33: 1520-1535. DOI 10.1007/s10765-012-1348-0

[2] Sonntag, D., Zeitschrift für Meteorologie. 1990, 40 (5) (1990), 340-344.

[3] Greenspan, L., J. Res. Natl. Bur. Stand., Sect. A. 1976, No. 1 (Jan-Feb), 41-44.

Logo PTB

Feuchte und Thermisches Zustandsverhalten

Arbeitsgruppe 3.41

Sicherung und Rückführung von Gasfeuchtemessungen

Die nationale Gasfeuchteskala wird durch mehrere nationale Normale dargestellt. Der abzubildende Bereich von der extremen Spurenfeuchte (Volumenkonzentration Wasser kleiner als 20 nl/l) bis zur hohen Feuchte (Volumenanteil Wasserdampf deutlich über 60 %) lässt sich nicht mit einem einzigen Feuchtegenerator abdecken. Die dafür eingesetzten Feuchtegeneratoren arbeiten nach unter-schiedlichen Prinzipien. Ebenso sind verschiedene Prinzipien je nach Einsatzzweck des Generators (transportabel oder stationär) gebräuchlich. Im Folgenden werden die an der PTB verwendeten Feuchtegeneratoren zur Darstellung der nationalen Gasfeuchteskala kurz vorgestellt.

  • Das Nationale Normal im Spurenfeuchte-Bereich ist ein coulometrisch arbeitender Spurenfeuchtegenerator [1]. Er basiert auf folgenden Teilprozessen:

    • Generierung eines Nullgas-Stromes von UHP-Stickstoff (Restfeuchtegehalt ca. 0,5 nl/l Volumenanteil Wasserdampf),
    • Generierung einer definierten Menge Wasserstoff und Sauerstoff in einem Teilgasstrom des Nullgases mittels Wasserelektrolyse gemäß FARADAYschem Gesetz,
    • Nachtrocknung des Elektrolyse-Teilgasstromes (nun bestehend aus Stickstoff mit Spurengehalten von Wasserstoff und Sauerstoff) und anschließende katalytische Rekombination des Wasserstoffs und Sauerstoffs zu Wasser,
    • Wiedervermischung des nun eine definierte Menge Wasserdampf enthaltenen Teilstromes mit dem Nullgas-Hauptstrom.

    Der Wasserdampfgehalt des Generatorgases ist damit fundamental bestimmt durch den Elektrolyse-Strom und den Stickstoff-Fluss und somit rückgeführt auf die SI-Einheiten Kilogramm, Sekunde, Ampere und Mol.

  • Im mittleren und hohen Feuchtebereich wird ein Zwei-Druck-Feuchtegenerator verwendet, bei dem die generierte Feuchte von der Gleichgewichtseinstellung auf der Basis der Dampfdruckgleichung des Wassers abhängt. Hier dient öl- und staubfrei gefilterte komprimierte Luft im Druckbereich bis 15 bar als Grundlage. Diese Luft strömt durch einen Befeuchter mit Wasser bei einer bestimmten Temperatur und wird somit entsprechend der Dampfdruckgleichung bis nahe dem Sättigungszustand bei der gegebenen Temperatur gesättigt. Anschließend wird diese Luft in einen so genannten Sättiger geleitet. Dies ist ein aufwändig konstruierter Metallblock mit einer großen Oberfläche im Innern, der in einem Präzisionsthermostat auf einer exakt definierten Temperatur gehalten wird, die um einige Grad unter der Temperatur des Befeuchters liegt. Durch Abkühlung der Luft auf die Temperatur des Sättigers an der großen inneren Oberfläche kondensiert überschüssiges Wasser aus. Am Ausgang des Sättigers liegt daher vollständig gesättigte Luft bezogen auf die Temperatur des Sättigers vor. Aus der Dampfdruckgleichung nach Sonntag [2] wird der Sättigungsdampfdruck in reiner Phase berechnet. Durch Multiplikation mit dem Enhancement-Faktor nach Greenspan [3] ergibt sich der Sättigungsdampfdruck der feuchten Luft. Diese Luft wird nun an einem Ventil bis auf Umgebungsdruck entspannt. Dabei reduziert sich der Partialdruck entsprechend dem Quotienten aus Umgebungsdruck und Sättigerdruck. Unter der Voraussetzung der Gültigkeit der Dampfdruckgleichung lässt sich somit der Partialdampfdruck und somit die absolute Feuchte auf die Messung der Sättigertemperatur sowie des Sättiger- und des Umgebungsdrucks zurückführen. Durch Variation der Parameter Sättigertemperatur und -druck lässt sich so ein weiter Bereich an Gasfeuchte einstellen.

  • Ein weiterer Generatortyp stellt der Permeations-Generator dar. Bei diesem wird die nur von der Temperatur und einer Materialkonstante abhängige Permeation von Wassermolekülen durch bestimmte Kunststoffmaterialien zur Erzeugung eines definierten Wassergehalts im Gasstrom ausgenutzt.

  • Darüber hinaus gibt es noch den sog. Gasmisch-Generator. Hier wird aus einem Gas von bekannter Feuchte durch Zumischen von trockenem Gas mit bekannten Volumenstrom oft auch über mehrere Stufen ein Gas mit niedriger Feuchte erzeugt.

 

Die nationalen Normale der Gasfeuchte der PTB werden in regelmäßigen Abständen mit denen von anderen Staatsinstituten auf europäischer Ebene im Rahmen von EURAMET und auf weltweiter Ebene im Rahmen von Key-Comparisons des CCT im BIPM mit Hilfe von Transferstandards verglichen. Auf diese Weise wird eine gegenseitige Äquivalenz der Feuchteskalen im Rahmen der jeweiligen Messunsicherheit sichergestellt.

 

Im Folgenden ist eine Auswahl wichtiger Key-Comparisons mit Teilnahme der PTB aufgeführt. Weitere Informationen sowie Abschlussberichte zu den einzelnen Vergleichen sind in der Opens external link in new windowKCDB des BIPM zu finden:

  • EURAMET.T-K6 (EURAMET P621): Comparison of the realizations of local dew/frost-point temperature scales in the range -50 °C to +20 °C
  • EURAMET.T-K8 (EURAMET P717): Comparison in dew-point temperature (high range)
  • CCT-K8: Comparison of realizations of local scales of dew-point temperature of humid gas - Dew-point Temperature: 30 °C to 95 °C
  • EURAMET P1002: International comparability in measurements of trace water vapour
  • EURAMET P1061: Comparison of air temperature calibrations


Der von den Normal-Generatoren gelieferte Feuchtgasstrom wird direkt zur Rückführung von Messgeräten der absoluten Feuchte (Taupunktspiegel- Hygrometer, Spektrometer etc.) verwendet. Relativ anzeigende Sensoren werden in einer speziellen Thermokammer auf der erforderlichen Messtemperatur gehalten, durch die der Bezugswert der relativen Feuchte, der Sättigungszustand bei dieser Temperatur, definiert ist. Ein Überblick zu den verschiedenen Hygrometern und deren Wirkungsprinzip ist unter folgendem Link zu finden Opens internal link in new windowHygrometer und deren Wirkungsprinzip.

[1] Mackrodt, P., Int. J. Thermophys. 2012, 33: 1520-1535. DOI 10.1007/s10765-012-1348-0

[2] Sonntag, D., Zeitschrift für Meteorologie. 1990, 40 (5) (1990), 340-344.

[3] Greenspan, L., J. Res. Natl. Bur. Stand., Sect. A. 1976, No. 1 (Jan-Feb), 41-44.