Logo PTB

HF voltage

Working Group 2.22

Profile

HF voltage measurements are restricted to coaxial lines. An important issue with respect to reproducibility is a well-defined reference plane within smallest fractions of the wavelength. Therefore, the upper frequency limit is at a few GHz. As in case of HF power measurements, the PTB's standard measuring method is based on d.c. substitution. The HF voltage to be measured causes a temperature increase of an ohmic resistor, which is proportional to the dissipated power. The latter is replaced by a d.c. voltage causing the same power absorption, i.e. rms HF voltage is measured.

The HF voltage standard is a d.c.-coupled HF power sensor with frequency-dependent input conductance determined by calibration. Its frequency-dependent effective efficiency is measured in a microcalorimeter. The voltmeter to be calibrated is connected in parallel with this HF voltage standard using a T-junction. The reference plane for the voltage measurement is the connector front plane at the sensor input (reference plane for the admittance measurement). Special electrically short T-junctions have been developed for both different transmission line and connector systems. The distance between the plane at which the standard and device under test are connected and the symmetry plane of the junction (where the HF signal is coupled in) is very small compared with the wavelength. Thus, measurement uncertainties due to the voltage standing waves are eliminated up to the upper frequency limit of 2 GHz.


Calibration of a HF thermal converter (nominal voltage 1V), left-hand side, with integrated T-junction using the PTB HF voltage standard (right-hand side). The frequency response of the HF voltage is measured between 100 kHz and 1 GHz.

To top

Research/Development

The HF voltage measurement setups are continuously enhanced.

To top

Services

To top

Information

To top

Logo PTB

HF-Spannung

Arbeitsgruppe 2.22

Profil

Die Messung der HF-Spannung ist auf koaxiale Leitungen beschränkt, und sie ist nur dann reproduzierbar zu messen, wenn die Referenzebene der Spannungsmessung auf kleinste Bruchteile einer Wellenlänge eingehalten wird. Die Frequenzobergrenze liegt deshalb bei einigen GHz. Das Normalmessverfahren der PTB basiert wie bei der HF-Leistungsmessung auf einem DC-Substitutionsverfahren. Die unbekannte HF-Spannung, die an einem ohmschen Widerstand eine ihrer Wirkleistung proportionale Erwärmung erzeugt, wird durch eine Gleichspannung gleicher Wirkleistung substituiert, so dass der Effektivwert der HF-Spannung gemessen wird.

Das HF-Spannungsnormal ist ein gleichstromgekoppelter HF-Leistungsmesskopf mit frequenzabhängigem, durch Kalibrierung bestimmten Eingangswirkleitwert und mit frequenzabhängigem, im Mikrokalorimeter gemessenem effektiven Wirkungsgrad, dem das zu kalibrierende Spannungsmessgerät mit einer T-Leitungsverzweigung parallelgeschaltet ist. Die Referenzebene der Spannungsmessung ist die Referenzebene des Konnektors am Eingang des Messkopfes (Referenzebene der Admittanzmessung). Für alle verwendeten Leitungs- und Konnektorsysteme wurden spezielle T-Leitungsverzweigungen mit kurzen Leitungen entwickelt. Die Abstände der Anschlussebenen für Normal und Prüfling von der Symmetrieebene der Verzweigung (wo die Einkopplung des HF-Signals stattfindet) sind dabei sehr klein im Vergleich zur Wellenlänge. Messunsicherheiten aufgrund der Spannungswelligkeit auf der Leitung werden dadurch bis zur höchsten Messfrequenz von 2 GHz weitestgehend eliminiert.


Kalibrierung eines HF-Spannung-Thermokonverters (Messbereich 1 V nominal, links, mit integrierter T-Verzweigung) mit dem HF-Spannungsnormal der PTB (rechts). Gemessen wird der Frequenzgang der HF-Spannung zwischen 100 kHz und 1 GHz

Nach oben

Forschung/Entwicklung

Die Kalibriermöglichkeiten für die HF-Spannungsmessung werden kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt.

Nach oben

Dienstleistungen

Nach oben

Informationen

Nach oben