Logo PTB

HF characteristic impedance

(mechanical dimensions of coaxial impedance standards)

Profile

For the determination of the characteristic impedance of coaxial HF reference impedance standards ("air lines"), the diameter of both inner and outer conductor must be precisely known. Additionally, in case of air lines used as HF phase standards, their length must be precisely determined as well.

These diameters are determined by using a commercial diameter measuring setup ("air gauge") with analog voltage output and a commercial lasermicrometer system (for inner conductor diameter measurements). By relative measurement the diameter of the device under test is compared with the diameter of three diameter standards (precise cylindrical bolts or rings) which are traced back to PTB length standards. To increase the measurement resolution down to 0.1 µm, the measured voltages are A/D-converted with high resolution and acquired by a PC for data processing. Simultaneously, the position of the device under test is measured by a commercial length measuring system with digital output to the PC.

A commercial length measuring system with digital display used to determine the axial dimensions of the air lines. The length of both inner and outer conductor is compared with the length of gauge blocks which are traced back to PTB length standards.

With these measuring setups, coaxial HF impedance standards in the coaxial line systems 7 mm (connectors PC-7 and N), 3.5 mm (PC-3.5), 2.92 mm (PC-2.92), 2.4 mm (PC-2.4), 1.85 mm (PC-1.85) and 1.0 mm (PC-1.0) can be mechanically characterized.

Measurement Setup for the caracteristic impedance.
Length measurement, Lasermikrometer and Air-Gauge system (from left to right).

To top

Research/Development

The setups for calibration of coaxial impedance standards are continuously enhanced.

To top

Services

To top

Information

To top

Logo PTB

HF-Impedanz

(mechanische Charakterisierung koaxialer Impedanznormale)

Profil

Zur Bestimmung des Wellenwiderstands koaxialer Impedanznormale ("Luftleitungen") werden die Messwerte des Durchmessers des Innen- und Außenleiters benötigt. Zur Verwendung der Luftleitungen als Phasennormale muss weiterhin ihre Länge genau bestimmt werden.

Als präzise Messeinrichtung zur Bestimmung der Durchmesser dient ein kommerzielles "Air-Gauge"-Messgerät mit Analoganzeige sowie ein kommerzielles Lasermikrometermesssystem. Durch eine relative Messung wird der Durchmesser des Prüflings mit den Durchmessern von drei in der PTB auf das nationale Längennormal rückgeführten Durchmessernormalen verglichen. Bei dem "Air-Gauge"-Messgerät steht die Durchmesseranzeige gleichzeitig als Spannungswert zur Verfügung. An den Analog-Ausgang ist ein hochauflösender Analog-Digitalwandler angeschlossen und ein entsprechend programmierter PC zur Auswertung nachgeschaltet. Gleichzeitig wird die Position des Prüflings mit einem kommerziellen Längenmess-System mit Digitalanzeige bestimmt, die ebenfalls mit dem Rechner über eine Schnittstelle verbunden ist. Es ergibt sich eine Auflösung des Durchmessers von 0,1 µm.

Als präzise Messeinrichtung zur Bestimmung der Länge der Luftleitungen dient ein kommerzielles Längenmesssystem mit digitaler Anzeige. Hierbei wird die Länge der Luftleitungsinnenleiter oder -außenleiter mit rückgeführten Endmaßnormalen, die in der PTB auf das nationale Längennormal rückgeführt sind, verglichen.

Mit den beschriebenen Messeinrichtungen können Luftleitungen in den koaxialen Leitungssystemen 7 mm (Konnektor PC-7 und N), 3,5 mm (PC-3,5), 2,92 mm (PC-2,92), 2,4 mm (PC-2,4), 1,85 mm (PC-1,85) und 1,0 mm (PC-1,0) mechanisch charakterisiert werden.

Messplätze zur Bestimmung der Impedanz.
Längenbestimmung, Lasermikrometer und Air-Gauge (von links nach rechts).

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Die Kalibriermöglichkeiten für die Charakterisierung koaxialer Impedanznormale werden kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Nach oben

Informationen

Nach oben