zum Seiteninhalt

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt

Thematic toursFundamental constants > Fundamental Constants
Fundamental Constants

    Fundamental constants are the quantitative links in the network of physical theories.

    An example: The theory of cavity radiation is linked with the quantum theory via Planck's constant h, with electrodynamics via the velocity of light in vacuum, and with static mechanics via the Boltzmann constant k.

    The constants are not fixed by the respective theories. They must rather be determined by experiment – and that as exactly as at all possible, as the accuracy of the quantitative statements achievable in theory cannot be greater than the accuracy with which the constants are known. As exact a knowledge of the fundamental constants as possible requires as exact an experimental realization as possible of the physical units defined in the Système International d'Unités (SI) The determination of the values of the fundamental constants is thus closely connected with metrology, the science of accurate measurements, whose most important and noble task is the best possible experimental realization of the defined units.


    At the same time, the fundamental constants are of special interest for metrology, as they themselves serve as ideal units or may form the ideal basis for units. Today they are already made use of for the realization of the SI units. Experiments aimed at the determination of a fundamental constant are often directly carried out at metrology institutes such as the PTB, or at least in close cooperation with such institutes.

    By 1998, the Task Group of Fundamental Constants of the "Committee on Data for Science and Technology" (CODATA) of the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU)had every 13 years established a new set of fundamental constants, whose values are the result of multivariant adjustment calculus, and recommended it for uniform use in science and technology. Then - due to the fast scientific progress in this field and the quick opportunity of publication via the Internet - it decided to, in future, present new values at least every four years.

    The current set "The 2006 CODATA Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants", was published for the first time on March 07, 2007 on the Internet page http://physics.nist.gov/constants

    Further information:

    A selection of the most important fundamental constants can be found in a table.

    More information about fundamental constants and the SI can be found in our Thematic tour "Guardian of the units".

     


    © Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, last update: 2014-10-15, Volker Großmann Seite drucken PrintviewPDF-Export PDF

zum Seiteninhalt

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt

ThemenrundgängeNaturkonstanten > Naturkonstanten - kleine Einleitung
Naturkonstanten - kleine Einleitung

Naturkonstanten treten im Netz der physikalischen Theorien als quantitative Verknüpfungspunkte dieser Theorien auf. So ist beispielsweise die Theorie der Hohlraumstrahlung über die Planck-Konstante h mit der Quantentheorie sowie über die Vakuum-Lichtgeschwindigkeit mit der Elektrodynamik und über die Boltzmann-Konstante k mit der Statistischen Mechanik verknüpft.

Die Konstanten werden durch die Theorien nicht festgelegt. Sie müssen vielmehr experimentell so genau wie möglich ermittelt werden. Denn die quantitativen Aussagen der Theorien können nur so genau sein, wie die Konstanten bekannt sind. Die möglichst genaue Kenntnis der Naturkonstanten setzt aber eine möglichst genaue experimentelle Darstellung der im Internationales Einheitensystem (SI) definierten physikalischen Einheiten voraus. Dieser Sachverhalt bindet die Ermittlung der Werte der Naturkonstanten eng an die Metrologie, die Wissenschaft vom genauen Messen, deren vornehmste und wichtigste Aufgabe die bestmögliche experimentelle Realisierung der definierten Einheiten ist.

Umgekehrt aber sind die Naturkonstanten deshalb von besonderem Interesse für die Metrologie, weil sie selbst als ideale Einheiten dienen oder die ideale Basis für Einheiten bilden können. Schon heute werden sie zur Darstellung der SI-Einheiten herangezogen. Experimente zur Bestimmung einer Naturkonstanten werden häufig direkt an metrologischen Instituten wie der PTB oder zumindest in enger Zusammenarbeit mit solchen Instituten ausgeführt.

Bis zum Jahr 1998 hatte die Task Group on Fundamental Constants des "Committee on Data for Science and Technology" (CODATA)  des International Council of Scientific Unions ICSU  alle 13 Jahre einen neuen Satz von Naturkonstanten, dessen Werte das Ergebnis von multivariaten Ausgleichsrechnung sind, erstellt und ihn zur einheitlichen Verwendung in Wissenschaft und Technik empfohlen. Dann beschloss es, wegen der schnellen wissenschaftlichen Fortschritte auf diesem Gebiet und wegen der schnellen Veröffentlichungsmöglichkeit über das Internet, künftig mindestens alle vier Jahre neue Werte vorzulegen.

Die aktuellen Werte der Naturkonstanten werden auf physics.nist.gov/constants veröffentlicht

Weitere Informationen

Mehr zum SI und seinen sieben Basiseinheiten finden Sie im Themen-Rundgang


© Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, letzte Änderung: 2014-10-15, Volker Großmann Seite drucken DruckansichtPDF-Export PDF